Grandpa Glockman...Is it worth to buy this 500k yacht and move into it and use it like a home?

Of course it is worth it, as long as that chiobu with the big titties comes with it!:inlove: You better faster go and buy, else I will:biggrin:

Loooks like a good place to piak piak morning to night then night to morning
Got to take PPCDL license test first leh or else gotta waste money hire boat driver then no privacy...

Then the sewer system and fresh water cost how much every month?
No idea. I know a friend who owned one party yacht. Still sold off eventually. As he could do welding & machining, he fixed up the toilet
Not sure about water but I vaguely remember he said about recycling system likely to use flushing. Drinking water should have water tank for refill.

The maintenance costs will kill you, even more expensive than owning a Ferrari LOL.
-------------------
Living full-time on a yacht (or large boat) in Singapore instead of in an HDB flat, condo or landed house may seem appealing, but the maintenance and recurring costs can add up. Here’s a breakdown of what you’d likely pay, based on public sources + reasonable estimates. Use this as a framework — actual costs depend heavily on yacht size, age, usage, and how upscale the marina is.

Key Cost Categories​

1. Berthing / Marina / Slip Fees

2. Utilities (electricity, water, sewage, etc.)

3. Maintenance & Repairs (hull, mechanical, corrosion, etc.)

4. Other Costs (insurance, membership, licensing, crew or help, etc.)

Singapore-Specific Costs & Examples​

Here are some real figures in Singapore to ground the estimates:

• ONE°15 Marina (Sentosa Cove): a 50-60 feet yacht berthing cost is SGD ~$1,920-$2,300/month for Members. (one15marina.com)

• Simpson Marine says berthing tends to cost SGD $480 to $1,500/month for smaller yachts, but for a larger (~60 ft) yacht the cost can exceed SGD $2,000/month. (simpsonmarine.com)

• Utilities at ONE°15: electricity ~ SGD $0.58/kWh; water ~ SGD $8.80 per m³ for members. (sgmarineguide.com)

• Marina Country Club: electricity ~ S$0.25 / kWh. (Marina Country Club)

• According to MoneySmart, typical maintenance & repair + fuel for weekend-use boat/yacht might cost SGD $500-$1,500/month depending on usage. (MoneySmart)

What It Really Costs: Example Scenario​

Let’s assume a modest yacht (say ~50 ft) in a decent marina, used fairly often (weekends + some weekdays), live-aboard style. Estimate costs:
Cost ComponentEstimate (SGD)Notes / Variables
Berthing/Slip feeSGD 1,800-2,500/month (~SGD 21,600-30,000/year)For a 50–60 ft yacht at premium marina (ONE°15 etc.). If smaller yacht, cheaper; if larger, much more.
Electricity~ SGD 200-600/month (or more)Depends on how much shore power you use (AC, refrigeration, lighting, etc.). At ~0.58/kWh in ONE15, a big load (air-con, etc.) adds up.
Water & sewage / pump-out etc.SGD 50-200/monthDepending on water usage, shower, washdowns, blackwater pump-outs.
Fuel / propulsion (if motor yacht)Varies heavilyIf you move often. If mostly stationary, less. But engines still run for power, generator etc.
Hull maintenance & antifoulingSGD 5,000-15,000/yearNeed periodic cleaning, painting, treating with antifoul paints; combating marine growth etc.
Mechanical & engine maintenanceSGD 3,000-10,000/yearOil changes, filters, cooling systems, etc. More if larger engines or more usage.
Corrosion / seawater damageSGD 1,000-5,000+/yearSeawater is very corrosive especially on metal fittings, propellers, shafts, electrical contacts etc. Likely you’ll need periodic replacements, sacrificial anodes etc.
Interior upkeepSGD 1,000-5,000/yearCleaning, upholstery, wood finishing, mold/mildew etc especially in humid/tropical environment.
InsuranceSGD 1,000-several thousand/yearDepends on value of the yacht, usage, coverage. Probably 1-3% of value annually.
Licensing / membershipSGD 1,000-10,000/yearDepending on which yacht club, marina membership, import / customs / regulatory costs.
So, combining everything, for such a 50-ft yacht in Singapore that is fairly well used and more or less lived aboard, you might expect SGD 30,000-60,000/year or more in recurring costs beyond purchase cost. That’s ~ SGD 2,500 to SGD 5,000+/month, excluding the monthly installments you need to pay for the yatch if you are leasing.

⚠️ Things That Often Get Underestimated​

• Corrosion from salt water wears things faster than on land: metal fittings, propellors, hull fittings, electrical wiring—all need extra attention and likely replacement more often.

• Mildew, humidity & mold inside cabins. The tropical climate accelerates degradation of interiors.

• Storm damage / weather: mooring damage, high wave damage, more wear in rough weather.

• Labor / professional servicing: skilled marine mechanics / electricians cost premium.

• Depreciation & resale: unlike property, boats depreciate, and resale costs (transport, shipping, brokerage) can eat value.

✅ Compare With Housing Costs​

To compare:

• A modest 4-room HDB or small condo in Singapore might cost you SGD 2,500-4,000/month for mortgage / lease etc plus utilities etc.

• A landed property will be much more, of course.
So while a ~$500K yacht might seem “cheaper” upfront, the ongoing costs far exceed what many pay for homes — especially in a fixed, well-constructed apartment where maintenance is shared or lower.
-----------------