• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB chief: dun complain your pigeonholes are small, just have fewer babies lor!

Use space well and small flats can be comfy too

20111111.090011_hdb.jpg

By Sarah Chang
my paper
Friday, Nov 11, 2011

The construction of smaller flats does not necessarily compromise the quality of living, Housing Board (HDB) chief executive Cheong Koon Hean said yesterday.

Through the clever use of interior space, HDB flat dwellers can create a comfortable living environment, she said in response to media queries on feedback that the size of newer flats has affected their quality of life.

"(In) most of the global cities in the world...people do pay attention to how they do up the inside of the flat," she said.

"Optimise the use of furniture and storage, and it can be a very comfortable living environment."

Dr Cheong was speaking on the sidelines of the HDB Professional Forum, where experts discussed quality and design in construction.

The event was held at the HDB Hub in Toa Payoh. Winners of the HDB Awards 2011 - given out last week - shared their strategies for public housing projects with about 200 industry practitioners, including construction firms and contractors.

Dr Cheong told reporters that even though flats have become smaller, the amount of floor area per person has increased over the years.

"Our families are (becoming) smaller. In the old days, we had very large families living in flats. Today, the family (size) is two, three or four," she said. "If people take a bit of effort to do up the interior, it can be an excellent flat."

Dr Cheong added that Singaporeans can look forward to more sustainable living spaces not only in new towns like Punggol, but also in older estates. This can be achieved through the use of solar panels and tapping on renewable energy such as wind power, for example.

Dr Cheong announced yesterday a new business portal to be launched next month.

It will provide HDB's construction and design partners with access to technical specifications, conditions of contracts and schedules of rates online.

For more my paper stories click here.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Or remain childless... that's the hint if you want to have a even higher increase in floor area, nevermind the flat is getting smaller.

aangsc

all the crap explanation, please ask them to walk the talk and stay in one during their career in HDB.
Talk is cheap.

lianbeng

lianbeng replies rogue trader, "pigeonholes are meant for pigeons so u can have smaller pig-eons if u like.":biggrin:

this is damned ridiculous.smaller flats but higher prices.nanbeh encourage people to have more children and now ask people to have less people staying in a smaller flat and say more space per head! what the shitbrain thinking is this! twist and turn!!!

LeMans2011

Blady lame explanation... this has to come from a scholar... the issue is not the size but the exorbitant price for a down-sized flat

People like Dr Cheong should be taken aside and just shot. Holds a doctorate and comes out with logic that defies gravity - "floor area per person has been increased"

leetahbah

This is ridiculous while the elite live in big houses, the peasants all live in small holes.

It is just like KMT China, one day the peasants will send the elites packing to Pulau Tekong just like KMT packing to Taiwan.

[video=youtube;HExkxds0Vco]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HExkxds0Vco[/video]
HExkxds0Vco