• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'pore So Costly, Says Regular Visitor

Aug 1, 2008

S'pore so costly, says regular visitor

I AM writing as someone who travels to Singapore regularly on business.
I read somewhere that the number of visitors has dropped by more than 8 per cent compared to last year. Also that Singapore Airlines passenger traffic and revenue have declined. I am not surprised.

I used to be astounded how expensive Singapore was. But recently, I have given up all hope of ever understanding. Taxi and hotel rates have gone up 80 per cent and 50 per cent respectively since 2005. An average meal at an average restaurant costs two to three times what I would pay back home.

I take a taxi to the office and back to the hotel every day. No two receipts are the same. Distances and extra charges are all different. Once, a taxi driver took me on a much longer route, although I complained about his choice of roads.

In one restaurant at Boat Quay, an expensive fish we did not order showed up on our table. The waiter argued that we had ordered it. In another restaurant, an item listed at $12 on the menu was charged at $56, causing us to argue again.

In a hotel I had booked at $228 per night, that turned out to be the cost of the first night. I was charged $380 the next night.

With such bad experiences, how could I return as a visitor or recommend Singapore to my friends?

Alp Kocaman
Texas, USA

title given was misleading ... shld hv been .. sg so unscrupulous, says regular visitor ... :p

silverfox@

Aug 1, 2008

S'pore so costly, says regular visitor

I AM writing as someone who travels to Singapore regularly on business.
I read somewhere that the number of visitors has dropped by more than 8 per cent compared to last year. Also that Singapore Airlines passenger traffic and revenue have declined. I am not surprised.

With such bad experiences, how could I return as a visitor or recommend Singapore to my friends?

Alp Kocaman
Texas, USA

title given was misleading ... shld hv been .. sg so unscrupulous, says regular visitor ... :p

Aiyo, I thought people like to say Singaporeans love to complain, how come this angmoh also like to complain??? :p

When I went Japan, Hong Kong, things, prices went up too. I really do think the author of that article think Singapore is like Malaysia, Thailand or Indonesia. But then again, even prices in Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia went up, though not as much. When I went to US, many things are relatively cheap. Due to their lousy USD. Time for the tables to turn. They still think their USD is in the range of $1.7+, Fat hope....

tate

sg so unscrupulous, says regular visitor ... :p

Think he has 2 part: first part is costly and second part is unscrupulous.
Darn right.

In one restaurant at Boat Quay, an expensive fish we did not order showed up on our table. The waiter argued that we had ordered it. In another restaurant, an item listed at $12 on the menu was charged at $56, causing us to argue again.

In a hotel I had booked at $228 per night, that turned out to be the cost of the first night. I was charged $380 the next night.

Looks like Singapore shops have been ripping off the ang moh. Hope they don't rip off the locals....:p

And the hotel, most cunning...:mad:

silverfox@

Think he has 2 part: first part is costly and second part is unscrupulous.
Darn right.

Looks like Singapore shops have been ripping off the ang moh. Hope they don't rip off the locals....:p

And the hotel, most cunning...:mad:

When I go their countries, they also rip me off. Part and parcel. If scared kenna rip, they should stay at home:p

silverfox@

I think that is what Alp Kocaman is doing exactly. The tourism board will not be happy.

As you can see, he is making a statement so that hoping there will be changes and then he will come back. When we go overseas, get ripped off, we still go too.

tate

As you can see, he is making a statement so that hoping there will be changes and then he will come back. When we go overseas, get ripped off, we still go too.

I guess the reason why he does so is that he knows the Singapore goverment is pro-FT.

Too bad the same cannot be said for other countries.

ANDYSIAO14

he only visits when he wants...
we been staying here and how we felt!??!

anyway...nice to see the visitor's humble opinion :p

Microsoft

An average meal at an average restaurant costs two to three times what I would pay back home.

I seriously dun think dis statement is true... unless he compare eating @ 4Season in SG to McDonald restaurant in US... Many of my oversea coll still quite eager 2 shop here whenever they cum... Agree prices had inflated these yrs esp lately... But dun tell me US no inflation?

An average meal at an average restaurant costs two to three times what I would pay back home.
I seriously dun think dis statement is true... unless he compare eating @ 4Season in SG to McDonald restaurant in US... Many of my oversea coll still quite eager 2 shop here whenever they cum... Agree prices had inflated these yrs esp lately... But dun tell me US no inflation?
he kena ketuk wat ... 2 him, a boat key rest. is n avg rest. ...

Big Sexy

Ms.... u see his name...'Alp Kocaman'...simi name is that????
He is probably from Mars..... maybe is Rc Prataman long lost brother???..:confused::biggrin:

Microsoft

he kena ketuk wat ... 2 him, a boat key rest. is n avg rest. ...

Hmm... maybe the price is no longer like last time when foreign spend like king here... Tat y he so sore bout it... :biggrin: KNN 2nd nite additional $152 tat 1 is 4 the siam kway 1 lah...:p

Ms.... u see his name...'Alp Kocaman'...simi name is that????
He is probably from Mars..... maybe is Rc Prataman long lost brother???..:confused::biggrin:

Cum 2 think of it hor... It sound like those name u will c in those nigerian scam email... :biggrin::biggrin:

Big Sexy

Dear Mr. Microsoft

REQUEST FOR URGENT BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP

FIRST, I MUST SOLICIT YOUR STRICTEST CONFIDENCE IN THIS TRANSACTION. THIS IS BY VIRTUE OF ITS NATURE AS BEING UTTERLY CONFIDENTIAL AND 'TOP SECRET'. I AM SURE AND HAVE CONFIDENCE OF YOUR ABILITY AND RELIABILITY TO PROSECUTE A TRANSACTION OF THIS GREAT MAGNITUDE INVOLVING A PENDING TRANSACTION REQUIRING MAXIIMUM CONFIDENCE.

WE ARE TOP OFFICIAL OF THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT CONTRACT REVIEW PANEL WHO ARE INTERESTED IN IMPORATION OF GOODS INTO OUR COUNTRY WITH FUNDS WHICH ARE PRESENTLY TRAPPED IN NIGERIA. IN ORDER TO COMMENCE THIS BUSINESS WE SOLICIT YOUR ASSISTANCE TO ENABLE US TRANSFER INTO YOUR ACCOUNT THE SAID TRAPPED FUNDS.

THE SOURCE OF THIS FUND IS AS FOLLOWS; DURING THE LAST MILITARY REGIME HERE IN NIGERIA, THE GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS SET UP COMPANIES AND AWARDED THEMSELVES CONTRACTS WHICH WERE GROSSLY OVER-INVOICED IN VARIOUS MINISTRIES. THE PRESENT CIVILIAN GOVERNMENT SET UP A CONTRACT REVIEW PANEL AND WE HAVE IDENTIFIED A LOT OF INFLATED CONTRACT FUNDS WHICH ARE PRESENTLY FLOATING IN THE CENTRAL BANK OF NIGERIA READY FOR PAYMENT.

HOWEVER, BY VIRTUE OF OUR POSITION AS CIVIL SERVANTS AND MEMBERS OF THIS PANEL, WE CANNOT ACQUIRE THIS MONEY IN OUR NAMES. I HAVE THEREFORE, BEEN DELEGATED AS A MATTER OF TRUST BY MY COLLEAGUES OF THE PANEL TO LOOK FOR AN OVERSEAS PARTNER INTO WHOSE ACCOUNT WE WOULD TRANSFER THE SUM OF US$21,320,000.00(TWENTY ONE MILLION, THREE HUNDRED AND TWENTY THOUSAND U.S DOLLARS). HENCE WE ARE WRITING YOU THIS LETTER. WE HAVE AGREED TO SHARE THE MONEY THUS; 1. 20% FOR THE ACCOUNT OWNER 2.70% FOR US (THE OFFICIALS) 3. 10% TO BE USED IN SETTLING TAXATION AND ALL LOCAL AND FOREIGN EXPENSES. IT IS FROM THE 70% THAT WE WISH TO COMMENCE THE IMPORTATION BUSINESS.

PLEASE,NOTE THAT THIS TRANSACTION IS 100% SAFE AND WE HOPE TO COMMENCE THE TRANSFER LATEST SEVEN (7) BANKING DAYS FROM THE DATE OF THE RECEIPT OF THE FOLLOWING INFORMATIOM BY TEL/FAX; 234-1-7740449, YOUR COMPANY'S SIGNED, AND STAMPED LETTERHEAD PAPER THE ABOVE INFORMATION WILL ENABLE US WRITE LETTERS OF CLAIM AND JOB DESCRIPTION RESPECTIVELY. THIS WAY WE WILL USE YOUR COMPANY'S NAME TO APPLY FOR PAYMENT AND RE-AWARD THE CONTRACT IN YOUR COMPANY'S NAME.

WE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO DOING THIS BUSINESS WITH YOU AND SOLICIT YOUR CONFIDENTIALITY IN THIS TRANSATION. PLEASE ACKNOWLEDGE THE RECEIPT OF THIS LETTER USING THE ABOVE TEL/FAX NUMBERS. I WILL SEND YOU DETAILED INFORMATION OF THIS PENDING PROJECT WHEN I HAVE HEARD FROM YOU.

YOURS FAITHFULLY,
DR Roti Prataman

NOTE; PLEASE QUOTE THIS REFERENCE NUMBER (VE/S/09/99) IN ALL YOUR RESPONSES.

Cum 2 think of it hor... It sound like those name u will c in those nigerian scam email...

zai_si

Maybe its from the insider... STB... want monkey but only give peanut... Ask him to try other country down south... sure cut his throat & balls drop...

shOUTloud

Singapore has never been cheap but he was seriously being cheated if what he claimed was correct. He should go and eat at MacDonald's or food court. Difficult to chop him there.

Soundwave

Singapore has never been cheap but he was seriously being cheated if what he claimed was correct. He should go and eat at MacDonald's or food court. Difficult to chop him there.

Funny how he never metioned the name of the places that he got chopped.

twinseeker

Even the expats & visitors can feel the pinch for their occassional visits here. We as locals should already be coughing blood.