• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Singapore a good place to be?

Windwalker

High Standard of Living. No minimum wage. Work overtime just to fight inflation. Singaporean bosses think that hiring people means owning their lives.

Really something needs to do about the working conditions in Singapore. This Illusion needs to broken.

High Standard of Living. No minimum wage. Work overtime just to fight inflation. Singaporean bosses think that hiring people means owning their lives.

Singapore is a wonderful place to be a boss. :p

Instead of complaining, why don't you cross over to the other side of the fence and start "owning some lives" for a change.:wink:

SammyHulk

A beri subjective question to mi. Every country got their pros n cons bah when cums to standard of living.

As long as we choose to work as an employee, there's noting much we can change other than improving upon ourselves (higher educations doesnt necessary translated into bigger pay cheaques ) to keep up e pace of the ever changing world.:cool:

KouChiu

Depends on what you want in life.
Singapore has legalised prostitution, influx of FDI, developing economy and casino and higher standard of living.

Would you prefer to live in Malaysia and bound to terms of Bumiputra OR in Thailand with military rules and ousted Prime Minister OR Indonesia looking for opportunity to work abroad?

As Alfresco.com theme puts it.
Life stinks. Get over it.

Windwalker

not really complaining. Just wondering what are other people's view on this. Well, we should be compare upwards in order to improve in general. What are the possible ways to improve our quality of living without blowing our standard of living sky high.

satan666

personally i think no place is perfect, singapore is gd for security and stable economy, but work wise.. ya agreed its sucky.. and malaysia em, more of the wild thing.. thailand.. hot chix? or nice culture.. blah blah blah.. so far, i find that in asia, singapore best, at least not as worst as japan when talk about cost of living la.. lol just my point of view.. haha

weisianz

personally, i feel there are 2 sides to every thing.. but i do agree.. nowadays, things do get frustrating for us peasants.. given the raising cost of livings..

but well.. i will take the security and well being of my family over anything else.. at least i know ppl cant just take a gun out and start shooting ard..

lecher

for those who thinks that singapore is not good enough, perhaps can share which other place(s) could be better ? i for one think that i'll work my lungs out here in singapore and then retire some where like bangkok or perhaps even in certain cities in china, eg dalian ....

Windwalker

Interesting pix wegocity.

Agreeably, that there is some places that I would go and stay if I could. Australia for 1. Pace is slower, slightly lower standard of living. Can get by with minimum wage. ($20 / hr)
Rent is quite cheap. If you stay in the subs. ($100 - $150 / wk) Disadvantage. Not much night life unless you go pubbing / strip joints. Groceries need to be done in the day. Some people are racist.
A friend post a question a few years back, do you want to be a first class citizen in a second class country or a second class citizen in a first class country?
I still don't have an answer for that.

Bigone65

A friend post a question a few years back, do you want to be a first class citizen in a second class country or a second class citizen in a first class country?

An interesting question indeed, but how do you define this term - 1st class citizen in a 2nd class country and vice visa? Example????

gun6969

if the causeway jam wasn't so bad i would buy a house in jb and just drive to work. Properties here are overpriced to keep people tied down with debts.

KenC

Interesting point, but if you are not an elite or WK, the question to ponder will be :
do you want to be a second class citizen in a second class country or a second class citizen in a first class country?

Rub&Buah

I should say Singapore is a not bad place to live in.Its a safe place afterall,u wun have to worry about being alone out in the street at night compare to some other country.Thou crime still exist,Its minimal.Prehaps becos of the strict penalty,which i think our garment is going overboard at times.Simi 'sai 'also must charge,Maybe one day if u 'pang sai' nv flush tolite also got penalty liao..

I think its a good place to earn money,but not a good place to spend money.Everything is so expensive in here,Just today i eat economic rice at kopitiam near fortune center 2meat with 2 small piece of potato cost me $4.So is this really economic? look at the high alcohol & tabacco tax.Even my friends from australia are complain abt the Crazy alcohol pricing at some clubs.

Its at least clean over here.

Best thing is to earn our sg dollar & take to some other neighbour country like indonesia,thailand msia etc to spend,we live like a king for a short period there.See so many foreigner wants to come here & work,ang mo,indian,bangala msian indonesian etc,our money give them a few X times back home.Even the prositute prc thai etc comes heres & go back home with thier problem solve & may even build a new house.

Pro & con is in every country.Postive or negative,its all in the mind.We are consider very lucky to be born here if u know hows the life of poor ppl in poor country like..

So get a life!life stinks but it only stink when u walk enough!

Cheers

teraterm55

bro Rub&Buah... nicely put. i think i shall add a few other points.

Singapore is good if you have money. If you dont. well.
just have a look around chinatown. Old people everywhere
not like they did not work their butts out and save heaps of money
but to continue to live in singapore without money when you are old
it really does sux.

And the worse fear is even if you have 200K CPF when you retire.
do you think with the inflation and all that you will still be able to live
comfortably in singapore ?

Lets say you have fully paid house and car. and you are 65yo.
it means you have 5 - 10 years of life span left.

Daily i gather if you want to eat nicely would take you S$20 a meal (with inflation). That would work out to S$60 for 3 meals. about 1,800 a month.
Add your constituency cost, water and electric.. lets put it at 800 a month.
ENT.. not much lah. lets say 1000 a month.

That would work out to S$3,600 a month. which works out to 43,200 a year
divide that with 200K, that would mean you have only 4.6 years to spend before your money runs out.

Not to forget medicine incase you fall sick...

in my opinion, unless you are rich. singapore would not be a good place to retire. Earn your money when you are young and then find another place to retire.