• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Silicon Valley AT&T shop told customer buy Note8 instead of Gay Phone X

TemaseX

This happened at AT&T handphone shop not very far fro Gay Phone Inc's HQ Cupertino !

Gay Phone is very hurt by the HARD TRUTH NOW!

https://www.cnet.com/news/iphone-x-galaxy-note-8-att/

I went to buy an iPhone X. AT&T told me Galaxy Note 8 is better
Commentary: An AT&T salesman tells me it's quite obvious why Samsung's large phone is better than Apple's future of the smartphone.

November 18, 2017 12:59 PM PST

Technically Incorrect offers a slightly twisted take on the tech that's taken over our lives.

iphone-x-prueba.jpg
Enlarge Image
Was I sold? Or unsold?

César Salza/CNET
AT&T just wouldn't let go.

First, it emailed me on iPhone X preordering day: "Krzysztof, your wait for iPhone X is over."

It wasn't. When I went online, I could order only the 64GB version. And only in silver.

Still, AT&T persisted. On iPhone launch day, it emailed me twice.

"Krzysztof, it's time. Order your new iPhone X online today." blared the first email, at 3:43 p.m. PT.

I didn't react. So at 11:23 that night: "Krzysztof, your new iPhone X has arrived!"

Wait, I'd ordered it without knowing? Not quite. Still, I went online again. And again, I could order only a 64GB.

I still wasn't sure I wanted an iPhone X. I wanted to handle it a lot more, so I had an idea. Why not go along to an AT&T store and see if someone there could sell me on the phone?

After all, I'd already been to a Verizon store and a Best Buy to see whether Pixel 2 was the perfect choice. And I've generally been fascinated by the sales process of late.

Lights. FaceID. Action.
Off, then, I went to a Bay Area AT&T store.

The minute I walked in, I was cheerily accosted by a salesman eager to help. I explained that I still had an iPhone 6 and that I was looking for a new phone life.

I added that AT&T had been emailing me quite consistently. "Apple's probably paying them a lot of money to do that," he said with a chuckle.

He then showed me the full range of iPhones. Yes, even the SE. He explained that the two iPhone 8 models didn't impress him much.

"What about the X?" I asked.

As in so many stores, it's hard to get a true feel of a phone when it has a security cable attached. Still, the salesman had a different approach from many phone salespeople I've encountered. They always started with the camera and how wonderful it was.

This salesman began with FaceID and how it's a much quicker way to unlock the phone.

"Have you tried it?" I asked.

"No."

"Do you have any phones in the store?"

He explained that he didn't. Indeed, even if I decided to buy one, he wasn't sure whether I'd get it in December or January.

"I heard that there were 2 million phones and 4 million preorders," he told me. I hadn't heard that.

So which phone is the best?
He was an extremely engaging character who didn't seem entirely sold on the phone.

I asked about the glass back and how easily it might break. He glossed over it and explained that even when people came into the store with iPhone problems -- AT&T sends people to the nearest Apple Store, of course -- none were complaining about the iPhone X.

He revealed that he was an iPhone owner, but only because he was so committed to Apple Music. I'd never heard anyone say that before.

"I've been on iTunes since I was in high school," he said. Apple Music was, for him, an extension of that commitment. (But wait, you can get Apple Music on Android now.)

I then asked the simplest question: "Is iPhone X the best phone I can buy?"

"Nah. The Note 8 is better," he replied, with pleasing candor.

He explained that, for him, what was most important in a phone was the ability to watch movies for free.

"With Android, I can download apps that let me do that. I can't do that with my iPhone," he said. "And the Note 8 has a really big screen."

"Ah, could I look at one?"

Instead of taking me over to the Samsung area of the store, he simply took one out of his pocket. It turned out to be his work phone.

"Look," he said. "Here's the big difference. It's the screen. Samsung has been making TVs forever, yeah? So they've perfected it. This new iPhone, it's the first time they've ever done an OLED screen."

I remain fascinated and perplexed
I nodded, while thinking loudly to myself, "Samsung makes the iPhone X screens, doesn't it?"

No, I didn't say it. I was far too mesmerized by the experience to interrupt its flow.

I was, as I have been though all my store visits, impressed with how open salespeople can be. He'd handed me his work phone to play with as I saw fit. He was prepared to give his honest view and even admit that he'd learned about iPhone X by trial and error.

"You don't get more commission if you sell me the Galaxy Note 8 instead of the iPhone X, do you?" I asked.

"Nah. It makes no difference what phone I sell you. We don't make money on the phones. We want to sell you the entertainment that goes on them," he said.

He did add that very few people are moving from iPhone to Android, even though he insisted that, if you give it time, Android is the better experience.

I asked how much practice he'd had on the iPhone X before it had launched.

"I learned on the job. At first, I didn't even know how to unlock it," he admitted. He said he'd been given a few details about the new phone beforehand, but he wouldn't characterize it as training.

More Technically Incorrect
AT&T didn't respond to a request for comment.

This was just one store visit, yet I heard the same story from this salesman that I'd heard from others.

"iPhones are for people who want it simple. Androids are for people who are more nerdy. Silicon Valley -- now that's a lot more Android. Here, 90 percent of our business is iPhones," he said.

I want it simple, but I left a touch perplexed by a system that doesn't really let you thoroughly inspect a product and doesn't even provide enough products for customers to hold and enjoy.

It seems that many people encounter the hype and buy on faith. This is the world of online shopping, after all.

When I got home, I checked my emails. AT&T had written again. No, it wasn't about the iPhone X.

Instead, it read: "Krzysztof. The new AT&T THANKS app is your access to exclusive benefits."

AT&T wanted to thank me? Why, that's nice.

Does the Mac still matter? Apple execs explain why the MacBook Pro was over four years in the making, and why we should care.

CNET en Español: Get all your tech news and reviews in Spanish.

Share your voice

Tags
Technically Incorrect Apple Phones Tech Industry

TemaseX

http://tech.sina.com.cn/mobile/n/n/2017-11-20/doc-ifynwnty5534268.shtml

老外去店里买iPhone X 被劝Note8更好:大屏看片爽
2017年11月20日07:34 快科技 我有话说(489人参与) 收藏本文
  CNET记者CHRIS MATYSZCZYK今天分享了一段有趣经历,发生在湾区的手机店。

我们知道,在美国运营商渠道购买手机是最主要的方式,原因是合约计划相当便宜。

因为在线上只能买到64GB银色的款式,CHRIS前往湾区的AT&T线下店逛逛,希望能买到顶配黑色。

不过,和销售员的这番“交锋”让他印象深刻。

Chris先是透露了自己收到了很多来自iPhone X的选购推荐邮件,店员吐槽“看来苹果宣发方面投了不少赞助给ATT”。

好在店里可以选购顶配,但问题也很棘手“不确定12月还是明年1月才能有货”。店员解释“他们大约有200万台iPhone X的指标,然而有400万人参与了预购”,不确定这句话是媒体措辞还是真实数据,但意思很明显,iPX相当抢手。

Chris只好作罢,“对了,玻璃后壳是不是特别容易碎”,对方回答“最近送iPhone的送修来看,还没有iPX,不过ATT也都是送到最近的Apple Store去解决”。

好了,Chris的耐心越发糟糕“那你直接告诉我,哪款手机最好吧”。

这时对方丢出来一句“Note8更好点”。

他解释“尽管很少有iPhone用户会转投安卓,但说实在话,安卓的体验用过之后真的很棒”。

这位店员还否认自己推荐Note8是因为单台抽成比iPX高,“坦率说,卖手机ATT并不给我们抽钱,我们的职责是为消费者带去最好的体验”。

店员自曝,“我其实也是果粉,从高中开始就用iPhone,之所以离不开是因为Apple Music重度依赖”。

他随后从口袋内掏出Note8工作机,“你看,屏幕更大,看片特爽”。他还饶有兴致地解释,在安卓上可以免费看电影,而iPhone就不行。

5kju-fynwnws0866047.jpg

nayr69sg

Staff member
I bought a Note 8 for myself. This was after my iPhone 7 Plus could not charge. I brought the iPhone to Apple and they said cannot be repaired. Must pay CAD$449 to get a replacement as it was out of warranty. I took the phone to a shop and they said can repair for $50 but will try and charge to see how. Turns out faulty cable. Phone totally fine. Apple damn chee bye. Only want to earn money. Full of crap. Take perfectly good phone charge me $449 for a replacement. Take my phone and resell. I mean if you say pay $449 for ANOTHER iPhone7 plus ok lah. But must give them my existing iPhone 7 plus wor!

Crooks man. Didn't even try to charge the damn phone at the Apple Store. Just say the problem cannot fix. Chee bye.

I gave my iPhone 7 plus and Apple watch 2 to my son. Bought Note 8 for myself. And it works with my old gear fit. Love the Note 8.

JHolmesJr

I bought a Note 8 for myself. This was after my iPhone 7 Plus could not charge. I brought the iPhone to Apple and they said cannot be repaired. Must pay CAD$449 to get a replacement as it was out of warranty.

Guess they can spot a kunt at 50 paces...lol.

I bought a Note 8 for myself. This was after my iPhone 7 Plus could not charge. I brought the iPhone to Apple and they said cannot be repaired. Must pay CAD$449 to get a replacement as it was out of warranty. I took the phone to a shop and they said can repair for $50 but will try and charge to see how. Turns out faulty cable. Phone totally fine. Apple damn chee bye. Only want to earn money. Full of crap. Take perfectly good phone charge me $449 for a replacement. Take my phone and resell. I mean if you say pay $449 for ANOTHER iPhone7 plus ok lah. But must give them my existing iPhone 7 plus wor!

Crooks man. Didn't even try to charge the damn phone at the Apple Store. Just say the problem cannot fix. Chee bye.

I gave my iPhone 7 plus and Apple watch 2 to my son. Bought Note 8 for myself. And it works with my old gear fit. Love the Note 8.

If you own & run Apple, you would be doing the same thing right!. You can sell a customer a new charging cable for $9.90 or repair a phone for $50...I can make $449 in replacing one for one; which options as a businessman, would you choose?

First, you check the charging cables by using a standby one or someone's , check the plug....off & on the phone & check all over again, of problems persist, go Apple check out what they say...if it is too much to pay, then go find those who can repair the phone & check around for the cheapest possible.

I am not defending Apple...but If I am Apple Corp...I would want to charge you $449 for new replacement phone..when you use the iPhone, you are already buying into things premium, guess you know that, repair cost is high, replacement cost, parts & accessories. That doesn't mean that Samsung or any other are cheaper...each have their sneaky ways of making money out of you.

Why blame Apple for the cost of repairs?...as a consumer, you should have informed choices at hand.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Charging $449 to "repair" a phone that is not spoilt? And the way you repair is by taking the working phone and giving another working phone.

Sorry man. That's fraud. Not business.

Apple has become a cult. Blind followers. Just like sinkies and PAP. LOL!

I don't fall for this shit.

Sinkies idea do biz is to cheat people and take money when can take money. All short sighted. No wonder sinkies biz all fail.

Charging $449 to "repair" a phone that is not spoilt? And the way you repair is by taking the working phone and giving another working phone.

Sinkies idea do biz is to cheat people and take money when can take money. All short sighted. No wonder sinkies biz all fail.

Like I have said, you don't have to pay for that $449, though many does, & don't mind doing, they are so obsessive with Apple, like many with PAP. I am an Apple fan, uses many of their products, rarely has many of the products I own by Apple needs to go to repair centre out of warranty period I have only ben there twice & that was an inherent manufacturing fault known by them & they change one for one. Other than that I have yet have any Apple Products that fail badly software & hardware like the years I spent with Microshit & their machines.

Iphone...have a certain lifetime, my experience, after 3 generations, that is about 3 years, they start to deteriorate, I usually bring it to service centre to get an assessment...usually the cost is very high. After which, If really need that phone before I decide to buy an upgrade, I bring to Malaysia to extend its life...repairs are cheap & not too bad....cheaper than Singapore.

I do have a cheap Samsung Android phone, so that I know, what the other 'side of the world' are using & talking about, besides whatsapp, the usual google & Chrome, my android OS phone...I don't trust it for secured transaction...

Back to what I have said..it is up to the user to decide, on what to pay for...they have the choices....but some, sigh!, like the 70% still insists in paying very expensively for crappy products & upgrades from a fast declining 'provider'.

The choice is in your hand, in what you want to pay...

yellowarse

You sound like a very unhappy person. Kind of a background dysthymia. Always something to pick on and rant about, binding yourself in ever narrowing spirals of navel-gazing absorption. Oh, and the incessant Sinkie-bashing.

It seems that the move to Canada has not made you a happier person. Materially better off maybe, but not happier.

Nothing personal, just an observation. Try a happy pill. Cheers.

You sound like a very unhappy person. Kind of a background dysthymia. Always something to pick on and rant about, binding yourself in ever narrowing spirals of navel-gazing absorption. Oh, and the incessant Sinkie-bashing.

It seems that the move to Canada has not made you a happier person. Materially better off maybe, but not happier.

Wow, you sound like a psychoanalyst !!

nayr69sg

Staff member

Sorry I made you jealous yellowarse.

This forum is all about negativity. It is where you go and play humanity's worst. LOL!

Ranting is the name of the game here.

It wasn't always like that. But seriously when was the last time you actually saw an intelligent discussion and civil debate here?

Also who posts happy good stuff in courtyard cafe? Seriously? Find me a thread of positivity.

Emigration folder is dead. I have lots to post and discuss there is anyone is interested and it is all positive happy stuff. But no one is interested. Sinkies are just a miserable bunch who love to kpkb. They will kpkb but never do anything to actually improve their situation. Always waiting for others. Easy to criticize others.

The reason why I stick around is I love seeing you guys bash Singapore despite you guys still living there and having a stake in the country.

Me....I am getting my whole family out already. Siblings parents etc. Personally I have zero stake in sg. Can't wait to see the fallout when it happens. And it will be very sudden and come as a shock to you guys. Not me though.

And yes. I hate sinkies. That was the number 2 reason I left sinkieland.

Nothing like wallowing in the joys of seeing the ones you hate suffer and whine. Makes me happy to see all the mrt mishaps etc.

I am very happy in Canada. Just bored at work so come and join in the bashing fun.

yellowarse

And yes. I hate sinkies. That was the number 2 reason I left sinkieland.

Nothing like wallowing in the joys of seeing the ones you hate suffer and whine. Makes me happy to see all the mrt mishaps etc.

I am very happy in Canada. Just bored at work so come and join in the bashing fun.

You could have fooled me. We obviously don't use the same dictionary.

I find it hard to reconcile the notion of happiness with a person who's so consumed with so much venom and hate for his birthplace and its people that he continues to bash them long after he's upped and left to the point of sounding like a broken tape recorder ... and wallows in the joy of seeing these people 'suffer and whine' despite claiming to have 'zero stake' in the country

You may have moved physically but your soul is still trapped here by your hatred and desire for revenge. It's eating away at your core. If you call that happiness, then it's a very degenerate kind of pleasure at the most. The Germans call it schadenfreude.

People who are sick in the mind are often also in a state of vehement denial. And a miserable, revengeful émigré makes a very poor poster boy for his adopted nation.

Try a happy pill. You won't look back.

I doubt they can do repairs at sales outlets. I think the strategy Apple is using is to do whole unit/board replacements.

I've owned Apple computers & when you have problems the service provider will replace the faulty board. The do not do component repairs. The boards are Apple certified & you avoid QC problems.

That is why people invest in AppleCare protection which gives an extra 2 years of coverage.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I doubt they can do repairs at sales outlets. I think the strategy Apple is using is to do whole unit/board replacements.

I've owned Apple computers & when you have problems the service provider will replace the faulty board. The do not do component repairs. The boards are Apple certified & you avoid QC problems.

That is why people invest in AppleCare protection which gives an extra 2 years of coverage.
Problem I had was phone cannot charge. Fix was to change battery. Except the problem was a spoilt charging cable.

Just get replacement cable. $5.

And Apple wanted $449.

Problem I had was phone cannot charge. Fix was to change battery. Except the problem was a spoilt charging cable.

Just get replacement cable. $5.

And Apple wanted $449.
stick to apple adaptors and charging cables, take good care of them for the right device, and they shouldn't damage your iphone. there are tons of 3rd party cables and gadgets out there made with "lightning" connectors, and they can damage your apple device. there's a reason why the ipad adaptor is larger than the iphone adaptor. swapping them for long durations can cause unintended consequences. always roll up cables nicely with no sharp angles when not in use. in the past, the most damaged apple cable was the macbook power adaptor and cable. they have since addressed that problem.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Apple is crap. There is no option to send customer feedback or shop experience etc.

They don't care. I guess they are making so much money anyway. They produce crap products also people will buy. Lol!