• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Dyslexia, President and the Istana

Any reasons why kids from Dyslexia Association invited? They are not disabled, orphans, hail from dysfunctional or poor families neither are they dying or ill.

Who chose the 30 kids? How did the invitation go out? What about kids who are tone deaf and cannot carry a tune?

What is the purpose of the open house during Public Holidays?

New series allows more onto Istana grounds
NP_20171118_NAISTANA18_1663236.jpg

President Halimah Yacob (in pink) feeding swans with children from the Dyslexia Association of Singapore.TNP PHOTO: DESMOND WEE
NUR ASYIQIN MOHAMAD SALLEH
Nov 18, 2017 06:00 am
Yesterday marked a series of firsts for nine-year-old Dylan See. It was his first outing on the Istana grounds, his first time meeting a president and his first time feeding a swan.

Dylan's visit was made possible by the new Picnic@Istana series, which is part of President Halimah Yacob's push to make the Istana grounds more accessible to Singaporeans.

He was among more than 30 children from the Dyslexia Association of Singapore invited by Madam Halimah to yesterday's picnic.

They had light refreshments, painted with School of the Arts students and learnt more about the pair of mute swans, which the late Mr and Mrs Lee Kuan Yew would visit and feed during their evening walks.

Madam Halimah said: "The Istana has a very special place in the hearts of many Singaporeans, because I think many people grew up with memories and stories about the Istana.

"And that is as it should be because this is part of our heritage, our history. It is a symbol of our independence, our sovereignty."

Madam Halimah said: "The Istana has a very special place in the hearts of many Singaporeans, because I think many people grew up with memories and stories about the Istana."

Bro,
you think Makcik read the Tales of the Istana?

Bro,
you think Makcik read the Tales of the Istana?

You mean "Pinky & The Owls"? or No Alcohol I Resign tale of " Escape to a drinking hole". We are over paying a President of a Nation...did she & the children, do it together & do it good?

my uncle say there is some link with dyslexia kid and the mute swan - both not able to express their thoughts properly so my uncle say marcik want to give signal to sinkie diam lah.

bobby

Dsylexic kids nowadays but last time we call these kids stupid.

Stupid kids will never comprehend selected versus elected and cannot tell apart an Indian from a Malay.

Perfect guests to host.

Dyslexia is very common across the World. Most kids have no idea they have a degree of dyslexia. The IQ has no correlation to dyslexia. Old man and is daughter have dyslexia.

It is like she invited kids with short-sightedness for a tour of dyslexia.

Dsylexic kids nowadays but last time we call these kids stupid.

Stupid kids will never comprehend selected versus elected and cannot tell apart an Indian from a Malay.

Perfect guests to host.

Leckmichamarsch

alamak, puki mak.... we hv prez kelong only doing trivial things ignoring need for COI into the mrt problems!! apa ini puki prez??

Tells you her sense of timing for this press is bad. The country is concerned about our trains - flood, collision etc and she does a feeding the swan session.

alamak, puki mak.... we hv prez kelong only doing trivial things ignoring need for COI into the mrt problems!! apa ini puki prez??

Any reasons why kids from Dyslexia Association invited? They are not disabled, orphans, hail from dysfunctional or poor families neither are they dying or ill.

Who chose the 30 kids? How did the invitation go out? What about kids who are tone deaf and cannot carry a tune?

What is the purpose of the open house during Public Holidays?

"

Why u so concerned about how the 30 kids were chosen? Are u jealous because u are not one of the chosen even though u have dyslexia, downs and mental retardation?

borom

17.Act 28 of 2016 wef 01/04/2017
(2) In addition to being the Head of State, it is also the function of the President to safeguard the reserves of Singapore and the integrity of the Public Services of Singapore, and the President is to perform this function according to the provisions of this Constitution mentioned in clause (3).
(3) The provisions mentioned by clause (2) are the provisions in Articles 22, 22A, 22B, 22C, 22D, 22E, 37B, 37C and 154A and Part XI that authorise the President to act in his discretion.
(4) The President may exercise such other powers and perform such other functions as are conferred on the President by this Constitution and any other written law.

What does feeding swans with children from the Dyslexia Association of Singapore have to do with safeguarding reserves and integrity of public service?
I'm not a scholar like Ng Yat Chung /Demond Kuek or a lawyer like Shan ect2 so I cannot figure this out

17.Act 28 of 2016 wef 01/04/2017
(2) In addition to being the Head of State, it is also the function of the President to safeguard the reserves of Singapore and the integrity of the Public Services of Singapore, and the President is to perform this function according to the provisions of this Constitution mentioned in clause (3).
(3) The provisions mentioned by clause (2) are the provisions in Articles 22, 22A, 22B, 22C, 22D, 22E, 37B, 37C and 154A and Part XI that authorise the President to act in his discretion.
(4) The President may exercise such other powers and perform such other functions as are conferred on the President by this Constitution and any other written law.

What does feeding swans with children from the Dyslexia Association of Singapore have to do with safeguarding reserves and integrity of public service?
I'm not a scholar like Ng Yat Chung /Demond Kuek or a lawyer like Shan ect2 so I cannot figure this out
my uncle say you thought marcik know how to carry out the clause meh. He also say since marcik don't know so feed swan lo.

Clearly this woman has no idea what the people of this country feel. She is totally detached.

bobby

President Tony Tan reflects on his six years at the Istana: 'It's been hard work but... very rewarding'