• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Incompetent Mah Bo Tan Measures Doesn't Work

Loofydralb

Property prices kept rising.

Mah Bo Tan (MBT) at first says its affordable.

Then on 30th Aug announces measures to lower the prices.

Now months later prices still coming up.

He is totally clueless and not fit to be minister.

xebay11

The simple way to get HDB prices to fall is increase the MOP for rental to 20 years, many HDB owners buy Condo and rent out their HDB at the same time, even if they want to sell, they will still ask sky high prices and transact only when they get the asking price. How is the price of HDB going to go down?

hairylee

He is not clueless. His priority is to take care of his own properties and those of Ah Lee Baba and gang. The property market is his playground.

Boliao

What is MBT's measurement? Affordability of flats? Any idea how much money the government is making from stamp duties? What is stamp duty fees based on?

Doesn't take a genius to figure these out.

ah tan's boss oso got no idea abt globalisation ...

ah tan had learned fast from his boss ...

Loofydralb

The simple way to get HDB prices to fall is increase the MOP for rental to 20 years, many HDB owners buy Condo and rent out their HDB at the same time, even if they want to sell, they will still ask sky high prices and transact only when they get the asking price. How is the price of HDB going to go down?

If they were serious, they would have only allowed citizens to own either HDB or private.

No such thing as investments in housing. In Singapore with current rules, prices just continues up.

Allow one property per family unit. Period.

batman1

If they were serious, they would have only allowed citizens to own either HDB or private.

No such thing as investments in housing. In Singapore with current rules, prices just continues up.

Allow one property per family unit. Period.

Besides singapore,which country in the world allows PRs to buy public housing (resale HDB flats) ?
The singaporeans need HDB housing now,but the sleeping MaBok Tan nonchalantly announced "OMG! we have have alloted few pieces of land for development of public housing and will be ready in two to three years time !"
This shows very poor planning and little concern for the welfare of. singapore citizens.Too arrogant .Too complacent.Well,maybe he thinks that even if he does nothing and sleeps on the job,singapore citizens will still vote for him under the lightning brand !

silverfox@

Tighten up the law on leasing out of HDB flats. MOP must be 10 years. Last time it was 10years I think

Loofydralb

That is why the typical PAP syncophant is a dinosaur that cannot think out of a box.

A capitalistic society can operate only where resource is plenty and benefit will be derived from decent work input.

In a limited (or in Singapore's case, PAP controlled and oft said 'land is limited') supply, social pressures can only lead to a control in comodity. Otherwise there will be social breakdown.

Remember this word : SOCIAL BREAKDOWN

If PAP does not put in place correct policies soon, there will be SOCIAL BREAKDOWN.

cass888

A capitalistic society can operate only where resource is plenty and benefit will be derived from decent work input.

You must be nuts. The fundamental concept of economics is that resources are limited and the prices determined by demand and supply.

Your cries for control of demand smacks of communism.

Loofydralb

You must be nuts. The fundamental concept of economics is that resources are limited and the prices determined by demand and supply.

Your cries for control of demand smacks of communism.

I did not mention capitalism from supply and demand perspective. You did.

I only said capitalism operates on unlimited resource. Is that difficult to differentiate?

But lets go your way......ooops.

Theres a conundrum......in your sentence there is "resources are limited" and "supply". Somehow these two doesn't add up. I won't try to teach you. As you know dogs are difficult to train. Don't even try to train them to think!

And the part about communism......wake up.......we are in one big commune. No different from the China one.

I have an immediate neighbour who comes home at night to sleep, rented the entire flat, even partition the hall into a room, to PRC's. Daytime live in the in-laws Bungalow house with the children, who is doing the checking? on rental etc., property taxes & other benefits?

You sell the flat, you have to check the race ratio...in the past one is force to sell to the MINORITY races because of the ratio thing, at times at a very much lower prices!!

Now, the entire block is a United Nation, you meet Mynamese, Kapmucheans, Vietnamese, Filipinos, Indians & of course our brethen from the People's Republic of China, in the lifts.

They might as well, remove the race ratio thing..what at joke!...the joke is on us....nobody is laughing!:p