Visiting Varanasi

I paid about S$500/= for this model which includes the case and memory card last year. There is also a free course that teaches you on how to take good photos from Canon Singapore. Now the new model is the S100 which is better. However, I am not sure about the price.:)

Canon has launched the PowerShot S95 premium compact as successor to the S90.

Windsor, I always like Canon's G and now using the G12, will you be able to advise how the G12 and S95 compare?

The G12 is a much better camera but it is also more expensive. I believe it is about S$200 plus higher in price. I bought the S95 because many professionals use it as a 2nd camera when they need to quickly take a shot which is not possible with a DSLR as it takes time too set it up.

I am planning to get a new DSLR and looking at the Nikon D7000 as I think it is a good one.

Guys, know this suppose to be a Varanasi topic. Bought a Nikon D4 on impulse many years ago and proud or pai seh to say it's still in 'almost brand new' condition. Did not use the D4 because a little too bulky for me. Ended up using my smaller Panasnic Lumix and Sony TX something. However, find these smaller cameras cannot take good pics during the night.

Think the TS photographic skills are much better than mine. :confused: Any suggestion for a small light weight camera but DSLR effect? :D

Have not visit Varanasi but know it is a main Buddhist place. As for the 2 other cities I have worked and visited, New Delhi and Mumbai (Bombay), Pai Say to say, these are the places I will not regret not to revisit again. In short, I will not miss these 2 places.

However, one positive, the northerner bollywood zha bors are very very chio in New Delhi.

Guys, know this suppose to be a Varanasi topic. Bought a Nikon D4 on impulse many years ago and proud or pai seh to say it's still in 'almost brand new' condition. Did not use the D4 because a little too bulky for me. Ended up using my smaller Panasnic Lumix and Sony TX something. However, find these smaller cameras cannot take good pics during the night.

You must be capable of time travel because the D4 isn't out yet. I'm still waiting.

Maybe..ish D40...1 xtra jeero make a lot of difference...1 yr later mabe got D4X...:D:D

Or...was it Nikon F4...

You must be capable of time travel because the D4 isn't out yet. I'm still waiting.

Maybe..ish D40...1 xtra jeero make a lot of difference...1 yr later mabe got D4X...:D:D

Or...was it Nikon F4...

Pai Seh, Pai Seh. It's D40. Yes, one extra zero make a lot of different. Another question? Is this camera good? I find it quite difficult to use because no live preview.
P1000655.JPG

Ok. Before all bros zap me, I am not a good photographer. Wanted to get something better than compact digital camera, so I bought the D40 (entry level DSLR during time of purchase). Ended up, pictures taken by me only slightly better than digital camera but other people using the same camera can take very nice pics. One example is the fireworks and night scenery, whether digital camera or DSLR, the pics taken my me really can go to the thrash bin.

Try reading this
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/newbies-corner/309544-photography-notes-newbies.html

Think the TS photographic skills are much better than mine. :confused: Any suggestion for a small light weight camera but DSLR effect? :D

Yeah this is Varanasi thread but the pictures blur plus no charbors to look. Can be more interesting if TS can post better pics and make good composition and make threads like this interesting. Sorry TS, not trying to be offensive but I also like to look at nice and interesting places and an accompanying short commentary so we viewers can know about your experiences and what the picture is about and why it is taken. Pictures of the local food they eat is also interesting. BTW TS, some of the shots are interesting but not all.

Pai Seh, Pai Seh. It's D40. Yes, one extra zero make a lot of different. Another question? Is this camera good? I find it quite difficult to use because no live preview.View attachment 3558
Dun worry bout de cam...it's ok although not de best...there r many photographers who can create wonders with simply pns...like me dis type of man with cam gib me D4xxx I oso shoot rubbish...:D:D

chonburifc said:

The SONY NEX 5 or 7 could meet your requirement, mirror-free, smaller and lighter than DSLR but same sensor size as DSLR, therefore similar in performance. SONY used to have higher chroma noise than NIKON and Canon, focussing on bringing down luminance noise instead but I understand the new NEX have made some significant improvement there. NIKON also has a similar mirrorless interchangeable lens camera but the sensor is only half its size.

Yeah this is Varanasi thread but the pictures blur plus no charbors to look. Can be more interesting if TS can post better pics and make good composition and make threads like this interesting. Sorry TS, not trying to be offensive but I also like to look at nice and interesting places and an accompanying short commentary so we viewers can know about your experiences and what the picture is about and why it is taken. Pictures of the local food they eat is also interesting. BTW TS, some of the shots are interesting but not all.

U seriously wont want to see half naked Ah Mah bathing in that river. This was just a day trip so I can't be bothered to write too much about it especially since I go there all the freaking time; although India being India I ran into a lot of stupid things. One of which was during the flight back to Delhi. At the Delhi domestic airport, the plane stopped about 20m in front of the airport entrance. Instead of making us walk all of 20m to the airport, they loaded all of us onto a bus, driver 100m down the road, U-turn, drive another 100m back the same way we came and stop at the same spot to let us off!!!! Incredible India!!!! Maybe next time if I post something like that again I'll write something for U

There is no visible difference in the image quality between a $300 and a $3000 digital camera. The difference lies only in the ability of the camera to capture good images in less than ideal conditions.

Much of the professional work you see is enhanced considerably during post processing. No camera can produce such images straight off the memory card.

i think its because it creates an extra job.

. At the Delhi domestic airport, the plane stopped about 20m in front of the airport entrance. Instead of making us walk all of 20m to the airport, they loaded all of us onto a bus, driver 100m down the road, U-turn, drive another 100m back the same way we came and stop at the same spot to let us off!!!!

Thanks Windsor. Happy New Year.

The G12 is a much better camera but it is also more expensive. I believe it is about S$200 plus higher in price. I bought the S95 because many professionals use it as a 2nd camera when they need to quickly take a shot which is not possible with a DSLR as it takes time too set it up.

I am planning to get a new DSLR and looking at the Nikon D7000 as I think it is a good one.

The SONY NEX 5 or 7 could meet your requirement, mirror-free, smaller and lighter than DSLR but same sensor size as DSLR, therefore similar in performance. SONY used to have higher chroma noise than NIKON and Canon, focussing on bringing down luminance noise instead but I understand the new NEX have made some significant improvement there. NIKON also has a similar mirrorless interchangeable lens camera but the sensor is only half its size.

I saw dead animals on the river no dead pple although i've been told it does happen sometimes. After they burn the dead they will scatter some ashes into the river. There were 2 crematorium at the place, the photo is that of the bigger one. The Boatman didn't allow me to take photos when we got close so I to take that at maximum zoom

They scatter the ashes into the river. If you walk in the labyrinth of passageways behind the cremation ghat, you will notice the burning smell in the air, and also the flying ashes too. Living face to face with deaths everyday is a norm to the people. Behind the pile of burning pyre, there is this dark and creepy wooden building. The boatman said people living out the last days of their lives can be found there. The scene brings a grim reminder of how fragile and precious every moment of being alive can be.

Dun worry...if u r keen enuff n keep trying...u will improve over time...if not oso neber mind...jus enjoy the fun of shooting...at least way better den kio Kway I guess...:D:D

Pai Seh if this one is Pang Tang. One of the pics that really make me rethink about life is the work of Kevin Carter who took a pic of a dying girl and vulture. Was depress for sometime after seeing this pic. The photographer committed suicide later.