• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore jails 3 for kangaroo T-shirts in court

postnew

SINGAPORE, Nov 27 (Reuters) - Three Singaporeans were jailed
on Thursday after being charged with contempt of court for
showing up at Singapore''s Supreme Court wearing T-shirts
depicting kangaroos in judges robes.
Isrizal Bin Mohamed Isa andMuhammad Shafi''ie Syahmi Bin
Sariman were sentenced to seven days'' jail, while Tan Liang Joo
John received 15 days imprisonment. They were each ordered to pay
S$5,000 ($3,305) in costs.
Tan is the Assistant Secretary-General of the opposition Singapore Democratic Party, led by Chee Soon Juan.
The three had worn the T-shirts at a court hearing in May to
determine the damages that Chee Soon Juan and his sister Chee
Siok Chin were to pay after being found guilty of defaming
SingaporePrime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and former leader Lee
Kuan Yew.
Singapore''s attorney-general said in bringing the case to
court the trio had "scandalised the Singapore judiciary".
Singapore bans gatherings and protests in all public areas without a permit except Speakers'' Corner, the country''s
equivalent of the historic free-speech haven in London''s Hyde
Park.

postnew

when will these clowns stop wasting our time ?
they are not clowns.:biggrin:
three-stooges-and-the-law.jpg

theblackhole

u also want to taste the free lunch yah?

don't believe, wear the kangaroo shirt and attend high court...see whether you given free lunch or not...it's nothing to do with politics or persons,you insult and mock the high office,you'll be charged accordingly...worse still, if you call our top judges prostitutes, lagi kena jail and fine....if still continue, you can have free lunch,free dinner and free lodging forever....

pls distinguish between opposition to actual contempt of court....clowns ,stooges and morons and bodohs deserved to be fined and jailed.

ahbengsong

[unquote]

so read this... you pap attorney general...

The International Bar Association's (IBA) Human Rights Institute (IBAHRI) on 08 July 2008 released a study assailing the Singaporean government on its human rights standards and records, and underscoring the city-state's severe "limitations on the freedoms of expression, assembly, and the press, and of the independence of the judiciary".

(full article in link below)

http://www.seapabkk.org/newdesign/newsdetail.php?No=899

...it's nothing to do with politics or persons,you insult and mock the high office,you'll be charged accordingly.

If that is the case, than why nothing happened to Arse Loong when he called Dhanablan a name, and than slapped him. Dhanabalan was a cabinet Minister at that time. That is a very high office.He was mocked, insulted and physically attcaked. How do you explain this? Cannot right? U are full of shit.

one2unite

If that is the case, than why nothing happened to Arse Loong when he called Dhanablan a name, and than slapped him. Dhanabalan was a cabinet Minister at that time. That is a very high office.He was mocked, insulted and physically attcaked. How do you explain this? Cannot right? U are full of shit.

If it's nothing to do with politics, why was CASE, a PAP-sponsored organization allowed to hold protest and rally at Parliament House? Why must only Tak Boleh Tahan protest become a crime?

postnew

10581422.jpg
10412739.jpg
http___imagenl_asia1_com_sg_image_photographics_ST_2008_10_8908452_jpg.jpg

Activist Isrizal Mohamed Isa said in court that the image on the T-shirt was not of a kangaroo but wallaby.. maybe he was trying to said ' Wah nabei'..::biggrin:
Anyway he is going in to relax one cornor.
wallabyyelfoot.jpg

Photo of Wallaby

SINGAPORE, Nov 27 (Reuters) - Three Singaporeans were jailed
on Thursday after being charged with contempt of court for
showing up at Singapore''s Supreme Court wearing T-shirts
depicting kangaroos in judges robes.
Isrizal Bin Mohamed Isa andMuhammad Shafi''ie Syahmi Bin
Sariman were sentenced to seven days'' jail, while Tan Liang Joo
John received 15 days imprisonment. They were each ordered to pay
S$5,000 ($3,305) in costs.
Tan is the Assistant Secretary-General of the opposition Singapore Democratic Party, led by Chee Soon Juan.
The three had worn the T-shirts at a court hearing in May to
determine the damages that Chee Soon Juan and his sister Chee
Siok Chin were to pay after being found guilty of defaming
SingaporePrime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and former leader Lee
Kuan Yew.
Singapore bans gatherings and protests in all public areas without a permit except Speakers'' Corner, the country''s
equivalent of the historic free-speech haven in London''s Hyde
Park.
These 3 are real idiots. At least pick an issue or a cause to fight for. Really simple minded - wear t-shirt in court. Might as well pee in front the Police Station as this is in many ways a Police State.

Old Man will be laughing when you get dissenters with simple minds like that. Must be a world's first.

Frankly how can PHD candidate think like that? There are so many issues that you can screw the PAP for and Singaporeans will immediately relate to that. . Just take the CPF for instance. How come the returns for so long has been so low. Why it can't it fund our retirement.

Put CPF in big letters on the T-shirt with a question mark and ask where is the money. Sure get 100% support. It will land you in jail but it hits the mark.

postnew

The famous three
04bb1e0795e9778d222b480c5a45fd02.jpg

John Tan Liang Joo and NS man, Muhammad Shaf
10412740.jpg

Muhammad Shafi
http___imagenl_asia1_com_sg_image_photographics_ST_2008_11_10581421_jpg.jpg

Do he know what he's doing:confused:
Is he trying to 'keng' NS so after the jail term to be discharge from NS.

it's funny u put up the original 3 stooges. what does a stooge best at?

answer: to be exploited by little idiot. it's the rule of the game - BIG STOOGE PLAYED ABOUT BY LITTLE IDIOT.:p

These 3 are real idiots. At least pick an issue or a cause to fight for. Really simple minded - wear t-shirt in court. Might as well pee in front the Police Station as this is in many ways a Police State.

Old Man will be laughing when you get dissenters with simple minds like that. Must be a world's first.

Frankly how can PHD candidate think like that? There are so many issues that you can screw the PAP for and Singaporeans will immediately relate to that. . Just take the CPF for instance. How come the returns for so long has been so low. Why it can't it fund our retirement.

Put CPF in big letters on the T-shirt with a question mark and ask where is the money. Sure get 100% support. It will land you in jail but it hits the mark.

actually if one of them were to dress up in a full KANGAROO costume and distribute little boomerangs as souvenirs to passerbys, maybe the whole thing would look really comical and appeared more harmless on the surface but deadlier beneath.:p