How much money does a worker need to retire in super expensive S'pore?

2000 bucks a month lah.................

for me even 1000 bucks also more than enough liao..................just makan normal food.................then stay home watch porn or youtube can liao........... :biggrin:
Thank u for clarifying.

2000 bucks a month lah.................for me even 1000 bucks also more than enough liao..................just makan normal food.................then stay home watch porn or youtube can liao...........
It wasn't clearly stated by rocket in his initial post, but he has since confirmed that it is surviving on a budget of $2,000 per month. As rocket stated, it is enough if there is no more housing loan to service and dependents to support.

unless wanna go on tours to far away places or eat high-end food...............2000 a month is plenty liao............

This is how I would calculate if I have enough money to retire:

1. Life expectancy for male S'porean is 83 years
2. Current age 54 years for example
3. Savings and investments must last 29 years
4. Current savings and investments divided by 29 years
5. You get your budget for each year (taking into account inflation)
Make sure your budget including forever increasing and expensive premium of Medishield Life

On the average. To maintain a comfortable lifestyle in sg is sgd $2k per person with house fully paid. Be it hdb or private. Children all independent.
My current situation is what you said. But lifestyle already $3k per month with only restaurant meal on weekend, car expenses & shopping for good quality stuff. Maybe will need $4k -$5k down 10 to 20 years to maintain same lifestyle. But buzzing off to Thailand first, not going to pay for another ridiculous COE or inflated food & medical prices.

That is not enough to buy and maintain a car in S'pore.
Autonomous vehicles are the future. WEF already decided. Car ownership will be scrapped soon.
So there is no need for car maintenance unless you are one of the billionaires in the world

You may refer to China if you have no clue how fast they are moving towards SMART city infrastructure

that’s about $69 a day, which is sexactly my daily budget.

On the average. To maintain a comfortable lifestyle in sg is sgd $2k per person with house fully paid. Be it hdb or private. Children all independent.
Thank you for pointing out the keyword "per person".

Many people simply forgot about this when discussing about "how much, on average, is leequired" to leetire in sg.

For eg, when one of my ex old fart colleague, who had $0 savings,and into debt of $30k range , reached 55, and had about $700k in his cpf.
After setting aside the cpf min sum, he had a good $500k on hand and was feeling Verlee rich.
But he forgot that he has a wifey who had never work for her entire life.
So I told him, you only have about $250k, and in fact lesser, becos he still need to pay for his children education.
Even after I leeminded him about it, he didn't seemed to agree with what I have told him.
In his mind, he doesn't count his wife expenses into his financial status.

Lying flat at home is the only option for retirees w/o much money since everything is expensive in S'pore.
My limited time on earth after retiring. Gonna travel extensively, eat as much gourmet food to feed the soul, enjoy the wonder of nature & awesome sights before saying goodbye.