• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shortage of TALENTS wanting to enter POLITICS,really?

Nice-Gook

So,our mee siam mai hum prince had declared.It is because of the very limited pool of talents available who are willing to enter politics that monies offered as salaries must be sky high to make it worthwhile for them.......really hor?

Wait a minute,all the good people his father had thrown into jail and bankrupted doesn't seems to highlight this fallacy.

So,in order to hide one lie with ten lies;LKY hatched this legal corruption to pay his ministers sky high to toe his line.But it did not stop there ,since he also must shut their mouth within his circle once out of service.The vicious cycle went on.And it seeped through every sector in civil service,armed force and so on.....LKY created this web of deceit.

Now it's us who are stuck and squirming like trapped insects.All is required in one brave soul to call LKY's bluff.But it ain't going to be his son.....and the only opposition MPs from WP are a deep disappointment who not only seems to play along with PAP but tripping all over their feet.WP MPs can't even seems to get their arithmetic right.Gosh,and we voted for them as our only hope !:(

What's your view?Pray please tell.

Perspective

It is never true. In fact, some talents don't even get high pay while non-talents do. For example, a consultant for a construction company solved so many problems for so many engineers and saved so many buildings in Singapore or we will be living in a Raffles Place full of leaking buildings thus costing the economy tonnes, and this consultant probably doesn't earn 20% of what The Saw of SMRT earns. Highly paid people are highly paid people - and not necessarily much else.

Nice-Gook

It is never true. In fact, some talents don't even get high pay while non-talents do. For example, a consultant for a construction company solved so many problems for so many engineers and saved so many buildings in Singapore or we will be living in a Raffles Place full of leaking buildings thus costing the economy tonnes, and this consultant probably doesn't earn 20% of what The Saw of SMRT earns. Highly paid people are highly paid people - and not necessarily much else.

Ok,I could not agree with you more.But since you identify yourself with WP.And with due respect,why do you think WP is not calling a spade exactly that in our parliament?

Perspective

Ok,I could not agree with you more.But since you identify yourself with WP.And with due respect,why do you think WP is not calling a spade exactly that in our parliament?

I am not sure where/when/how I identified myself with WP, although a lot of people link me to them. Honestly, I was but not anymore some years ago. And thanks for the due respect. As to the questions, I see it as many ways to skin a cat.

hairylee

His father used to compare western politician to second car salesmen; I think PAP is now comparable to second hand car dealership.

Will LHL pays a musician (also a talent) $M to be his minster?

If he says no I'll kick his arse, and if he says yes I'll also kick his arse?

Do you know why?

So,our mee siam mai hum prince had declared.It is because of the very limited pool of talents available who are willing to enter politics that monies offered as salaries must be sky high to make it worthwhile for them.......really hor?

Wait a minute,all the good people his father had thrown into jail and bankrupted doesn't seems to highlight this fallacy.

So,in order to hide one lie with ten lies;LKY hatched this legal corruption to pay his ministers sky high to toe his line.But it did not stop there ,since he also must shut their mouth within his circle once out of service.The vicious cycle went on.And it seeped through every sector in civil service,armed force and so on.....LKY created this web of deceit.

Now it's us who are stuck and squirming like trapped insects.All is required in one brave soul to call LKY's bluff.But it ain't going to be his son.....and the only opposition MPs from WP are a deep disappointment who not only seems to play along with PAP but tripping all over their feet.WP MPs can't even seems to get their arithmetic right.Gosh,and we voted for them as our only hope !:(

What's your view?Pray please tell.

Nice-Gook

What I would have like to see is WP MPs hammering at the root of PAP premises.1.That such filthy monies attract real talents 2.That such filthy money as salaries to minister creates clean governance.Once the foundation is cracked the entire proposal falls like a pack of cards.

Instead they re nibbling here and there like headless chicken without any directions.Where is their coordinated attack on PAP fallacies?

Heck,there are 3 lawyers among them.And1 is suppose to be a Rhodes scholar.Why are they whimming like a pussy cat?

All it took was 1 JBJ to get LKY squirming in his seat.Yes,LKY actually crawled on his seat when JBJ asked pointed questions in our parliament.Than there was this Dr.Chee,who made LKY a fumbling fool in our court of law.So much so that the judge and the prosecutor had to shield LKY.

You see,one don not have to outwit PAP with slay of words nor be a rocket scientist of quantum mathematical caliber.WP MPs need not dwell on rhetorical or theatrical questions.....just ask as any simpleton would.Prove that 1.That such filthy monies attract real talents 2.That such filthy money as salaries to minister creates clean governance....that's all.

Than they can lay back very comfy and simply shoot down every 1 of PAP answers with more questions.Don't those 3 WP MPs who are trained lawyers knows that?

You see the onus of burden of proof is heavily on the prosper since it is the PAP that is proposing.

WP MPs have all the luxury of their comfort zone to sit back and shoot down PAP ,at any way PAP turns.Instead we get a bunch of loosers whose power of ignorance and stupidity amazes me.It's a malice to us folks-- born of a combination of innate ignorance, blinding pride, and a sorry lack of parliamentary proceedings.

LeMans2011

Seriously, what's wrong with these SDP supporters? The fact that you did NOT win any seats proves your idiotologies do NOT appeal to the masses... yet you insist WP (who got voted into Parliament!) should be run like SDP and adopt SDP's crazy idiotologies ???

Nice-Gook

Will LHL pays a musician (also a talent) $M to be his minster?

If he says no I'll kick his arse, and if he says yes I'll also kick his arse?

Do you know why?

Spot on.Even a thief is a talent if he can get away with daylight robbery.So what is this crap about attracting talents?...actually if I were in the parliament I would ask Dr.Eng,so your previous earnings were 1 milliion?What makes you think a shop keeper will pay you the same because you are talented boob artist?

Let's not go far.Even in his medical field ,do you think Dr.Eng will earn the same as a anesthetist ?So wats da hell are these monkey masters talking about attracting talents?Importantly,why can't the WP MPs ask the same and shame our ministers?

Nice-Gook

Seriously, what's wrong with these SDP supporters? The fact that you did NOT win any seats proves your idiotologies do NOT appeal to the masses... yet you insist WP (who got voted into Parliament!) should be run like SDP and adopt SDP's crazy idiotologies ???

If you think I am a blind SDP supporter,pls read what I wrote about politicians in general in this thread---http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?108401-GPGT-GOH-MENG-SENG-criticise-Chen-Show-Mao-speech-responses-from-netizens/page2

..."Ah, the potent combination of ignorance and stupidity was never more amply demonstrated than this thread. ...What makes it truly potent is a good helping of hubris, arrogance of WP die hard slaves.I don't know about you but I am not surprised. In fact, I would have been surprised if there was no hysteria by the mindless madness of WP supporters.I would not subscribe to the "I am luckier and I put up with stupidity". First, never put up with stupidity as it only encourages the behavior.

I am more inclined to think your forum is full of such mindless WP supporters.I can't figure out what in there personally for them.If one wants to be with mob mentality .they rather shout for PAP.At least there are some tangible benefits like a priority over HDB que or something.But moronic mob mentality for WP?Sheeesh,can't they see the kind of folks WP MPs are?

You are right,among Sinkies the level of political awareness if not maturity is apathetically way way low. To paraphrase a famous line, 'do not ascribe to stupidity what can adequately be explained by immorality.'

No,I don't think the SDP is a solution to WP;just like many good folks here thinks WP is a solution to PAP.Because politicians are worse than prostitutes.Apology to all prostitutes,since we pay you to f..k you whereas we pay politicians and they f..k us.
"..

brocoli

No,I don't think the SDP is a solution to WP;just like many good folks here thinks WP is a solution to PAP.Because politicians are worse than prostitutes.Apology to all prostitutes,since we pay you to f..k you whereas we pay politicians and they f..k us. [/I]"..

another know-it-all faceless netizen who contribute nothing but noise and waste bandwidth .... while even the SDP scums which I most despise are doing something for what they believe in,,,,,

Nice-Gook

Sorry folks,WP antics in the parliament sort of made me feel physically sick. Would be hard to imagine a sorrier bunch of inbred incompetent,idiotic ignoramus bunch of bozos.Not only they screwed up big time a once in a lifetime opportunity but were inept even in expressing themselves.Even Chen Show Mao stared unnaturally;tongue tied.Christ!,what a pathetic sight to behold.

Only the PAP immoral urgency to quickly wind up the debate safe the day.Otherwise it would have been a blood bath par excellence.

brocoli

Sorry folks,WP antics in the parliament sort of made me feel physically sick. Would be hard to imagine a sorrier bunch of inbred incompetent,idiotic ignoramus bunch of bozos.Not only they screwed up big time a once in a lifetime opportunity but were inept even in expressing themselves.Even Chen Show Mao stared unnaturally;tongue tied.Christ!,what a pathetic sight to behold.

Only the PAP immoral urgency to quickly wind up the debate safe the day.Otherwise it would have been a blood bath par excellence.

you know what you are....? some legless football pundit.... dun talk about free kick when you never seen a ball.....

dun talk about tactics when you never seen a field .....

reading a few history books doesnt make you a know it all unforunately..

that is theproblem with historian ... they have the benefit of hindsight

freedalas

In my view, WP fell into PAP's trap to engage them on the pegging methods and pay formulae. Once u go down this road, u are bound to be engaging with the PAP on the smallest of details and in the midst of it, get yourself entangled which was what actually happened. The PAP through Vikram Nair actually cornered Gerard into scoring own goal and the late attempt by Pritam to equalise was too little too late as the public's interest with what WP has to offer already lost. The PAP baited WP and sadly WP got hooked.

What the opposition ought to have done is simply this. They should ask Teo Chee Hean "Ok, granted that we subscribe to the review committee's recommendation to pay $1m for M4 level or whatever, tell us which ministers sitting right in front of us are really worth this much? Do not allow him to pick Ng Eng Hen or Shanmugam. Pick one example for him, like Lim Swee Say and ask Teo Chee Hean to defend why this Zorro Clown should be paid so much. Ask for specifics as to what his portfolio entails and what had he achieved?" Asked him to state transparently what sacrifices had Lim SS made in accepting minister's post. If WP had adopted this line of questioning and persists with it, the PAP would never be able to give any satisfactory answers and if they refused to do so, then it will be interpreted that they are unable to. And if u engage the PAP this way, the public's interest would certainly be aroused and all waiting to see how Teo CH or even PM himself can justify for each of them. WP had missed an excellent opportunity to get at the PAP by trying to show how clever they are in working out the pegging methods and pay formulae. They barked up the wrong tree totally. They should instead lead them away from discussing the principles on attraction of talent, attack the core of the matter which is that these ministers save for two or three are not worth this kind of pay. WP had forgotten that in politics, it's much less scoring points over PAP but to score points with the public.

Perspective

In my view, WP fell into PAP's trap to engage them on the pegging methods and pay formulae. Once u go down this road, u are bound to be engaging with the PAP on the smallest of details and in the midst of it, get yourself entangled which was what actually happened. The PAP through Vikram Nair actually cornered Gerard into scoring own goal and the late attempt by Pritam to equalise was too little too late as the public's interest with what WP has to offer already lost. The PAP baited WP and sadly WP got hooked.

What the opposition ought to have done is simply this. They should ask Teo Chee Hean "Ok, granted that we subscribe to the review committee's recommendation to pay $1m for M4 level or whatever, tell us which ministers sitting right in front of us are really worth this much? Do not allow him to pick Ng Eng Hen or Shanmugam. Pick one example for him, like Lim Swee Say and ask Teo Chee Hean to defend why this Zorro Clown should be paid so much. Ask for specifics as to what his portfolio entails and what had he achieved?" Asked him to state transparently what sacrifices had Lim SS made in accepting minister's post. If WP had adopted this line of questioning and persists with it, the PAP would never be able to give any satisfactory answers and if they refused to do so, then it will be interpreted that they are unable to. And if u engage the PAP this way, the public's interest would certainly be aroused and all waiting to see how Teo CH or even PM himself can justify for each of them. WP had missed an excellent opportunity to get at the PAP by trying to show how clever they are in working out the pegging methods and pay formulae. They barked up the wrong tree totally. They should instead lead them away from discussing the principles on attraction of talent, attack the core of the matter which is that these ministers save for two or three are not worth this kind of pay. WP had forgotten that in politics, it's much less scoring points over PAP but to score points with the public.

I don't think that was the shortcoming. They get accused of lacking specifics if they do not.

What WP can improve on is homework, delivery and for this, either LTK or SL should have been one of the speakers. Or both. Not both stay out.

Nice-Gook

Bro,allow me do away with all the niceties and use an parliamentary language just this time.

Is it a 'kelong'?

You see,if it walks like a duck and quake like a duck,the chances are that it's indeed a duck.

We are not talking about novices here.There are three trained lawyers among WP MPs...and one a Rhodes scholar who worked overseas all his life.How can they act so amateurish?

What takes the piece of the cake is that among the WP MPs there is a veteran politician like LTK who had crossed swords with the likes of LKY .And there is Sylvia Lim,who went before the best and brightest legal eagles on this earth in an International Bar Association (IBA) symposium to argue for the very judiciary to the disgust of JBJ,and Dr.Chee.It's not a coincidence that she stood against the very JBJ,who blowed life into the Worker's Party which was defunct after it's establishment by David Marshall.JBJ spilled his guts and blood for 20 years before LTK and Sylvia LIM came aboard WP and yet these two capitulated the old lion.........are we to believe that they are that easily trapped by PAP?

Something stinks terrible here.

LTK has a track record of betraying his very mentor JBJ.And Sylvia Lim herself who came from the police force was simply parachuted from nowhere as WP chairman--immediately after JBJ forced exist out of the very party he nurtured like a baby.And went one step further to defend the tyranny of PAP ISD arbitray arrests and bankrupting opposition figures --by our beholden judiciary.A very possibility that another invisible hand,most likely PAP, involved .What's more the devil,LKY,himself gave a helping hand to LTK in winning past elections.

WP as a wayang party is not a contemplation anymore.The very facts are simply starring at us.How can we ignore it?

Because what is a simple logic to you and me who re novices in the arena of politics seems to escape WP MPs.How can we ignore this drama any longer?

Simply put,what transpired in the parliament is simply a 'kelong'.Worse WP is scoring against itself.

Nice-Gook

What WP can improve on is homework, delivery and for this, either LTK or SL should have been one of the speakers. Or both. Not both stay out.[/QUOTE]

Don't you think it's rather glaring?

In football terms,can you think of any team pitting for the world cup where the goalie and lead forward simply would not want to play?

The question is why.

brocoli

Bro,allow me do away with all the niceties and use an parliamentary language just this time.

Is it a 'kelong'?

You see,if it walks like a duck and quake like a duck,the chances are that it's indeed a duck.

We are not talking about novices here.There are three trained lawyers among WP MPs...and one a Rhodes scholar who worked overseas all his life.How can they act so amateurish?

What takes the piece of the cake is that among the WP MPs there is a veteran politician like LTK who had crossed swords with the likes of LKY .And there is Sylvia Lim,who went before the best and brightest legal eagles on this earth in an International Bar Association (IBA) symposium to argue for the very judiciary to the disgust of JBJ,and Dr.Chee.It's not a coincidence that she stood against the very JBJ,who blowed life into the Worker's Party which was defunct after it's establishment by David Marshall.JBJ spilled his guts and blood for 20 years before LTK and Sylvia LIM came aboard WP and yet these two capitulated the old lion.........are we to believe that they are that easily trapped by PAP?

Something stinks terrible here.

LTK has a track record of betraying his very mentor JBJ.And Sylvia Lim herself who came from the police force was simply parachuted from nowhere as WP chairman--immediately after JBJ forced exist out of the very party he nurtured like a baby.And went one step further to defend the tyranny of PAP ISD arbitray arrests and bankrupting opposition figures --by our beholden judiciary.A very possibility that another invisible hand,most likely PAP, involved .What's more the devil,LKY,himself gave a helping hand to LTK in winning past elections.

WP as a wayang party is not a contemplation anymore.The very facts are simply starring at us.How can we ignore it?

Because what is a simple logic to you and me who re novices in the arena of politics seems to escape WP MPs.How can we ignore this drama any longer?

Simply put,what transpired in the parliament is simply a 'kelong'.Worse WP is scoring against itself.

if WP wan to be an opp forever... they will heed your words...

if they wan to to be a ruling party, they will continue to disgust you....

Perspective

What WP can improve on is homework, delivery and for this, either LTK or SL should have been one of the speakers. Or both. Not both stay out.[/QUOTE]

Don't you think it's rather glaring?

In football terms,can you think of any team pitting for the world cup where the goalie and lead forward simply would not want to play?

The question is why.

My own guess is the same as how LTK would let SL do most of the talking from 2006 - 2010 or sent GG to the TOC forum to be seated among other Sec-Gens when he was only a CEC member. It's to raise profile of newer ones.

But in this respect, WP/LTK always tends to overdo it or overuse this method. Eg PAP would not have LHL be quiet for the next 5 years. As the "chief cornerstone" you are expected to wrap up.