Dont play play with Food Critics and Internet Makan Writers, they can make U loose Michelin if you dont pay $$$ and give free food to them one

WangChuk

https://sg.style.yahoo.com/singapore-fried-hokkien-mee-michelin-040017118.html

Singapore Fried Hokkien Mee: Michelin Bib Hokkien mee that promises more than it delivers​

Isabelle Ang
Mon, 9 June 2025 at 12:00 pm SGT·4-min read

Woah, they named our country after a Hokkien mee stall?

I’m kidding, of course — but that was the first goofy thought that floated into my brain when I chanced upon Singapore Fried Hokkien Mee on social media. My curiosity was piqued. With a name this audaciously on-the-nose, it would be primed to pop up first for anyone Googling “Singaporean fried Hokkien mee” at all.

I wondered: could this be the Hokkien mee stall to represent all Singaporean Hokkien mee stalls? With a coveted Michelin Bib Gourmand to boot, it could very well be. And so off I went, on a quest to Whampoa Makan Place to find out once and for all.

singapore fried hokkien mee - storefront

Stoked as I was, there was a catch. “Disappointed“, “bland“, “standard drop“… the stall’s recent slate of Google reviews didn’t quite see eye to eye with its shiny accolades. Gulp.

Still, I wasn’t about to turn my back on the mission. After all, the steady queue that greeted me — even during my odd-hour arrival for an early dinner — seemed to send a reassuring nod.

I found myself rather amused by the ordering system. Not because it was peculiar or anything, but because the auntie taking orders hollered at the queue from atop a two-step perch. The line moved quickly as she royally addressed each patron, and it was my turn in no time.

What I tried at Singapore Fried Hokkien Mee

singapore fried hokkien mee - hokkien mee

The one-dish wonder offers its Fried Hokkien Mee at 6 price points: S$5, S$6, S$8, S$10, S$12 and S$15. I went with the sensible S$8 portion, and was presented with a decently sized plate of gravy-clad yellow noodles and thick bee hoon studded with taugeh, prawns, squid and a smattering of eggs. Textbook.

Something felt missing, though I couldn’t quite put my finger on it at first. And then it hit me: where was the fried pork lard? As it turns out, these golden-brown nuggets are only dished out upon request. Oops, my bad.

singapore fried hokkien mee - noodles

While the pessimistic reviews had braced me for the worst, I still clung to the hope that this plate of Hokkien mee would blow my expectations out of the water. Unfortunately, my first bite left much to be desired.

The noodles, though decent, didn’t exactly scream Michelin Bib. The balance between sweet and savoury was off, and the prawn stock’s characteristic brininess was frustratingly faint. Most disappointingly, the absence of wok hei (a non-negotiable, if you ask me) stuck out like a sore thumb.

On the bright side, I do appreciate a good moist Hokkien mee — and I’ll give credit where it’s due. The stall had the pleasing creaminess of its broth nailed.

singapore fried hokkien mee - chilli

The plate was curiously embellished with not just 1 but 3 types of chilli: red, green and the stall’s house blend, and the ardent spice lover in me was excited to see how this trio might liven up the dish. If I could sum it up: not as potent as you’d think — perfect for those who can’t handle heat.

Although I was, once again, hardly wowed, my favourite of the lot was the house blend. Laced with hints of hae bee, this chilli mix added a bright — albeit subtle — umami lift to the dish. That said, they could definitely afford to be more generous with this one.

singapore fried hokkien mee - seafood

Contrary to the dismal portions some reviews lamented, I was actually pretty satisfied with the serving of 3 plump, crunchy prawns and, trust me, a lot of fresh, chewy squid pieces. Seafood is seldom ever the main draw for me when it comes to Hokkien mee, but I did enjoy the pops of textural contrast these lent the soft, gravy-slicked noodles.

Ravenous, I slurped up the plate with ease and landed on this verdict: not terrible, just… largely unimpressive.

Final Thoughts

singapore fried hokkien mee - noodles close up

Let’s set the record straight. I’m no Hokkien mee expert, but I’m sure I know enough to tell the excellent from the merely okay.

In all fairness, Singapore Fried Hokkien Mee’s rendition was far from inedible; I’d even say it edges out your run-of-the-mill kopitiam plate. But decent as it was, it struck me as sorely lacklustre for something that’s earned Michelin recognition. So no, I wouldn’t go as far as to crown it Singapore’s rep. I’ve had better — and chances are, you have too.

The sensible thing to do would be to reject any offers of a Michelin award and carry on with your business.

It's not worth it, not even with the longer queues from curious dumbass tourists.

New media started out replacing trust in brand advertisements with peer opinion. Positioning products and services through brand slogans was becoming less effective. A new level of transparency was forcing businesses to listen to what consumers want. The execution of traditional brand management was supposed to be outdated. Then came greedy opportunists like Seth Lui who tried to monetise their reviews, resulting in total distrust of so-called food critics and influencers.

Online mercenaries with no integrity like Seth Lui are making large organisations revert to past theories and practices to market their goods and services. Strategies that supposedly predict future growth are now returning even though they are just ideas derived from existing models. In order to penetrate into online forums, talented staff with revolutionary ideas need to be recruited to replace the distrust in influencers who are merely paid non-celebrities.

Geylang Lor 29 Hokkien Mee was my favourite, after the passing of the late Mr Alex, I fall back on Swee Guan :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Why does people need food critics to determine what is good and what's not?
They doesn't have their own eyes to see the food and taste bud to taste it themselves?
Crazy people aka tam jiak ter nao

the number of fans, followers and subscribers of these food critics are big .... this is directly proportional to the number of DAFT SINKIES that the Government had announced and defined .... no wonder the Food Critics have a price tag to the business stalls selling these DAFT Pigs for slaughter ... :roflmao:

I don't get what the hype is over Michelin or non-Michelin food stalls. They all taste about the same to me. It's all about the taste of soy sauce, salt, and MSG. Unless they are really bad cook with rotten or spoiled ingredients, I really can't tell much difference that demands that high price or long queue.

30400693100_49acb990da_h.jpg

This stall used to be across the road, where the previous owner would sit and fry the Hokkien mee over a charcoal flame in the early 80s. Currently under the new owner, however, the quality has dropped significantly.

I was completely misled by the sterling reviews of the laksa stall at 112 Jalan Bukit Merah Market & Food Centre. It was rather ordinary and expensive to boot. I cook far superior seafood laksa at home with the help of my Indonesian maid, whose main job is preparing the rempah mix.

home cook no hum confirm taste lousy one lah ... any hawker center laksa stall with hum oso will win ur cooking :whistling:

I beg to differ because my Indonesian maid pounds the correct mix of spices for her rempah, and we add a generous amount of sambal belachan to make the gravy sumptuous. To add to the taste, we include a lot of prawns, fish cake, fish balls, fish fillet, yong tauhu and cockles (sometimes).

we sinkies must have hums in laksa ... only mee siam no hums .... nothing can change our national dish. :roflmao: