• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

100 resumes to companies but has remained unemployed for four years!

cooleo

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>100 resumes sent, zero reply

</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
a24-1.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Mr Lim worked as a security officer for a while but had to quit due to the long hours, as he has to take care of his grandma. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->
Mr Lim Chin Choon, 35

Secondary 2 qualifications
He has sent out about 100 resumes to companies but has remained unemployed for four years.
He had previously done data entry in a firm which folded.
'I've sent out many resumes but the companies don't even reply. I even went for a course to be a security officer and passed it,' he said.
He did work as a security officer for a while, but quit because of the long hours.
'I live with my grandmother who is in her 90s, and I have to look after her, so I cannot be working too late at night,' said Mr Lim, who is single.
His tight financial situation is cause for worry. His parents give him $10 at a time for necessities.
'I think the main things that employers look at when you go for interviews are your age and education level,' he said.
'I am willing to learn and work hard, but employers tell me they are looking for someone younger and with better qualifications.'
He said he has gone to the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports as well as the Employment and Employability Institute for help.

PAPpies say job market improving....u believe?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>No light yet at end of this tunnel

</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
a24-3.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Mr Lee has been out of work for almost a year. 'People say the market is picking up but I am not feeling it so far,' he says. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->
Mr Andy Lee, 34

Engineering degree from University of Wolverhampton
He has been out of work since November last year.
'I was retrenched from my engineering position when my company suffered during the downturn,' said Mr Lee, who got a three-month retrenchment package.
He is married to an administrative assistant and they have two children aged four and six.
'I send out a few resumes every week and even though I'm fine with taking a pay cut, it's still difficult to find work,' he said.
He has gone for only three job interviews since he was retrenched.
'People say the market is picking up but I am not feeling it so far,' said Mr Lee, who has managed to get some temporary work by helping his uncle run a canteen.
He added that he has some peers in his age group who are experiencing a similar situation.
He noted that this is the longest period of unemployment for him after graduation.
'I'm worried that the older you get, the less easy it is to get jobs. Maybe with many youngsters in the market, what we demand in terms of pay is difficult to fulfil,' he said.

Ok maybe the earlier chap didn't even have O levels so damn jialat. So i offer one more sample!

He looks like a typical useless sinkie that the PAP want to get rid of as soon as possible.

I bet you must be speaking from your own experience, seeing that you have to whine off in White Man Land - New Zealand/Australia!

Ok maybe the earlier chap didn't even have O levels so damn jialat. So i offer one more sample!

More pitiful and deserving of assistance (to find a job, that is). But where is the University of Wolverhampton?

So do you have any samples that are from NUS, NTU, SMU who are jobless for an extended period of time?

Based on what they claim this society to be based on "meritocracy", this is not really solid evidence for saying the gahmen hasn't taken care of its citizens.

So do you have any samples that are from NUS, NTU, SMU who are jobless for an extended period of time?

Based on what they claim this society to be based on "meritocracy", this is not really solid evidence for saying the gahmen hasn't taken care of its citizens.

U want sample from NUS grad? Ok...here you go :D

4,300 applications ... and still no job
Is it my race? Is it my gender? Or is it my arts degree?

Today
August 2, 2005

By Leena Sathiya
28, Jobless Graduate

SINCE April last year, I have sent out about 4,300 applications for a variety of jobs. I have received 17 responses.

I am an arts and social sciences graduate of the National University of Singapore. It has been 13 months since I have held a job, permanent or temporary, and it is not for lack of trying.

Apart from the 4,300 applications I have sent out, I have also registered with online job portals, recruitment agencies and bodies such as the Ministry of Manpower and the Workforce Development Agency.

Knowing that there is no such thing as a free lunch, I have kept my options open and am even prepared to take up contract or temporary positions.

I have also been realistic about remuneration, job location, benefits, etc. Yet, I have not been offered a single position.

Yes, I have been to some interviews and taken psychometric tests. But each time, I received letters of rejection, all of which seem to be to be worded the same way.

They say, for example: "We are impressed by your excellent credentials and academic qualifications but regret to inform you that we are unable to proceed further with your interest at this time."

They sometimes promise to contact me within six months should something "become available", but they never do.

And it is not as though I have no work experience. I worked for more than two years as a marketing executive at a training consultancy, a job I managed to get through family contacts.

As it was a small company, I learned to multi-task: I oversaw training logistics and administration as well as marketing training programmes such as workshops, seminars and outdoor events. I also met clients, gave presentations and evaluated trainers, among other responsibilities.

However, in late 2003, I was retrenched.

Since then, my husband and I have been living on his income and whatever I make from offering tuition.

Initially, I was not upset with the rejections; I had consoled myself that this was normal in a tough job market.

But of late, amid reports of dropping unemployment and an economic turnaround, my worry is growing.

I have considered taking up courses to acquire more marketable skills � but I need a steady income first to pay back my university loan.

I have told potential employers I am prepared to start work at entry level, which means accepting a pay cut (with a basic salary of $1,800 to $2,000), as I am more interested in taking advantage of the training opportunities available at bigger companies and advancing my career.

And yet � despite trying in every area from advertising and public relations, hospitality and public administration, to human resources management, travel and research � I have had no success.

Meanwhile, I have been forced to ask myself some questions when it comes to finding employment in Singapore: How much of a role do factors such as gender and race play in getting a job here?

I ask because there are still so many "non-customer service jobs" where applicants must be bilingual in English and Mandarin, when most Singaporeans seem to understand enough English to do business with one another.

It seems as if my Indian female friends who were in the course I took have resorted to entering the teaching profession after failing to find jobs in other industries.

Many of my Chinese friends have found jobs in the customer service, telecommunications, journalism or banking industries.

Recently, a friend told me that I had three strikes against me because I am Indian, female and an arts graduate.

I do hope that he is wrong.

More pitiful and deserving of assistance (to find a job, that is). But where is the University of Wolverhampton?

It is the UK, it was formerly known as Wolverhampton polytechnic. There was a time in the UK, where polytechnics could issue degreess, now most of them have become universities.

i am jobless as well....147 applications as from today and still out of work for 8 mths..so ashame as well end my life.....

Please don't kill yourself before the next general erection, you should join a opposition party or stand for next election as an individual, you might get lucky.

i am jobless as well....147 applications as from today and still out of work for 8 mths..so ashame as well end my life.....

Please don't kill yourself before the next general erection, you should join a opposition party or stand for next election as an individual, you might get lucky.

thats a very good possibility way of dying....getting wack and cold air treatment....maybe the only bonus is prob some hot coffee

Only Secondary 2 qualifications? You need at least O levels to be a data entry clerk you know.

That's outdated qualification liao...... nowadays Myanmese / Pinoy / Ah Neh / Ah Tiong graduates are employed for these jobs....... and at a lower pay too ! :mad:

After election, these people got find jobs? Or Ass Loong gonna say sorry one more time?