Oral sex more likely to lead to throat cancer than smoking: Study

by BLOOMBERG 01:24 PM Oct 04, 2011NEW YORK - A virus spread by oral sex may now be the cause of more cases of throat cancer in men than smoking.

According to researchers in a report released yesterday, over the last 20 years, there has been a surge in cases of oral cancer linked directly to the human papillomavirus, or HPV, by about 58 per cent. By 2020, the virus which mostly affects men is expected to become more common than HPV-caused cervical cancer.

Such a finding places more pressure on Merck, the second-largest drugmaker in the United States, to conduct large-scale trials to see if its vaccine Gardasil, which wards off cervical cancer in women, can also prevent HPV throat infections.

"The burden of cancer caused by HPV is going to shift from women to men in this decade," Dr Maura Gillison, an oncologist at Ohio State University and study senior author, said. "What we believe is happening is that the number of sexual partners and exposure to HPV has risen over that same time period."

HPV-linked throat cancers, or orophyaryngeal cancers, are increasing so rapidly that by 2020 there will be 8,700 cases in the US, according to a study. Male cases alone will outnumber cervical cancer cases soon after 2020, Dr Gillison added.

Roughly 20 million Americans have genital HPV infections, according to the Atlanta-based Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. At least half of sexually active women and men will be infected at some point in their lives, the CDC says. The virus was found to have not caused health problems in patients only until recently. Today, dead and neck cancers are a potential side effect, especially among older patients who smoke or drink often.

Treatment will involve going through chemotherapy, radiation and sometimes even surgery. However, according to Dr Gillison, "it can leave permanent physical disfigurement, difficulty with speech and swallowing and poor dental health".

Now, a key step to be made would be to perform a study that would follow people over a number of years and track in more detail how HPV-oral infections leads to cancer. "Nobody paid attention to oral HPV infections until 2007," Dr Gillison added, thus the amount of research done and data on HPV is about 15 years behind that of cervical cancer.

Oral sex do transmits germs, normally will have sore throat the next morning, haha....

talk and listen only lor
:(

You mean like playing, tic tac toe or dominoes, drink tea & make remarks like, "you look pretty tonight", " have you eaten", "the moon is bright & round tonight" ( psst its cloudy out there)!! talk & listen, you talk she listens...after 9pm...can go home!

haha bro i would imagine thats too tame leh. No need to scale down until like that. Can talk dirtier without contracting HIV or HPV.

You mean like playing, tic tac toe or dominoes, drink tea & make remarks like, "you look pretty tonight", " have you eaten", "the moon is bright & round tonight" ( psst its cloudy out there)!! talk & listen, you talk she listens...after 9pm...can go home!

haha bro i would imagine thats too tame leh. No need to scale down until like that. Can talk dirtier without contracting HIV or HPV.

Talk dirtier, will start the hormones going unless they are dead on arrival ( the hormones), will soon lead to getting hot under the collar & between the legs, one rub will start a spark, which will lead to lighting up a 'cigar', smoking it, & soon will start the 'oven hot & bake a bun'. Tic Tac Toe, & moon watching...is safe sex.:D

Oral sex do transmits germs, normally will have sore throat the next morning, haha....

Germs if in the form of bacterias it is not such a big problem but if it is viruses then it is serious problem. A sore throat is just your body telling you your body's immune system is at war.

In the past, these researchs or reports used to be trustable because the institute that conduct the research are reputable.

Cannot say the same for now. Till now, can anyone say coffee is good or not? One moment, some institute say bad. Another few months, another institute say good. Some say wear condom very safe. Then got some say circumcise is safe cos' got so experiments in Africa.

So where's the credibility of such reports? suka suka publish their own findings.

Germs if in the form of bacterias it is not such a big problem but if it is viruses then it is serious problem. A sore throat is just your body telling you your body's immune system is at war.
You are licking cb or lj, where urine xuuuu xuuu, of cox got bacteria lah... whahaha

No doubt about that but it may not be just ordinary bacterias, it could be something venereal.

CBs must come with a surgeon general warning like this

new-graphic-health-warnings-cigarette-packs-300x236.jpg

The hole itself is a host to all kind of organisms....it's fuckers' beware! Tat's why in hokkien is called ChowCB!

Women likes foreplays, LOL

Yeah, they like to be kissed, fondled, caressed and licked. Cunnilingus can get them really aroused and with some fingering it can give them pleasure so much that'll send them to the seventh heavens. The fact is women have nature's sacred carnal advantages, they can achieve and enjoy multiple orgasm without the need of an erection genital wise. Men have to be good at foreplays if they cant hold their horse or their women will be left hanging out to dry, half fcuked in that sense.:D

This 1 I agree, women dun like to get fucked immediately, they like kissing, and fondling breast, must get them high 1st before you get yours, LOL