• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

“How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>UncleFond <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Jun-22 11:10 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (3 of 4) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>34993.3 in reply to 34993.2 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>
20100622.114600_210610_savingsrotatorv7.jpg

SINGAPORE - Can a secondary school student survive on $6 a day?
A parent posted in a local forum that her daughter, who is in secondary one, usually eats both breakfast and lunch in school. She gives her daughter an allowance of $6 a day, not including transport expenses.
But her daughter told her it's not enough, prompting this mother to ask netizens in a forum how much allowance a secondary school student should get.
Lianhe Wanbao interviewed both parents and students about their views.
Parents: More than enough
51-year-old assistant teacher, Madam Huang, who has a daughter in Secondary four, said that a meal at the school would not cost more than $3.
45-year-old Madam Tan, who has a 15 year-old son, said, "He does not need to pay for his bills or transportation fees, and there is nothing to buy in school. $6 ought to be enough for his daily expenses."
47-year-old babysitter, Madam Tan, said that her own meals each day do not amount to $6, much less those at the school canteens.
There were also parents who pointed out that students at such a young age do not know how to handle their finances and would readily spend every single cent regardless of the amount they were given.
Therefore, it's better to give enough or less, rather than spoil them.
On the other hand, most of the students interviewed said that $6 was not enough, and that they would need a minimum of $10 to make it through the day.
"A fast food meal alone costs $6, sometimes I would buy some accessories as well, so $10 is just enough," secondary five student, Su Ling Hui said.
Zhang Zong Hui, a secondary three student felt her daily allowance of $7 was not enough, saying that she "starved for days just to buy a top that costs $20."
Another student, Guo Jing Er, secondary two, claimed that a few cosmetic products would already cost $100, therefore a daily allowance of $6 was not enough.
However, a secondary four student by the name of Huang Xi Ting, begged to differ.
She said that her allowance is only $4 a day. She drinks plain water in school and spends $3 a day on two meals. She saves the remaining dollar to get the things that she wants.
Group Managing Director of APT Financial Solutions, Mr Jerry Lee, 50, told Wanbao that he gives his son only $1.50 a day.
Mr Lee says that teenagers of that age do not know how to manage money, so the more money they get, the more they will waste, and in the process, they learn to be overly extravagant.
He knows that a meal at his son's school costs $1.50, so that is all he needs.
Viva : “How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food
court or restaurant?”
<TABLE border=0 width=440 align=center><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=center align=middle></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<HR SIZE=1>Edited 6/23/2010 2:14 am ET by UncleFond
<HR SIZE=1>Edited 6/23/2010 6:47 am ET by UncleFond</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Watchman

If you give your daughter $6.00 everyday .

Don't blame your daughter if one day she is caught whoring !

Watchman

51-year-old assistant teacher, Madam Huang, who has a daughter in Secondary four, said that a meal at the school would not cost more than $3.

What is a assistant teacher ? You mean handicapped teachers are given a assistant each ?

1sickpuppy II

LOL I still remember during my high school days in the 70s 1 day $1. Save $ by walking to school instead of bus and only drink tap water instead of buying syrup water. Back then the water was much safer instead of now a days shit water :smile:

manokie

This is an example of PAP's policy failure

There are no substantial local farms, no local food supply and when you buy everything from outside, you are exposed to price hikes all the time.

The hawkers get screwed when ingredients price go up and pass down the cost to the helpless consumers.

PAP should use their billions from Temasek to subsidize the food costs. You cannot leave everything to the market. It is so irresponsible.

Equalisation

LOL I still remember during my high school days in the 70s 1 day $1. Save $ by walking to school instead of bus and only drink tap water instead of buying syrup water. Back then the water was much safer instead of now a days shit water :smile:

Wah piang oi !! 1 day $1 oso kpkb !! I get 25 cents only ah !!:(

peterlth

Wah piang oi !! 1 day $1 oso kpkb !! I get 25 cents only ah !!:(

I got 2 dollars for a week. 40 cents a day. I spend 20 cents on ikan bilis rice and drink from the water cooler. Every Friday I will indulge on a cup of rose syrup water that cost 10 cents, but I will ask for no ice so that I get more water.

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
last tum i always packed bread for breakfast n home cooked food for lunch with a bottle of water only.

nickers9

This is an example of PAP's policy failure

There are no substantial local farms, no local food supply and when you buy everything from outside, you are exposed to price hikes all the time.

The hawkers get screwed when ingredients price go up and pass down the cost to the helpless consumers.

PAP should use their billions from Temasek to subsidize the food costs. You cannot leave everything to the market. It is so irresponsible.

1-3.jpg

I have no time and excess money for all these what pocket funds for school children stuff.

All my time and money are invested in growing butterflies in Orchard Rd.

Get it Sinkies ah!!!

$6 should be enough. Give too much money they will buy lastes handphone top on the list.

Agoraphobic

At my kid's junior school in Canada, there isn't a cafeteria.

They are NOT ENCOURAGED TO BRING MONEY TO SCHOOL. My wife and I fully agree with this concept.

There is enough commercialism outside home and school. Between parents and teachers, education should include thrift, and self-reliance - like making your own sandwiches and eating fruits.

manokie

Many schools in USA have free nutrition meals for children in school. If not free, it is very cheap like <$0.5 per meal including food and drink for impoverished kids.

It is based on the belief that every kid should have sufficient nutrition to grow up to become healthy and smart adults.

Sinkie kids eat shit imported from Malaysia and all those oily food every day.
Just 1 simple example: They eat fish fillet in US, Sinkies eat fishball. HAHHAHA

http://www.fns.usda.gov/cnd/lunch/

Of course, that is because US has lots of food supply. But ask yourself, the billions earned from Temasek, Stat Boards.. Shouldn't some money go into the providence of nutritious food for our Sinkie descendants?

Talking Donkey

Alfrescian (S)

Sick Puppy, lucky you still can have $1 a day, in the 70s me only 10cts a day.walk 1mile to school..before reaching school my 10cts all lost at tikam tikam shop..poor me,during recesss i have to beg for food waiting for leftover food from kind classmate who cant finish at times help the tuckshop stallholder to collect plates so they can give me free makan,as for drinks,i always on the lookout for leftover bottle drinks...my body was so full of worms that i can feel them wriggling....most of my rich classmates also bought those daily diary milk or vitagen sold by the school in classroom...really lucky you sick puppy..poor me:p

aangsc

Excuse me , are we talking about using allowance to fulfill 'wish list' or 'need list' ? Are allowance meant for their meals or to fulfill their wish list. Look at the answers from these spoil brats; fast food; comestic (for school ?) , top ( doesn't he/she wear school uniform; you mean they go topless ?) . Maybe we should also review 'Is your monthly wage enough ?' . I wish I can tell that to my boss too. Hey this meagre pay of mine is not enough for my family bi-annual holidays in mediterranean, fyi we need to stay in at least 4 stars accommodation. BTW, also not enough to promote family cohesion in weekly restaurants, plus father day, mother day, grandparent day, national day, family day, valentine day, youth day, children day, birthdayssss etc. Not enough to watch World cup at home blah blah blah.
I think the school should start a meals credit cards for student , whenever they go hungry , they can charge to the card to pay for meals. Only meals and not stationeries (wait till you see what they sell in school ). Parent can see the monthly statement and adjust the limit accordingly.

aangsc

Many schools in USA have free nutrition meals for children in school. If not free, it is very cheap like <$0.5 per meal including food and drink for impoverished kids.

It is based on the belief that every kid should have sufficient nutrition to grow up to become healthy and smart adults.

Sinkie kids eat shit imported from Malaysia and all those oily food every day.
Just 1 simple example: They eat fish fillet in US, Sinkies eat fishball. HAHHAHA

http://www.fns.usda.gov/cnd/lunch/

Of course, that is because US has lots of food supply. But ask yourself, the billions earned from Temasek, Stat Boards.. Shouldn't some money go into the providence of nutritious food for our Sinkie descendants?
Free food in Singapore ? Wake up man. Nothing is free here . NOTHING ! Billions earned from Stat and Tema & GLC all go to Elite-community chest to supplement ever-lusting needs to pamper their FAT wallet.

Baroko

In my days I get 30cts a day. 20cts is for busfare. 10cts for tuckshop. Not enough to buy even a drink. Bottled water not invented yet.