• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HK investor sue DBS!

2lanu

HK investors are sueing DBS for mispresenting the bonds to the elderly members who do not understand it. Help your elderly family members to do justice !

Tuesday September 23, 10:48 PM

Hong Kong investors may sue sellers of Lehman-backed bonds
Hong Kong investors who bought complex financial products backed by collapsed US investment bank Lehman Brothers were considering suing the institutions who sold them, a lawmaker said Tuesday.

Investors argued the banks who sold the instruments guaranteed by the failed Wall Street titan did not fully explain the high risks associated with the products.

"The investors are considering mounting legal action against the banks for misrepresentation," Albert Ho, chairman of the Democratic Party and a lawyer, told AFP.

Many of the investors, who paid a total of 12.7 billion Hong Kong dollars (1.63 billion US), had been sold mini-bonds, which are based on derivatives linked to major firms' stocks but are worthless if the guarantor goes bankrupt.

"These products used to be sold by only investment banks to clients who had at least 1 million US dollars," said Ho.

"But a few years ago, commercial banks wanted to snatch a piece of the pie and started to convince their elderly customers to buy the mini-bonds without explaining to them the risks involved," he said.

Ho said investors will meet the city's Consumer Council on Thursday to see if they can get legal and financial assistance to try and recoup their losses.

Ho said many of the bond holders were retired and had put all their savings into the investment because they trusted their banks.

Some 800 people attended a meeting held Monday night with investors, Ho said. Some of them protested on Sunday to urge the government to provide assistance.

The Securities and Futures Commission said they had received 155 complaints from investors by Tuesday noon, most of which related to alleged mis-selling by banks.

"We are pursuing the complaints vigorously. For those complaints related to alleged mis-selling by banks, we have referred them to the Hong Kong Monetary Authority for further action," a spokesman for the commission told AFP.

The Monetary Authority said it had received 54 written complaints from mini-bond holders and it had also opened a hotline for investors' enquiries.

The Consumer Council said it had received a few enquiries from the investors and would consider their application for its legal assistance fund, a spokeswoman for the council said.

Lehman Brothers collapsed last week under the strain of the US subprime, or high-risk, mortgage crisis, sparking turmoil on financial markets across the world.

i hope DBS lost the case and 1 up for hong kong. Sinkie sellers deserved to be screwed.

theblackhole

damned jialat.every time something lost,suffering singaporeans will have to foot the bill! damned!

oli9

And I thought that BONDS is one of the safest financial instruments albeit the lower returns.

theblackhole

Win money no reward.
Lose money want to sue.

not lidat lah...when elderly folks and retirees are hook-winked and persuaded to invest in a sure win fund or bond or what not...this is cheating openly. these poor folks are ignorant and when they see well-dressed and soft-spoken ladies talking so sweetly to them, they're easily taken in!!!

i go to the bank and i see queues for bank services while these sales people are wondering around doing nothing but sweet talking to potential customers...the bank services are horrible!!! they're only interested to get hold of your money and cash!!! shithole man!!!

Z

Zombie

only greed can persuade a person that it is sure-win

i would say many of these elderly/retirees would have asked their children for advice

the children took the choice, but when there is a problem, they push their old folks out to protest

WOOHOO

only greed can persuade a person that it is sure-win

i would say many of these elderly/retirees would have asked their children for advice

the children took the choice, but when there is a problem, they push their old folks out to protest

actually there's no difference between hk and sg culture!! Both works the same way

pia

And I thought that BONDS is one of the safest financial instruments albeit the lower returns.

That's why the "misrepresentation issue. They were fooled into thinking these were low-risk investments.

this is the same dbs in hong kong which destroyed a batch of safes which they tot is empty.. turn out still got customer's valuables inside..:biggrin:

really DumBasS..:biggrin:

Z

Zombie

That's why the "misrepresentation issue. They were fooled into thinking these were low-risk investments.

Low-risk can mean either
a) there is 30% chance of losing 0.5% of your capital, or
b) there is 0.0001% chance of losing 100% of your capital

When (b) happens, that need not be misrep.

pia

Low-risk can mean either
a) there is 30% chance of losing 0.5% of your capital, or
b) there is 0.0001% chance of losing 100% of your capital

When (b) happens, that need not be misrep.

True, I think the case against the banks is not strong. All they need to say is "it's in the fine print". Onus is on buyers to know what they are buying.

Whatever misrepresentation by the selling agent can't be proven, as it is mostly verbal. The agents, not just there but here in s'pore, probably told the old folks their principals are protected.

pia

Commissions/Fees and Rewards are two different things.

Well, it's definitely not a penalty and they're definitely not doing a free public service. And if I'm not wrong, they do partake in rewards if the instrument is performing.

Z

Zombie

True, I think the case against the banks is not strong. All they need to say is "it's in the fine print". Onus is on buyers to know what they are buying.

Whatever misrepresentation by the selling agent can't be proven, as it is mostly verbal. The agents, not just there but here in s'pore, probably told the old folks their principals are protected.

This is not buying durian.
Even so, Bao Chiak one does not mean you can always bring back the lousy ones that you have chosen yourself, and complain for refund.