• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

“How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food

aangsc

With all the nutrition that kids today received, are they stronger than the previous generation ? I remember enjoying my 'go-li' play time during recess; not because I am not hungry but I have no $$$. You don't have to worry about that recess break it won't kill you. Do your job as parents, give them a good breakfast, skip tat recess . $6 enough for a good lunch .

cooleo

If you give your daughter $6.00 everyday .

Don't blame your daughter if one day she is caught whoring !

If u give your son $6.00 everyday, don't blame your son if one day he is caught pimping you out. That's what happened with Tonychat the Thai pimp!

aangsc

when I first started work I earned $x , now I earned $5X , still not enough lah. $6 not enough , $60 enough ? Live within your mean , something we ought to learn.

LOL I still remember during my high school days in the 70s 1 day $1. Save $ by walking to school instead of bus and only drink tap water instead of buying syrup water. Back then the water was much safer instead of now a days shit water :smile:

1. bingo! bro.
2. back in those days in hk, i would not spend the daily pocket allowance on transportation but preferred to walk to school, both ways man!
3. no tit-bits or snacks or soft drinks.
4. no choice, we learnt and accepted the fact that money did not come easy, and must save up!

Excuse me , are we talking about using allowance to fulfill 'wish list' or 'need list' ? Are allowance meant for their meals or to fulfill their wish list. Look at the answers from these spoil brats; fast food; comestic (for school ?) , top ( doesn't he/she wear school uniform; you mean they go topless ?) . Maybe we should also review 'Is your monthly wage enough ?' . I wish I can tell that to my boss too. Hey this meagre pay of mine is not enough for my family bi-annual holidays in mediterranean, fyi we need to stay in at least 4 stars accommodation. BTW, also not enough to promote family cohesion in weekly restaurants, plus father day, mother day, grandparent day, national day, family day, valentine day, youth day, children day, birthdayssss etc. Not enough to watch World cup at home blah blah blah.
I think the school should start a meals credit cards for student , whenever they go hungry , they can charge to the card to pay for meals. Only meals and not stationeries (wait till you see what they sell in school ). Parent can see the monthly statement and adjust the limit accordingly.

U very funny/never update fashion name.
TOP is the girl clothes something like CON shape.

primary 1 - 30cents a day, walk to school.
primary 6 - 50cents a day, bus stamp by parents as kampong kenna relocated but still attend the same school. Last graduting cohort for the school. school now a expressway.
secondary 1 - $2 as lunch settle in school, afternoon session. Bus stamp by parents.
secondary 4 - $5 become a "key" child, cover all meals. save money by eating only lunch in school, dinner permently maggie mee. Bus stamp by parents.
Poly - started out at $5 a day till become no allowance as work after class ended everyday. With income of about $600 a month, must contribute $200 to parents every month. Most tulan was yr 2 job attachment, only $300 a mth, bloody hell, could have get $1k+ from my usual lobang. Bus stamp & Poly school fee paid myself.

Nowaday children good life, got Ipod, Hp, PSP etc etc... from parents. I only buy an Awia radio recevier @ ard $30+ during poly. My first and only DiscMan a Panasonic during Poly yr3, it still in working condition as my office radio despite having it for more than 13 years.
Maybe things of yesteryear were made of better quality so can last but seriously is current generation become wasteful. Most if not all of the children cannot appreciate that parents work very hard to raise them. Of course this have to do with the envoirnment they are raise in.

moolightaffairs

primary 1 - 30cents a day, walk to school.
primary 6 - 50cents a day, bus stamp by parents as kampong kenna relocated but still attend the same school. Last graduting cohort for the school. school now a expressway.
secondary 1 - $2 as lunch settle in school, afternoon session. Bus stamp by parents.
secondary 4 - $5 become a "key" child, cover all meals. save money by eating only lunch in school, dinner permently maggie mee. Bus stamp by parents.
Poly - started out at $5 a day till become no allowance as work after class ended everyday. With income of about $600 a month, must contribute $200 to parents every month. Most tulan was yr 2 job attachment, only $300 a mth, bloody hell, could have get $1k+ from my usual lobang. Bus stamp & Poly school fee paid myself.

Nowaday children good life, got Ipod, Hp, PSP etc etc... from parents. I only buy an Awia radio recevier @ ard $30+ during poly. My first and only DiscMan a Panasonic during Poly yr3, it still in working condition as my office radio despite having it for more than 13 years.
Maybe things of yesteryear were made of better quality so can last but seriously is current generation become wasteful. Most if not all of the children cannot appreciate that parents work very hard to raise them. Of course this have to do with the envoirnment they are raise in.

bro, we are the generation that will persevere and survive. the key word is survival and not successful.

Erkuku

Those days, busfare 5 cents, Cha Kway Teow 30cents, can bring your egg somemore. Prawn Mee 20 cents. Can fry 5 cents tou gae for the whole family of 8 people. One Loaf of bread is 25 cents...so many things were less then 50 cents.

Most students spent more then 9 hours in school. $10 is reasonable for a full day allowance.

denzuko1

"Zhang Zong Hui, a secondary three student felt her daily allowance of $7 was not enough, saying that she "starved for days just to buy a top that costs $20.""

He is lying, a top only cost SGD9.95 at ToyRus. Inclusive of the spinner gadget only cost 12.95. I have bought 3, one for my son, one for my daughter and one for me and my wife (we share).

This guy certainly do not know the value of money, haven't earn already spend like there is no tomorrow.

"Zhang Zong Hui, a secondary three student felt her daily allowance of $7 was not enough, saying that she "starved for days just to buy a top that costs $20.""

He is lying, a top only cost SGD9.95 at ToyRus. Inclusive of the spinner gadget only cost 12.95. I have bought 3, one for my son, one for my daughter and one for me and my wife (we share).

This guy certainly do not know the value of money, haven't earn already spend like there is no tomorrow.

A top is a clothing item u moron.

I don't understand why people on this thread are so ignorant. Ask yourself first why a tuckshop is charging $3 for a meal instead of $1 or 50cents? Could it be because the greedy MOE is charging a high rent for these canteen operators? They need to make money to survive too. Used to be canteen operators were provided with free water, electricity, etc. to cook their food in the understanding they will in return pass the savings on to the students with cheaper emails. I dun think this is the case anymore, I am sure they are getting squeezed by the school. If the school really want to help, just provide free microwaves in the canteen area. The kids can microwave their lunch from home. Its more nutritious and cheaper than the tuckshop food. How much will 10 microwaves cost? Such a simple solution.

silverfox@

My mother last time go to school with me, see how much the food costs (average, not the most expensive), then she give me just nice. total 50cts till I in pri 4, then extra 30cts for me to save.

By the time I reached Sec school, only $1 per day. If I want cd player, tell me go work during holidays. My classmates had $10 for a week, I only had $5.

Nowadays see so many kids at Bugis Village. During our days, where got go shopping.

Secondary school meals cost less than $3, sometimes $1plus $2. . + a drink can hit $3, so $6 is enough. If we are talking about branded schools, then more expensive.

Wang Ye

Strange. Very strange that the mother does not ask her daughter to explain the break down. My guess is maybe the girl likes to eat fastfood breakfast and lunches.

silverfox@

I don't understand why people on this thread are so ignorant. Ask yourself first why a tuckshop is charging $3 for a meal instead of $1 or 50cents? Could it be because the greedy MOE is charging a high rent for these canteen operators? They need to make money to survive too. Used to be canteen operators were provided with free water, electricity, etc. to cook their food in the understanding they will in return pass the savings on to the students with cheaper emails. I dun think this is the case anymore, I am sure they are getting squeezed by the school. If the school really want to help, just provide free microwaves in the canteen area. The kids can microwave their lunch from home. Its more nutritious and cheaper than the tuckshop food. How much will 10 microwaves cost? Such a simple solution.

Even if school charge no rental, please go and count how much flour, rice, ingredients costs.

now 50cts, $1? you really are ignorant lor. Which canteen worker want to earn 50cts $1, somemore have to minus food costs.

silverfox@

Those days, busfare 5 cents, Cha Kway Teow 30cents, can bring your egg somemore. Prawn Mee 20 cents. Can fry 5 cents tou gae for the whole family of 8 people. One Loaf of bread is 25 cents...so many things were less then 50 cents.

Most students spent more then 9 hours in school. $10 is reasonable for a full day allowance.

Spend so long hours for what? The usual CCAs not everyday, unless all stay behind school and gossip is it?

SneeringTree

Absolutely stupid story. It's clearly not about pocket money to eat. If a parent gives a child $6 a day and expect that $30 a week to cover everything, then I think it's not enough. Because how is the child going to get money to have that occasional movie, newspapers, magazines, etc? Stuff that teenagers actually do.

There are parents who give just 3 bucks a day to their child but will buy everything else the kid wants: ipod, clothes, movies, meals, etc.

The person who asked the questions in the thread title, shows an utter lack of empathy and tact.
Who was it huh?

LOL I still remember during my high school days in the 70s 1 day $1. Save $ by walking to school instead of bus and only drink tap water instead of buying syrup water. Back then the water was much safer instead of now a days shit water :smile:

Times have change, back in those days, kopi O cost 10cts, kopi 15cts, nescafe 25cts... we walk to school to save money to buy something we want...

now the kids are spoilt..

Come mothers and fathers
Throughout the land
And don't criticize
What you can't understand
Your sons and your daughters
Are beyond your command
Your old road is
Rapidly agin'
Please get out of the new one
If you can't lend your hand
For the times they are a-changin'.
(Bob Dylan, "The Times they are a Changing" abridged)

But have we changed for the better or the worse?, you can't really blame the kids, it is the parents fault, who will blame the society, who in tunr blame the government, who blame the damn chicken that laid than darn EGG!

Have we grown better?, for the times, they are a changing!! :mad:

1sickpuppy II

We have grown but for the better or worst it for each of you to decide. As for kids allowance I usually follow this rule. I give them the basic amount ( 1 meal at tuckshop and the bus fare to and from school ). They want anything more then show me their results. As get $50, Bs get $20 Cs get Kentucky/ AnW meal and Ds and below forget about watching TV for the month.