• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

It's official: This is no longer our country.

The Philistine

Over 5,000 Filipinos + 150 sinkies pack Jalan Besar to cheer on Singapore 2-0 win
New heroes of the Philippines
Over 5,000 Filipinos pack Jalan Besar to cheer on football team

It may have been an 'away'friendly for the Philippines, but their fans turned out in force (above) to give the match a home feel for the visiting side. The small contingent of Singapore fans had to sing extra loud to make their voices heard. -- ST PHOTOS: DESMOND WEE

By Lee Min Kok
ONE would hardly have known that the Lions were the home team last night, given the overwhelming support that their opponents received from the Jalan Besar stands.

Singapore's international friendly against the Philippines - the Lions' final tune-up before facing Jordan in a 2014 World Cup qualifier next Tuesday - was watched by a near-6,000 horde of Filipino fans.

Save for a loyal band of around 150 Singaporean supporters, a blue tide engulfed the stadium as the Filipinos displayed unrivalled passion in cheering on their countrymen despite the 0-2 defeat.

BACKGROUND STORY

'A lot of women are watching football now, just to ogle at the pretty faces on display.'

Rosie Villaflor, an IT manager from the Philippines, on why her country's football team are currently the rage back home

Even the drizzle throughout the game failed to dampen the spirits of the crowd, who came armed with umbrellas and more importantly, their cameras.

The Azkals - as the Philippine national team are popularly called - have benefited from an influx of players holding dual citizenship, such as half-English brothers Phil and James Younghusband, Neil Etheridge and Dutchman Jason de Jong.

And there was no mistaking who was the ladies' undisputed darling, as high-pitched screams of 'Neil, Neil, Neil' greeted the reserve goalkeeper for English Premier League football club Fulham as he stepped on to the pitch for his pre-match warm-up.

'He's so handsome!' gushed Mia Fe Carig, 24. The nurse was at Jalan Besar with 15 other female friends, all straining to catch a glimpse of the 21-year-old.

IT manager Rosie Villaflor, 30, admitted as much: 'A lot of women are watching football now, just to ogle at the pretty faces on display.'

Etheridge is said to have attained near-superstar status in his adopted country, with his face - and chiselled body - gracing everything from underwear ads to billboards promoting painkillers.

Indeed, swooning female fans made up a large portion of the Filipino crowd, but there was a healthy pinch of guy power as well.

Sales manager Jaron Genota flew in from Manila together with 20 fellow supporters yesterday, spending about 15,000 pesos (S$443) on the trip.

Said the 28-year-old: 'Football in our country is enjoying a real buzz at the moment. It's not in the same league as basketball yet, but we're slowly getting there.'

Interest in the sport, according to Genota, had picked up significantly after the Azkals created history by reaching the semi-finals of last December's AFF Suzuki Cup - which is the equivalent of the South-east Asian championship - in Vietnam.

Filipino television networks, most of whom had largely ignored football, suddenly began to telecast live games from the German Bundesliga, English Premier League and Spanish Primera Liga this year, he said.

And the fledgling United Football League - the country's professional competition - recently signed a historic TV deal with local agency AKTV Network, which will air the league's third season later this year.

Midfielder James Younghusband paid tribute to the partisan support after the match, saying: 'It definitely felt like a home game for us. The fans here were fantastic.'

myo539

Ask yourself - why can't you be like the Pinoys and cheer for your own country? If you can't even be proud of the country of your birth, and always try to put down the country - or blame this and that, don't expect people to respect you in turn.

It's like you don't respect yourself and your family, why should people respect your family or you? Don't blame the Pinoys for not respecting you hor!

Leepotism

Sinkies have lost faith in a govt. that only takes care of foreigners and their own pockets. Thus only 150 turned up to support their national team.

neddy

Ask yourself - why can't you be like the Pinoys and cheer for your own country? If you can't even be proud of the country of your birth, and always try to put down the country - or blame this and that, don't expect people to respect you in turn.

It's like you don't respect yourself and your family, why should people respect your family or you? Don't blame the Pinoys for not respecting you hor!

Can't blame the Singaporeans. In school, we are taught to respect the $$$ money more than anything.

So many maids to clean up the stadium after the match
Based on the loyality shown, they will do a better job cleaning the stadium then the Singapore homes who employ them.

Cruxx

Lim S.S is my favourite PAPpie dog! :biggrin:

[video=youtube;SDGsuKvgB5c]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDGsuKvgB5c[/video]

Wah Lau eh!, this kind of engrish, nowadays the taxi drivers speak better than him; I forgot the 'old leaf' wants the current generation to learn American English!!. But he forgot his own backyard thespian acting the comic parts. wow! expensive, 1,000,000 a year!:p

borom

I used to turn up for all matches played by the National Team-until the FT policy alienates locals and makes them second class.

I'm sure out of the 150 "Singaporeans" who turned up-many are families/friends of the players or officials -quite a few of whom are foreigners also.

I am even more sure that many of the Pinoys who cheered for the Philippines are Singapore PR's and citizens who robbed locals of their jobs with fake papers

So roughly around 100 locals turned up to cheer their national team in the most popular sport-what does that tell you about the pappy's "success" in nationbuilding.

When the crunch comes,how many of these new citizens/PR's from Pinoyland,PRC,India and Burma will be around to defend the little dot.
How many of the locals will be there to defend the foreign "talents" who have stolen their jobs,places in schools and housing?

why must support when half the team were born overseas?

chinese nationals pay to don spore colours dont make them singaporean. Qiu Li's wife use his salary to invest in china, with the hope of returning to china. KNN, support for fark!!!

Pioneer

Re: It's official: This is no longer our country.

Over 5,000 Filipinos + 150 sinkies pack Jalan Besar to cheer on Singapore 2-0 win
New heroes of the Philippines

The reason why Pinoys turned out in full force is they lack the entertainment, family and other distractions. Maybe homesick too. Sinkies would have done the same thing in a foreign country.

Sinkies on the other hand has plenty of entertainment at home, family gatherings, playing xbox games, mahjong, play golf at country club, makan at restaurants or simply cheonging in Geylang etc. They have no time to go to Jalan Besar.

melzp

the attendance breakdown is very clear for all to see and analyse.

I'd like MG Chan to tackle this SOCIAL CLIMATE.

Come to LOS. :smile: Am a Chonburi FC supporter. Currently 3rd place in the Thai Leagues, behind Mueang Thong and Buriram PEA. Most clubs in Thai also hired FTs.
Have a lot of fun as supporters of Chonburi FC. Traveled with supporters to other province. A few times, kena whacked by other provinces' home team supporters. Chonburi FC supporters are 70 percent Thai and 30 percent foreigners. When supporting a match, there are no difference between Thai or foreigners. All are Chonburi FC supporters.