Still unable to secure employment after 3 months.....

There is all ways Teksi driving oh solly no more hor. Driver lose money, teksi company all so lose money. :eek:
Driverless cabs are already here; a full rollout will put an end to the alternative blue collar employment option for retrenched university grads.

So long? Should be far more easy in the past given lesser competition from foreigners and CECAs
Don't forget that I am referring to fresh general degree holders in the 1990s. SG had a far smaller population, so employers also required less headcount.

I know of one fucker who graduated in 1997 with a science degree, but hasn't found a job since. Everyday, he just sits in front of the computer to do his own trading. In the evenings, he will drive Grab from 5pm to midnight. But he can get by comfortably every month all these years.
Isn't it nice ?
Trading and drive grab

3 months is nothing. I know a couple of guys who have not been able to find regular job after 1 year of searching. You may laugh and think they are clowns, but wait till you experience this tough market for yourself.
In Sindiapore, 3 years still not employed then it is an issue

Getting a job is easy la. The issue is getting the right job.

Knn you mean one can't easily find a Grab food delivery job? Can! But you can tahan the constant daily burn and the shaming from your friends and relatives?

Getting a job is easy la. The issue is getting the right job. Knn you mean one can't easily find a Grab food delivery job? Can! But you can tahan the constant daily burn and the shaming from your friends and relatives?
The PAP loves to publish data concerning the relatively low unemployment in SG, but any fool knows that a laid off PME is not going to lie flat at home with bills to pay. He will literally grab any available job tp tide him over whether it is a cabby, PHV driver, security guard, deliveryman, McDonalds crew, MLM salesman, waiter etc.

Young local grads who spend too long driving PHVs will soon find themselves with no marketable skills and become unemployable like PME degree holders who get laid off in their 50s.
Sad right? Sch don’t teach students how to stay employable or be hungry because well, in schs our teachers are lecturers and professors who mainly just have a stable academic tenure and teach academic knowledge because they are so busy doing research and publishing journals

It’s very hard to speak to people who are regulars or in some kind of public sector job because they are sheltered from economic changes like my friend was retrenched and another friend who is a police officer finds it hard to understand why this friend can’t get a job outside after 2 mths. Out of touch is the word to use.

The PAP loves to publish data concerning the relatively low unemployment in SG, but any fool knows that a laid off PME is not going to lie flat at home with bills to pay. He will literally grab any available job tp tide him over whether it is a cabby, PHV driver, security guard, deliveryman, McDonalds crew, MLM salesman, waiter etc.
The yearly graduate employment survey includes data where graduates are asked whether they are employed or not. We receive calls to do this employment survey about 3 mths after we have graduates. The questions includes employment for contract and part time jobs.

They don’t put or classify whether fresh graduates are working in relevant industry, permanent, contract or ad hoc roles

Sad right? Sch don’t teach students how to stay employable or be hungry because well, in schs our teachers are lecturers and professors who mainly just have a stable academic tenure. It’s very hard to speak to people who are regulars or in some kind of public sector job because they are sheltered from economic changes like my friend was retrenched and another friend who is a police officer finds it hard to understand why this friend can’t get a job outside after 2 mths. Out of touch is the word to use.
I know a couple in their early 60s who have been working in the same civil service jobs since graduating from NUS. They objected to their daughter wanting to marry her BF because he is a financial advisor/insurance agent i.e. does not have a stable income. That is the way people with an iron rice bowl think.

The yearly graduate employment survey includes data where graduates are asked whether they are employed or not. We receive calls to do this employment survey about 3 mths after we have graduates. The questions includes employment for contract and part time jobs. They don’t put or classify whether fresh graduates are working in relevant industry, permanent, contract or ad hoc roles
The PAP has no clue how to help our local fresh grads find gainful employment. Manpower Minister Tan See Leng advised unemployed S'poreans to "stay calm" and maintain an open mind about job opportunities. It shows that paying this good-for-nothing clueless politician more than $1 million per annum is a total waste of taxpayers' money!

I know a couple in their early 60s who have been working in the same civil service jobs since graduating from NUS. They objected to their daughter wanting to marry her BF because he is a financial advisor/insurance agent i.e. does not have a stable income. That is the way people with an iron rice bowl think.
For all they know, the BF is a future top agent. Say the girl leaves this guy and meets another guy is a doctor and gd choice until they get married, it’s unfortunate he has cancer and they have young kids

The sole bread winner is the girl herself and suddenly the ex BF agent who is fit and healthy is now a top sales agent.

Or the doctor husband is so busy at work and spends more time with nurses and is a big womaniser. On the surface look like a blissful marriage with successful and responsible husband, deep down only the girl knows and don’t even dare to tell her parents cos married Liao mah, how can tell parents so much?

You can’t take their mindset away. If the girl want to be with the financial planner and both very in love shouldn’t marriage be about this and both work together

For all they know, the BF is a future top agent. Say the girl leaves this guy and meets another guy is a doctor and gd choice until they get married, it’s unfortunate he has cancer and they have young kids The sole bread winner is the girl herself and suddenly the ex BF agent who is fit and healthy is now a top sales agent. Or the doctor husband is so busy at work and spends more time with nurses and is a big womaniser. On the surface look like a blissful marriage with successful and responsible husband, deep down only the girl knows and don’t even dare to tell her parents cos married Liao mah, how can tell parents so much? You can’t take their mindset away. If the girl want to be with the financial planner and both very in love shouldn’t marriage be about this and both work together
The financial planner BF earns enough to own a car, so he is doing better than most doctors his age i.e. 30.

Maybe pull the girl in and she will also become a successful financial planner herself too and both BF and her can plan for a gd wedding of their own

Many doctors come from well to do background like this spoilt brat trainee surgeon Dr Ryan Cho who was caught in Melbourne Hospitals taking thousands of toilet videos of staff and patients alike and still have his daddy and mummy to mollycoddle him

https://amp.scmp.com/news/asia/aust...etly-recording-460-women-australian-hospitals

I know of one fucker who graduated in 1997 with a science degree, but hasn't found a job since. Everyday, he just sits in front of the computer to do his own trading. In the evenings, he will drive Grab from 5pm to midnight. But he can get by comfortably every month all these years.

this guy happen to also collect bronze antiques ? :roflmao:

They are always recruiting.

https://careers.mcdonalds.com.sg/

yHDleDN.png

FUTURE ** FLEXIBILITY ** FAMILY