• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Here’s the verdict.

Appearance: 7/10
Taste:5/10
Cost: 4/10 (lower means more expensive)
Effort: 6/10 (lower means more effort)
RTC(Return to cook): Yes, this is one of my favorite local dish since day 1. Taste wise today quite difficult to explain. It taste quite similar at times but the beginning part didnt taste like Goong Orb Woon sen. taste more like it when I was half way through.

I believe I soak the Tang Hoon for too long resulting in too much water in tang hoon and hence the tang hoon didnt absorb the seasoning well.

Also, the pot used is a little too small. Ended up squeezing the tang hoon and prawns too compact.

The same soaking of prawns in shao xing wine prior to cooking is good! However, will cut the prawns from the top rather than bottom for my next experiment. Also, quite expensive. A bottle of shao xing wine cost 200 baht here.

If this will to be serve to the locals, think they will say not aroi as they are more used to sweeter version (I didnt add any sugar in this recipe).

And now for the most boring part.

555 forgot to give credit to P’YY. Started this Goong Orb Oon Sen craze after seeing this post by P’YY few days back.

yinyang

Chon, commendable you re-visiting your culinary skills. And honest self assessment.
Obvious big trade off on cook for self and cronies makan vs biz.:biggrin:

My kitchen makan all outsourced, so credit's not mine. Can't cook to save my life
o_O

just now used only half a packet of tang hoon. as usual, for some unknown reason, siam lor food can only make one full for maximum 2 hours. after that hungry again.

use the remaining half packet of tang hoon and left over fishball to cook fishball tang hoon soup.

"Tang Cai" aka 冬菜 and fried pork lard is a must!

Yeah. alone in the whole restaurant.
very hard to enjoy in a deserted restaurant when you imagine kitchen is suddenly busy thawing frozen meat and taking out aged discolored vege from the fridge. and then heating up old soup to get fire going. first dish out is always the worst. nonetheless proprietor can claim meat is dry aged, vege caramelized (from discoloration), and soup triple boiled and stewed to perfection. :p

yinyang

Sinking ship, losing faith? :cool:

c1_1392766_180109052527_620x413.jpg
c1_1400530_180123043456_620x413.jpg

rectmobile

very hard to enjoy in a deserted restaurant when you imagine kitchen is suddenly busy thawing frozen meat and taking out aged discolored vege from the fridge. and then heating up old soup to get fire going. first dish out is always the worst. nonetheless proprietor can claim meat is dry aged, vege caramelized (from discoloration), and soup triple boiled and stewed to perfection. :p
You sounded like you have a lot of experience in being the first customer of restaurants.

This unpretentious baa mee shop definitely much better than the satu bintang mishitlin shop yesterday. Travel all the way here just for this.

Order both soup and dry version.
If want to franchise, will franchise this one. But boss and daughter relax relax bochap bochap style. Think earn enough and contented type. Cook very slow one. If cannot wait go eat elsewhere.

Third road nice baa mee
near Elephant Jungle Sanctuary Pattaya, Muang Pattaya, Amphoe Bang Lamung, Chang Wat Chon Buri 20150
https://goo.gl/maps/UQzGhJUPuYQ2

Came back from my twice weekly seafood shopping at Naklua seafood market.

Heres the fresh seafood. Guess how much? Whoever guess right or closest will get free beer (sexy girl not included).

First thing is clean the ikan kuning and take out the intestines and spare parts. Dont have to cut, just open from the gills and take out. Finally packed them in smaller quantity in wax paper for freezing.
Live green mussels

Live clams

Fresh Hoi Nang Rom Oyster. Siam kias like to eat with fried shallot and a kind of vegetable call กระถิน ka tin.

Testing the freshness by steaming. The shells are initially closed.

3-4 minutes later, the shell open by itself. I prefer half cooked. Never like overcooked seafood which is dry and hard.

Half cooked mussels. The mussels still attached to the shell. If overcooked, the mussel will come off from the shell.

Neighbour just woke up. Invite her over for some seafood snack (gin len). Maybe lucky can get to eat real oyster leh.