• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Enraged old man cursed about CPF during Reform Party’s walkabout at Clementi

Watchman

Enraged old man cursed about CPF during
Reform Party’s walkabout at Clementi

September 12th, 2010 | Author: Your Correspondent

reformclementi-640x480.jpg

The Reform Party encountered an enraged man in his sixties who was angry at not being able to withdraw his CPF during its walkabout at Clementi today, its fourth in this week alone even as 46 PAP MPs and activists were enjoying themselves on a “bonding” trip in China.

According to RP activist Irene Ho, she greeted the well-dressed man who was walking towards her after which he suddenly went into a tirade about his CPF.

“He was very angry and spoke about how he had a total of (approximately) $103K in his CPF and he is facing problems withdrawing it! He said he is very frustrated and complained about how his CPF would be eroded by inflation by the time he could withdraw the balance. Then he cursed about how people like himself (being in his 60s) shouldn’t be forced to work because he is at an retirement age! With the high cost of living, his monthly CPF payout of $500 to $600 is not enough for him and thus he is forced to work to make ends meet,” Irene wrote on her Facebook.

Under the new CPF Life scheme which all Singaporeans are “automatically” included, they have to keep a Minimum Sum of more than $120,000 in their ordinary account.

Unlike in the past where Singaporeans are able to withdraw their CPF in one lump sum when they reach 55 years of age, only a monthly amount is now deposited into their bank accounts like the case of the gentleman above.

With the baby-boomers reaching retirement age, an increasing number of them are getting peeved at not being able to withdraw their CPF monies which ultimately belongs to them and as such, most have to continue working.

PAP strongman Lee Kuan Yew mooted the idea of scraping the retirement age altogether and exhort his subjects to follow his example and work for as along as they can into their 80s though they do not enjoy the same wages and perks as him for doing nothing much except “forecasting”.

In its policy pledges, the Reform Party promises to set up a basic Old Age Pension for all Singaporeans, to reform CPF and to introduce a universal health insurance.

Read Irene’s account of the walkabout here.

VOICE OF PMETs:
November 5, 2010 at 12:32 am (Quote) (Reply)

if young singaporeans do not feel a sens eof belonging here,it is neither their own fault or that of their parents.

it is the fault of the pro-foreigners govt.

many young people see their parents or even relatives or friends getting displaced unjustly and getting replaced with ‘CHEAPER’ foreigners especially FTs at breakneck speed by both public and private sectors’ employers alike.

EMPLOYMENT is one fo the KEY PILLARS to SOCIAL COHESION and belongingness of citizens to their nations as it pertains to economic well-being.
the manner and speed at which this PAP govt trigger-happily displace singaporean workers is enough reason for all the ill-feelings the young and old harbour.

it is pathetic indeed to witness singaporeans who are availed with free education of an overseas and endowed with stable high-paying jobs DISREGARDING altogether the well-being and welfare of their fellow citizens.

it is hypocrisy to hear the same govt officials claimed they are doing all that they are doing for the SAKE and BENEFIT of singaporeans themselves…how so countless of citizens are forced out of their jobs and livelihoods at the same time????

it is obvious the manner in which the govt is implementing its various policies shows a total lack of consideration for the good of singaporeans at large.

how can a policy like FT be good when it runs counter to what the govt has calimed,i.e.,that FTs create jobs for Singaporeans?

either the govt is lying or the citizens are unfairly complaining?
it seems to me more like ‘LIARS’ POKER’ here…

I am curious. Why are people associated with opposition party politics are referred to as activists.

PAP the ruling party wants to downgrade their status from
opposition political party to one of activist.

It is not because the Government care about the incremental longevity of Singaporeans, the sad truth is that CPF do not have enough cash to pay the retiries. That is the only justification on why retirement age is being pushed back and you can't even get all your money after that.

At least the French government is honest in their reasoning for pushing the retirement age up.

It is not because the Government care about the incremental longevity of Singaporeans, the sad truth is that CPF do not have enough cash to pay the retiries. That is the only justification on why retirement age is being pushed back and you can't even get all your money after that.

At least the French government is honest in their reasoning for pushing the retirement age up.

Don't talk rubbish. Ask Kwek Leng Beng and Ng Teng Fong's children if CPF has got money. Or ask Liew Mun Leong. Or DBS or UOB. Okay, you don't believe local banks. Ask HSBC or Stanchart if CPF has defaulted on any mortgage payments.

Truth is, that stupid old man would have squandered his CPF 5 years ago on some PRC SWT and would be demanding handouts now. At least he's getting $600 a month. Frankly I think some of you here fall into that sad category.

What is the point here.

I thought it should be promise to voters what they are going to do about CPF should they be voted in.

those 2 in the mid girls from next door type. i like

the only way is to gather the whole bunch of old farts together and protest this CPF unfairness. but they got balls?, if no balls, then open mouth and swallow all the shit lor.

I stand corrected but I think she got it wrong here. He can withdraw the whole of his Ordinary Account but not the Min Sum in the RA. That has always been the case, isnt it?

Unlike in the past where Singaporeans are able to withdraw their CPF in one lump sum when they reach 55 years of age, only a monthly amount is now deposited into their bank accounts like the case of the gentleman above.

oi! ...

psst! ... look behind u! ... siow tien! ... :eek:

The fair one looks abit like Siow Tien actually .... fair and slim ....:)

However, ditch Siow Tien already lah ..... no excitement already after 6 over-nites .... before take out clothes already know all contours !!:eek: