• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How does the system work here?

Then what about the danger of people saying agreeable things to be popular? How can your system tackle that behaviour?

Every opinion has opponents and proponents so as long as one takes a stand, there will be additions from one side of the fence and subtractions from the other.

However, those who log on just to be nice to everyone will probably see their points increase a lot faster compared to those who court controversy.

That's what life is like. It's no different in the real world. The system is by no means perfect and is open to abuse similar to what occurs in real life politics. It's simply there to add another dimension of interaction between members.

Aiyoh Sam we just kidding with you lah, why bother to explain in detail of this points system?! :rolleyes:

That time I said I wanna hit 400 points, next thing I noe I kena demerit points left right centre, hence I'm stuck at 397 points, just shy of the 400-point resistance. :D

Who wanna up me? :D

one red card on 14th Nov 2010 means someone deducted your points which simply means that they disagree with you. It doesn't mean you have done anything wrong. 1 point was deducted.

The next day however there were two of your posts which received green cards with 7 points each which means that you lost one point but gained 14 points within a space of 48 hours. That's a net gain of 13 points.

That's exactly how the rep system is supposed to work. As long as the majority like your posts, your points will increase over time. It doesn't mean that you'll have nothing but additions and no subtractions but as long as there are more people who support your viewpoints than there are who disagree, you'll end up with an ever increasing score.

That still does not explain why my post was reported as spam. Like Rogue Trader said, must I always be pleasant even when personal attacks were made on my character for obscure reasons?

It wasn't "reported" as spam. The person who deducted your points added the remarks "spam" to the remarks pane when he clicked on "I disagree". That's his opinion but it doesn't make it the truth. People can write whatever they want. Some don't even bother to say anything. They can put !!! or *** and the system will still accept it.

I don't see these remarks. I can only view the content if I go into the database tables.

Which means suck up to all if possible, and say nothing controversial. Then if that is what a forum discussion is all about, everyone should agree with the povs of all so as not to incur the wrath of anyone? Might as well not have any discussion if this is the case.

Every opinion has opponents and proponents so as long as one takes a stand, there will be additions from one side of the fence and subtractions from the other.

However, those who log on just to be nice to everyone will probably see their points increase a lot faster compared to those who court controversy.

That's what life is like. It's no different in the real world. The system is by no means perfect and is open to abuse similar to what occurs in real life politics. It's simply there to add another dimension of interaction between members.

I understand more after this thread. I propose that anyone reporting or disagree should not remain anonymous.

Some may understand but many don't. My explanation is for the benefit of all. :rolleyes:

Which means suck up to all if possible, and say nothing controversial. Then if that is what a forum discussion is all about, everyone should agree with the povs of all so as not to incur the wrath of anyone? Might as well not have any discussion if this is the case.

You don't have to suck up to anyone. You can champion any cause and express any opinion and none of your posts will be censored no matter how many people deduct your points. However, if you express views which are not acceptable to many, you have to accept the fact that you'll probably end up with a whole lot of red cards but why should that stop you from speaking your mind.

After all, points are of no consequence. They aren't linked to your bank account. Whether you have 2 or 2000, it makes no difference to your wealth or status in life.

Then just let disagreements be aired on the discussion thread. At least the person has the chance to defend himself.

Even though rep points are useless, subtracting them over POV differences just kills the spirit of discussion. Instead, I propose using that to curb spamming (there are old nicks here who spam like Leetahbar, watchman et al).

I agree, but as you can see, the OP is very concerned with reputation points and many others too. There is one here with thousands of post of which most are rubbish, spewing irrelevant comments, just for the sake of increasing the number of posts. He seems to just want to have the last say in every thread.

You don't have to suck up to anyone. You can champion any cause and express any opinion and none of your posts will be censored no matter how many people deduct your points. However, if you express views which are not acceptable to many, you have to accept the fact that you'll probably end up with a whole lot of red cards but why should that stop you from speaking your mind.

After all, points are of no consequence. They aren't linked to your bank account. Whether you have 2 or 2000, it makes no difference to your wealth or status in life.

I agree, but as you can see, the OP is very concerned with reputation points and many others too. There is one here with thousands of post of which most are rubbish, spewing irrelevant comments, just for the sake of increasing the number of posts. He seems to just want to have the last say in every thread.

If you see posts that you don't like, simply zap the guy! That's what the system is for.

Originally Posted by Forvendet
How come I can't give Kukubird points again?

You've already given him points recently. There is a 200 day stand down period.

hahaha...sam kor, kelong leh......
Ah Forv has not given me any pts before.

Today is CNY 7th day..................Happy Birthday to ALL

If you see posts that you don't like, simply zap the guy! That's what the system is for.

come on lah.. we are not so childish..
zap here and there only can be seen in the other sammyboy forum.. especially during School Holiday... :o

Like what rogue trader said, zapping only kill the spirits of discussions..

Siao kuku.. see we so kind help you to upz your points... now ur power become 4 !
4 means die. haha.. CB Sam ask you go die. :D

Strong VPN is something that everyone should use in this day and age especially if you're logging in via a sinkie ISP. Sign ups offset my hosting fees.
Hahaha... There was a period when the sinkie ISPs were making page loading and surfing slow for this forum / sex forum. I was using a free proxy tool to bypass it and you did banned the fixed IP address a couple of times when i was posting news at the international section using different characters. Why bother when such applications are able to generate endless IP addresses? You very free is it? :D

If that's the case, he's making false claims. I leave it to the two of you to sort things out. :rolleyes:

I mean, I tried to up your points, couldn't. I think that's because of my power 0 then. Then when power 1, again cannot. That's why I started this thread. Anyway, the response is good. You're up from power 0 to 4. Happy power day. :)

I should also do what you did and get points from every one promising to up theirs. Then again, I care nothing about such things.

I mean, I tried to up your points, couldn't. I think that's because of my power 0 then. Then when power 1, again cannot. That's why I started this thread. Anyway, the response is good. You're up from power 0 to 4. Happy power day. :)

That's because you have already used your allotted vote for the day on another member.

You need to wait 24 hours before you can add or subtract reputation again.

hahaha..thks.
ah forv, try again and note the msg.
spread your legs.....means you have up me before and need to tankuku.
too much...... means you need to wait 24hrs or less.......

hahaha..thks.
ah forv, try again and note the msg.
spread your legs.....means you have up me before and need to tankuku.
too much...... means you need to wait 24hrs or less.......

Absolutely right. tankuku ok? :D