• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This is what PUB plans to reduce/stop deaths at Bedok Reservoir

[h=2]This is what PUB plans to reduce/stop deaths at Bedok Reservoir[/h]
by erecting signs with helplines at Bedok reservoir...

The Straits Times
PUB considering erecting signs with helplines at Bedok Reservoir
Published on Nov 6, 2011
By Royston Sim

A spokesman for national water agency PUB, which is in charge of Bedok Reservoir, on Saturday said it is considering putting up signs with helpline numbers around the reservoir, which might help deter those thinking of taking their lives.

This follows the discovery of a sixth body, of a Singaporean man, earlier on Saturday. But resident Tan Tong Foo, 58, expressed doubt that signs would be of much use.

The air-con technician said: 'If people want to commit suicide, the signs may not stop them. Maybe brighter lights can be installed around the reservoir instead.'

Dr Chia Boon Hock, a psychiatrist who has been studying suicide trends for more than 40 years, noted that the reservoir is easily accessible, making it difficult to implement any measures to guard against drowning. To prevent suicides, the root cause behind each case, such as financial problems, must be determined and treated, he said.

kingrant

What a joke! A suicidal guy is expected to read signposts ans seek help by himself? If he has gone so far as the water's edge, only PAP retards and bureaucrats will think of such ideas. Typical reaction: go thru the motion, put up signs, I have done my job.

I think Sinkies better revert to covered reservoirs instead of open ones. That includes all open sea fronts, access to expressways, MRT tracks..wall them all in because Sinkies cannot save themselves. Nature, wide open spaces, open water bodies are not for Sinkies.

csi88

Must well ask Home Affairs to erect a police Post there.Kill 2 birds with one stone.One is to prevent crime and the other prevent death there.

psy83

I have said it a thousand times, Ok not a thousand times but a few times.. There has to be a gag order on Media to not publish any Sucide news. Many countries dont publish sucide news which include location as it might start of a trend, and this is happening in Singapore..It has spark off a trend of suicide plus suicide locations.

... To prevent suicides, the root cause behind each case, such as financial problems, must be determined and treated, he said ...
dey wil go on n find dat ze root cos is ah loon's gambling dens ... lidat how? ... tel ah loon 2 shutdown his gambling dens? ..

TheFootballer

They should ask Tan Tong Fu, an Air-con technician to resign and Head PUB, Dr Chia to become the Minister in charge and current PUB heads to all go drown themselves in bedok reservoir for coming up with such stupid ideas.

What a joke! A suicidal guy is expected to read signposts ans seek help by himself? If he has gone so far as the water's edge, only PAP retards and bureaucrats will think of such ideas. Typical reaction: go thru the motion, put up signs, I have done my job.

I think Sinkies better revert to covered reservoirs instead of open ones. That includes all open sea fronts, access to expressways, MRT tracks..wall them all in because Sinkies cannot save themselves. Nature, wide open spaces, open water bodies are not for Sinkies.

that is because the sinkie education system educate sinkie to follow any signs without using any brains at all, so the sinkie govt expect that behavior from sinkies even they are going to die... how convenient!!!

Cruxx

People wanna jump into the reservoir, then enclose the whole reservoir lah. So easy. That's the Sinkie way to solving problems: rigid, simplistic and perfunctory. :smile:

Agree with you. When it is time to gag the press, they don't do it.
I have said it a thousand times, Ok not a thousand times but a few times.. There has to be a gag order on Media to not publish any Sucide news. Many countries dont publish sucide news which include location as it might start of a trend, and this is happening in Singapore..It has spark off a trend of suicide plus suicide locations.

Cruxx

that is because the sinkie education system educate sinkie to follow any signs without using any brains at all, so the sinkie govt expect that behavior from sinkies even they are going to die... how convenient!!!

All that's missing is a "Suicide Application Centre". Fill up the suicide forms before you jump. :smile:

LeMans2011

Put up a sign: "If you jump into the reservoir, your family will be made to pay $50,000 for cleanup of the reservoir... failing which the sum will be deducted from your cpf monies or the cpf monies of your next of kin".

The recent suicides have proven Sinkies are no longer "kia-si"... but they still "kia-saman" so the above technique will work.

cheowyonglee

"No suicide allowed. Fine $5000"

No!!!This should be the sign!

sign.jpg

or maybe this might help!!!

stop-sign.gif

http://happeepill.com/solution-to-end-suicide/

• stop-sign.gif
    stop-sign.gif