• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chiam was forced out of SDP, says his wife

Char_Azn

OPPOSITION Member of Parliament for Potong Pasir Chiam See Tong had been forced out of his previous party, the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), and had not insisted on quitting, his wife told Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao.

Mrs Lina Chiam, 61, contacted the daily in response to its report last month citing SDP secretary- general Chee Soon Juan's version of events in 1993, which she called "half of the truth".

At the SDP's 30th-anniversary celebration, Dr Chee, 48, said that he tried to persuade Mr Chiam not to resign as the SDP's secretary-general, but Mr Chiam was bent on quitting.

Click here to find out more!
Mrs Chiam conceded, in an interview published in Lianhe Zaobao yesterday, that the SDP's central committee had asked Mr Chiam not to resign.

But it eventually convened a disciplinary hearing and forced him to leave the party, she said.

If Dr Chee had really wanted Mr Chiam to stay, he could have voted against sacking Mr Chiam, or declined to become secretary-general, Mrs Chiam said.

She said that she was setting the record straight so the younger generation would know that Mr Chiam, 75, now the Singapore People's Party's secretary- general, did not betray the SDP and was pained to leave it.

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100329-207321.html

Taishi Ci

So many dogs starting the same threads. But come to flame wars, cloning, none can match an anti FAP forummer like me. Instead these FAP dogs will happily conclude that i am clone of GMS / NgEjay since they can't win. :biggrin: Actually they should start more SDP / NgEjay smear threads and see whether the OA gives a hoot or not. :biggrin:

Char_Azn

hello PAP supporter.

how r u?

Are U going to call me that till it sticks? :oIo::oIo:

I just got back from Paris last week. Visit 2 other countries closer to home in the next 2 weeks. U'll be seeing a lot less of me these coming few weeks so better make your post count when U see me :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Are U going to call me that till it sticks? :oIo::oIo:

I just got back from Paris last week. Visit 2 other countries closer to home in the next 2 weeks. U'll be seeing a lot less of me these coming few weeks so better make your post count when U see me :rolleyes::rolleyes:

so angry?

:oIo::oIo: fuck you !!:oIo:

ever since u deny to be a PAP supporter, i have been quietly observing your posts. u always give snide but not so obvious remarks against the APs. it seems like u cannot tahan n gotta say it loud n clear now. PAP dog your tail is showing.

is this true that the audi party boot out their most sucessful member?
this is shocking. or these are lies created by PAP?

saratogas

Mr Chiam kena "forced out" of SDP... everyone know this story but what he did to kena "a disciplinary hearing" that one I don't know.

Char_Azn

Mr Chiam kena "forced out" of SDP... everyone know this story but what he did to kena "a disciplinary hearing" that one I don't know.

Yeah the Disciplinary hearing part is news to me too. SDP have fallen way too much after Chiam's departure

Char_Azn

good potshot.:cool:

expert in 'shoot cold arrow'. steady huh.

Instead of taking poshots at me yourself, U might want to discuss on the topic. This isn't the first time I've commented on the topic of Chee, SDP and Chiam leaving the party and if U've bothered to do a search or actually read anything I've actually posted, I've been saying the same thing all this time. SDP is many times worse off after Chiam left the party.

Sideswipe

SDP is many times worse off after Chiam left the party.

and Chiam kept and won his MP seat all this years after leaving SDP.

not saying this is what happened but most peasants believe SDP kicked Chiam out and not Chiam betray SDP.
don't know Mr or Mrs Chiam hear from where that's a need to clarify again.

As an ordinary Singaporean, what I want is the opposition to work towards making a better life for ordinary singaporeans, especially the poor and needy.
I'm really not interested in personal bickering among members of the opposition parties, especially if it relates to events that happened many years ago.
There are politicians who pay themselves huge salaries and then come out one after another to justify the policy or politicians who make motherhood statements or condescending comments to justify the policies which are unpopular among the masses.
The similarity in all these types of behaviour is that these are out of self interest and not for the benefit of the ordinary people.

elephanto

Actually if you all read the ZaoBao interview carefully remember the following info surfaced:-

(1) Since Chiam See Thong left SDP, the 1st time he met Dr Chee face-to-face is at Reform Party Dinner 2nd anniv dinner last year.

Mrs Chiam claimed Chee offered to shake hand first, after a slight hesitation, Chiam ST shook hand with Chee, 1st time since 1993, becos Chiam felt "Opposition must put diff aside & unite as far as possible."

(2) SDP 25th Anniv Dinner, Chee thru friend sms invite to Chiam. But given the bad blood & how he left the party, Chiam decided not to go.
Correct decision - IMHO.

(3) As part of report on the SDP 25th Anniv, ZaoBao interviewed Chee. Then Chee 'keh-kiang' reiterated that he is not the one who want Chiam out, in fact tried to persuade Chiam to stay - trying to refute the long time myth that Chee kicked Chiam out of SDP.

(4) Lina Chiam called for this ZaoBao interview becos she felt Chee told 'half the story'. According to her, if Chee really sincere in wishing to retain Chiam, he should not (1) hv accepted to be ag Sec-Gen (2) agreeing with the other CEC members votes to censure & sack Chiam. The only one who stood firm for Chiam against the sack is one-time TeckGhee candidate Ms Tok, then a CEC member also.

(5) To back her veracity, Lina Chiam also involved Sim KekTong in the interivew. Sim, the 'most loyal Chiam supporter' in SDP, tried to mediate but was blocked from entering discussion room by a big-sized bouncer like guy - installed by Wong Hong Toy. This tid-bit bemused me ...:biggrin:
Sim, then help set up Spore People's Party (SPP) for Chiam to cross over in the 97 elections.

All in all, this much is clear:-

For history's sake, the SDP anti-Chiam core members are Chairman Wong Hong Toy & CEC SDP MPs Ling How Doong & Cheo Chai Chen.
Wong, Ling & Cheo.

Chee, did what he did given the timing & opportunity. An accomplice - how culpable in the betrayal of Chiam - you draw your own conclusions.

To conclude, refer to Chiam's ardent wish for Opp Unity wherever possible - let bygones be bygones, so much to do & so much at stake ....

Lina Chiam objective achieved: She want history to record that Chiam was forced out of SDP, he did not betray the party he formed.

G

General Veers

I find it funny that you guys like to quote from this source, that sauce.. whatever it is all local news from the main stream media are under control by the FAP / Lee Dynasty. Their objective is to show the ugliness of opposition parties and our neighbour malaysia while hiding their own ugliness. :biggrin:

U

UpYoz_olo

so angry?

:oIo::oIo: fuck you !!:oIo:

ever since u deny to be a PAP supporter, i have been quietly observing your posts. u always give snide but not so obvious remarks against the APs. it seems like u cannot tahan n gotta say it loud n clear now. PAP dog your tail is showing.

Fuck your mother lau CB, you chow monyet!!!! Ur loser, so go suck my banana.

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

G

General Veers

so angry?

Shall i kick his ass on your behalf? But tomorrow morning you'll be kicking the ass of UpYoz_olo :biggrin:

Unrepented

Bro, I fully agree with your comment and I have the same sentiments. Joined this forum for some alternative news and rant.

But too much cloak and dagger in this forum...clones, socket puppets, checking of ips ets......not for the the ordinary singaporean like me to participate.Sometimes, I question the real membership in this forum.

Rather leave the clones to masturbate (popular term here), and screw each other's behind on their pretext of "for the good of the country".

If all this is a reflection of alternatives, I am tempted to spoil my vote if I disagree with the current policies. I'd rather remain politically ignorant and work my way through both popular and unpopular policies to find a better future for my family.

By the way, the finesse in execution in the propaganda department is wanting. Trying to be a voice for silent sinkie on real issues, but is a backlash due to the thoughless form and mode of delivery. Ask the journalist to take singlish lessons. Real heartlander issues trivalised by thoughless ill attempts.

I'll end here, pointless really....

Take care and good health

As an ordinary Singaporean, what I want is the opposition to work towards making a better life for ordinary singaporeans, especially the poor and needy.
I'm really not interested in personal bickering among members of the opposition parties, especially if it relates to events that happened many years ago.
There are politicians who pay themselves huge salaries and then come out one after another to justify the policy or politicians who make motherhood statements or condescending comments to justify the policies which are unpopular among the masses.
The similarity in all these types of behaviour is that these are out of self interest and not for the benefit of the ordinary people.

I find it funny that you guys like to quote from this source, that sauce.. whatever it is all local news from the main stream media are under control by the FAP / Lee Dynasty. Their objective is to show the ugliness of opposition parties and our neighbour malaysia while hiding their own ugliness. :biggrin:

This is the best post of the thread. zaopao's aim is double edge. for Chee supporters to hate Chiam, and Chiam supporters to hate Chee.
Then notice who is reposting this wholesale without offering any critiques or comments, then act virgin like Ris Low.

yellow people

This is the best post of the thread. zaopao's aim is double edge. for Chee supporters to hate Chiam, and Chiam supporters to hate Chee.
Then notice who is reposting this wholesale without offering any critiques or comments, then act virgin like Ris Low.

Good. Now that you have pointed this out. FAP is sowing discord among opposition parties. I will scan this forum and kick asses of those who posted this article to punish these FAP dogs. :biggrin: