full day Linux Installation Workshops offered by UncleYap ;)

uncleyap

I was lazy but was busy fighting the famiLEE LEEgime. Had not been doing these Linux training for some time. But I am coming back this month.

Beside getting rid of famiLEE LEEgime, I also want to get rid of MS from computers.;) But not as badly as I want to rid LEEgime.

A full day workshop will be run on 18 & 19 this month. If you need help to rid MS on your laptop or PC, bring it over, and it is a step by step guided DIY installation of Kubuntu. Kubuntu is FOC licensed, by you need to pay @$50 for the workshop, because of classroom rental & CD & my time. :)

http://uncleyap-news.blogspot.com/2009/12/uncleyap-will-offer-kubuntu-linux.html

http://convert.linux.http3.net/

There is a promotion for people to come as a group of friends or colleagues. Basically $5 off for each other persons you brought. In other words, your own $50 fee becomes FOC if you brought 10 others.

w00t an InstallFest!! Haven't heard one for a while. I thought most people are savvy enough to download and burn their own CD nowadays?

<table class="contentpaneopen"><tbody><tr><td valign="top"> One Day Beginners' Workshop

• Part 1: Guided Step-By-Step Installation Process for Desktops and Laptops (3 Hours)
  • Part 2: Introduction to operating Kubuntu KDE 4.3.2 desktop environment (1 Hour 30 Mins)
  • Part 3: Hands On Session (30 Mins)
  • Part 4: Question & Answer Session (1 Hour)
Scope of Workshop
To learn the Installation Process of Linux and its basic operations. Meant for first-timers who perfer to do this together with other learners with step-by-step guidance by experienced instructors.
Participants attending this workshop must bring their own Laptops or Desktop, and follow the guided procedure of installation, and guided first-time operation. There are hands on as well as live demonstrations followed by Q & A sessions.
At the end of the workshop your computers will be installed with Kubuntu 9.10 Linux.
The installation is not compulsory. If you borrow a friend's laptop or one from work, you may still learn how to operate Kubuntu Linux at the workshop without installing or modifying anything inside the computer. Kubuntu Linux can run in most computers without having to be installed in them. You may boot up Kubuntu Linux with LIVE CDs that will be provided. Alternatively you may buy Kubuntu Bootable USB Thumb-Drives. Linux will run much faster when installed in harddisk, bootable CDs & USB drives are much slower in performance.

In Brief

• Kubuntu Linux release 9.10
  • S$50.00 per person
  • 2 CD-R (700MB) bootable Live CD with Installer provided: 1CD for 32 bit, 1 CD for 64 bit.
  • Lunch & tea breaks are not catered. Lunch is scheduled between Part 1 & Part 2, tea break between Part 2 & Part 3
  • Bring your own Laptop 1 per person, you may bring Desktop but bring your own monitor + keyboard + mouse + power extension cord.
  • 1 power socket per person catered
  • shared 3G broadband catered on wifi or Ethernet - bring your own network wire.

Minimal Skill / Knowledge Requirement

• 1 year Windows user experience level
  • Aware of Linux Operating System
  • Understand Harddisk & Partitioning

Minimal System Requirement

• 1GB RAM min, 2GB recommended
  • Free Space in harddisk 5GB min, 15GB recommended
  • 1.8GHz CPU min
  • 32 bit CPU min, 64 bit recommended
*Note: Faulty hardware should not be used to attain optimal results from the workshop

installation_partition_space.jpg

Disk Partition Size Setting

Installation Planing

We ask you to carefully plan your installation ahead of the workshop. You have following options:

• Swap your laptop harddisk with a new one
  • Add a new hardisk in desktop
  • Resize existing partitions to make room for Kubuntu Linux
  • Use the entire existing hardisk for Linux
Except for the 4<sup>th</sup> option, all of your existing Windows installation and data will be preserved.

Our workshop will guide you to carry out any of the above options. The 3<sup>rd</sup> option is expected to be most commonly chosen.

Optional services and products

• USB Thumb Drives pre-installed with Bootable Kubuntu 9.10 8GB @S$42
  • Course materials CD @S$5, containing the video recording of the entire workshop training
  • Complete 2.5” SATA HDD 250GB pre-installed with Kubuntu 9.10 @S$100 external USB case
  • Desktop 3.5” SATA HDD 250GB pre-installed with Kubuntu 9.10 @S$90
  • Harddisk Image Cloning service. Fully copy your existing hardisk into an image on another harddisk from which you can restore to its original state. This has to be arranged and completed at least a day before the workshop. The fee depends on amount of data and time required to complete the task.

kpackagekit.jpg

Add & Remove Software Packages

Why Linux?

• No more Virus & Spyware
  • No more Anti-Virus to slow down PC
  • Save Maintenance Time & Cost
  • ALL FREE & Licensed
  • Much Higher Reliability; Friendliness & Safer
  • Open Source, you may modify anything

Why Attend Workshop?

• Share experience and knowledge with profound Linux users
  • Learn with a network of peer Linux users
  • Step-By-Step demonstration is provided
  • Install your own PC on the spot during workshop
  • On the spot guidance and assistance is provided
  • Installation source CDs are provided
  • Question & Answer Session is provided
  • USB bootable installation Thumb-Drives are available
  • Recorded lesson video available for reference & revision

Registration Contacts:

email: <a href="mailto:%20%3Cscript%20language=%27JavaScript%27%20type=%27text/javascript%27%3E%20%3C%21--%20var%20prefix%20=%20%27mailto:%27;%20var%20suffix%20=%20%27%27;%20var%20attribs%20=%20%27%27;%20var%20path%20=%20%27hr%27%20+%20%27ef%27%20+%20%27=%27;%20var%20addy12349%20=%20%27http3.net%27%20+%20%27@%27;%20addy12349%20=%20addy12349%20+%20%27gmail%27%20+%20%27.%27%20+%20%27com%27;%20document.write%28%20%27%3Ca%20%27%20+%20path%20+%20%27%5C%27%27%20+%20prefix%20+%20addy12349%20+%20suffix%20+%20%27%5C%27%27%20+%20attribs%20+%20%27%3E%27%20%29;%20document.write%28%20addy12349%20%29;%20document.write%28%20%27%3C%5C/a%3E%27%20%29;%20//--%3E%20%3C/script%3E%20%3Cscript%20language=%27JavaScript%27%20type=%27text/javascript%27%3E%20%3C%21--%20document.write%28%20%27%3Cspan%20style=%5C%27display:%20none;%5C%27%3E%27%20%29;%20//--%3E%20%3C/script%3EThis%20e-mail%20address%20is%20being%20protected%20from%20spambots.%20You%20need%20JavaScript%20enabled%20to%20view%20it%20%3Cscript%20language=%27JavaScript%27%20type=%27text/javascript%27%3E%20%3C%21--%20document.write%28%20%27%3C/%27%20%29;%20document.write%28%20%27span%3E%27%20%29;%20//--%3E%20%3C/script%3E"> <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript"> <!-- var prefix = 'mailto:'; var suffix = ''; var attribs = ''; var path = 'hr' + 'ef' + '='; var addy91837 = 'http3.net' + '@'; addy91837 = addy91837 + 'gmail' + '.' + 'com'; document.write( '' ); document.write( addy91837 ); document.write( '<\/a>' ); //--> </script>[email protected] <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript"> <!-- document.write( '<span style=\'display: none;\'>' ); //--> </script>This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript"> <!-- document.write( '</' ); document.write( 'span>' ); //--> </script>
h/p: 90816851
Schedule offered click to check and discuss schedule
PROMOTION: S$5 rebate for each additional participants registered after yourself. So bring your friends and colleagues as many as you can to participate together. If you registered 10 others after yourself, then your own $50 fee will become FOC, if you registered 20 others, then you earned $50!

</td> </tr> <tr> <td class="modifydate"> Last Updated on Monday, 07 December 2009 06:28 </td> </tr> </tbody></table>

With Uncle Yap's intellect, he can't aim too high. Aim for noobs who probably have not even heard of Linux and got brainwashed into thinking that any and everything is better then Windows type. Can earn good money. I must say, I give Uncle Yap less credit then he deserves.

I was lazy but was busy fighting the famiLEE LEEgime. Had not been doing these Linux training for some time. But I am coming back this month.

Beside getting rid of famiLEE LEEgime, I also want to get rid of MS from computers. But not as badly as I want to rid LEEgime.

Uncleyap,

Please be careful of public places and operating in a high profile manner .

You never know agents using heart attack chemicals .

w00t an InstallFest!! Haven't heard one for a while. I thought most people are savvy enough to download and burn their own CD nowadays?

Yes, for sure.

Kubuntu these days can be installed within the MS windows too. It mounts few GB of files as disks inside the NTFS and use MS boot.ini instead of Linux grub. Can be uninstalled by Windows too.

Very easy.

For majority of Desktop + Laptop computing purposes I found that Kubuntu is sufficiently good to replace MS.

However, this workshop aims only to have Kubuntu installed side by side with MS, and can be selected during boot up.

Linux Experts are most welcomed to become seminar speakers next year. Or take part in organizing these programs.

Uncleyap,

Please be careful of public places and operating in a high profile manner .

You never know agents using heart attack chemicals .

Aiyaaaah. I leave it to god lah! I fight LEEgime without hiding. This is a technical program, not political lah.

Call me paranoid, but I always equate the following.

M$==PaP
Linux== Free as in Beer freedom.

Why you think so many Sinkies still use WinDoze ah? I even know someone that bought a MBP and installed WinDoze on it. :mad:

Aiyaaaah. I leave it to god lah! I fight LEEgime without hiding. This is a technical program, not political lah.

Why Linux?

* No more Virus & Spyware
* No more Anti-Virus to slow down PC
* Save Maintenance Time & Cost
* ALL FREE & Licensed
* Much Higher Reliability; Friendliness & Safer
* Open Source, you may modify anything

Since all the Pros are listed, I'll list some cons. Being a partial Linux user myself here is what you can do(or not) with the Linux(Uncle Yap is a bit like the local media, doesn't want to tell you everything you should know)

No more Virus & Spyware
The above statement is False. Viruses for Linux do exist except on a very much smaller scale almost to the point of being negligible.

No more Anti-Virus to slow down PC
Can't disagree with this however given the current default memory settings for most systems(at least 1 to 2Gb Memory) the amount of memory footprint by most modern antivirus is negligible. The latest version of Symantec endpoint for example takes up less then 5mb of memory to remain active. (1Gb = 1000Mb)

Save Maintenance Time & Cost
You'll definitely save a hell lot of electricity cost too coz unless you are a power user like me, other then surfing the internet, you'll probably be spending all your free time doing just about nothing. If you think the gaming scene on a Mac is bad, Linux is worse, sorry I meant non existant. On top of that most of the applications you were probably using on Windows will more likely then not, not work on a Linux machine. Yes there usually are alternatives but just about all of them are usually watered down versions of what is available on Windows or Mac

ALL FREE & Licensed
Yeah and if U bought a Dell or HP or whatever branded PC, the Windows license is already included in the price, plus it cost almost the same as one that you build from scratch if you've gotten parts from Sim Lim. Yeah I did my research, I ended up buying a Dell 2 months back coz a system from Sim Lim with the same spec cost me more. Maybe it wasn't a good time to buy a new system when I did. Parts prices fluctuates a lot(used to work for a local hardware distributor so I know a thing or 2 about the pricing at Sim Lim) and I was in urgent need of a new system

Much Higher Reliability; Friendliness & Safer
I can't argue with the first point but unless Uncle Yap is comparing Linux to Unix, he probably needs his brain checked for suggesting Linux is more user friendly then Windows or Mac

Open Source, you may modify anything
Considering the fact that you actually need to take a stupid course on "how to install", I seriously don't think you are going to modify anything anytime soon

Just somethings to take into account before you jump off from the safety of your Windows/Mac and Linux. Linux isn't very user friendly, at least not up to the standards set by Windows or Mac. If you are into gaming, don't even bother.

1 last minor trivial for pple who had no idea, when the netbook first came out, they included both the Windows and Linux version, most companies selling netbooks saw a very high return rate for Netbooks with Linux installed on it which is why nowadays, although you can still find Netbooks with Linux, the models available are significantly lesser. Not everyone can accept such radical changes.

However if Uncle Yap is willing to provide his own test system, for pple who are interested in finding out what Linux is then I suggest those who are interested to go take a look and only install on your primary system after you have real hands on experience. Most pple I know however use Linux only as a secondary system. For me its mostly for testing and hosting of applications.

With Uncle Yap's intellect, he can't aim too high. Aim for noobs who probably have not even heard of Linux and got brainwashed into thinking that any and everything is better then Windows type. Can earn good money. I must say, I give Uncle Yap less credit then he deserves.

I go check my storage boxes, if I have dumped the lot of Linux books in the dustbin...some of which were from O'reily etc...

I even have Caldera Linux...all sort of distro at one time, installing & uninstalling them, partition to run with MS WIN...etc.. crashing the PC..etc.. learning what is kill -9 or was it -7 , I have already forgotten, using KDE, open office, GIMP... ah yes..WINE...

Still have the GIMP book..which is now a treasure...

What I am sying is..one can read up...on LINUX...:rolleyes:

Alamek! Couldn't make it. Can organize early next year?

Goh Meng Seng

Beside getting rid of famiLEE LEEgime, I also want to get rid of MS from computers.;) But not as badly as I want to rid LEEgime.

A full day workshop will be run on 18 & 19 this month. If you need help to rid MS on your laptop or PC, bring it over, and it is a step by step guided DIY installation of Kubuntu. Kubuntu is FOC licensed, by you need to pay @$50 for the workshop, because of classroom rental & CD & my time. :)

http://uncleyap-news.blogspot.com/2009/12/uncleyap-will-offer-kubuntu-linux.html

http://convert.linux.http3.net/

There is a promotion for people to come as a group of friends or colleagues. Basically $5 off for each other persons you brought. In other words, your own $50 fee becomes FOC if you brought 10 others.

i think you need to explore more better alternatives...like Leopard or Ubuntu....

and dun believe that PAP(Microshit) is not always good all the time...:D

i think you need to explore more better alternatives...like Leopard or Linux....

and dun believe that PAP(Microshit) is not always good all the time...:D

If you want to make PAP look like an OS, the Mac OS will be closer to PAP then Windows.

M$ is a software vendor only. It pretty much does not care about where it's Windows are installed on as long as the hardware vendors

Apple is a Hardware and Software Vendor. if U want a Mac OS, you need to buy both the hardware and software from them. The similarities doesn't end there. If you sell hardware and try to bundle their software with your own hardware, Apple will sue U until U go bankrupt(sound familiar?)

I go check my storage boxes, if I have dumped the lot of Linux books in the dustbin...some of which were from O'reily etc...

I even have Caldera Linux...all sort of distro at one time, installing & uninstalling them, partition to run with MS WIN...etc.. crashing the PC..etc.. learning what is kill -9 or was it -7 , I have already forgotten, using KDE, open office, GIMP... ah yes..WINE...

Still have the GIMP book..which is now a treasure...

What I am sying is..one can read up...on LINUX...:rolleyes:

yeah like I said Uncle Yap can only aim this course at Noobs. Probably pple who are too stupid to read or lazy pple. Mr GMS seem to qualify as one

Call me paranoid, but I always equate the following.

M$==PaP
Linux== Free as in Beer freedom.

Why you think so many Sinkies still use WinDoze ah? I even know someone that bought a MBP and installed WinDoze on it. :mad:

There is more to that, OPEN SOURCE = TRANSPARENCY & ACCOUNTABILITY

:);):D

You don't hide the source codes meaning it is an opened book.

Problem with anti-virus is not RAM. The RAM issue is little compared with the CPU issue. I pointed out that anti-virus caused PC to be VERY VERY SLOW, that is because it used TONS OF CPU CYCLE to scan for virus. There had been non-stop explosions on types of virus & malware, therefore the signatures & patterns that need to be scan is HUGE and increasing by the day. The scan engine may have a small foot print but the the signatures & patterns itself takes much more RAM.

The Anti-VIRUS also make RAM itself a huge drawback!!! :mad:

Because the more RAM you have the more anti-virus has to scan, if you got small RAM, it will fuck you less. Imagine you got on 1/2GB of RAM there is only so much to scan for virus (CONSTANTLY), but if you got 16GB, that is so much of CPU cycles to scan and scan non-stop. That's why MS can not be used.

Anti-virus is THE MOST SIGNIFICANT DEFEAT in computer world, because of virus you can not trust anything any more, when ever you have a little executable code, say 1KB, you scan it against many MBs of virus signature and patterns. It may be only few microseconds to execute your 1KB of code but you spend milli-seconds to SCAN it like shit. That is thousands of times more time than to run that code itself. Not just that, but the same sad truth is for EVERY bit of executable codes there is. Therefore a powerful computer is performing like a grandmother PC.:mad:

Not just executable codes can not be trusted in MS, data also can not be trusted, e.g. all JPEG images can also contain hidden malware and attacks, and can not be trusted, and must scan. STACKS in RAM also can be attacked, etc. There is nothing efficient anymore in MS. Linux is not the same fortunately.

With MS, more CPU cycles are WASTED than actually used, because of anti-virus. You may say that anti-virus scanners are tiny but they run VERY INTENSIVELY. They suck away your blood and your CPU cycles big time. Each tiny bit of code or library your RAM ever load, MUST be scan like hell before execution. That is very sick! That is also a very repetitive and wasteful task. You are scanning the same old codes billions of time as they comes in and out of your RAM.

Jan 3rd week may be. I have LEEgime's court for TBT from 4th to 16th, then free for few days, then I think 25th onwards also have case. So I try to do 20th & 21st Jan 2009.

Schedule next year is not able to confirm yet.

I will try to have 2 days in each month next year 2010. :-)

If this thing get popular, I will do big scale and ultra low cost, can be FOC if there is some organization to sponsor the place with furniture and power sockets for every one.

The way to do so is to have a gigabit LAN + wifi, and a NAS. Put the images of ISOs + current updates in the NAS share. Have several posters instructing people the steps. Better have a projector screen repetitively playing out instruction video.

Some volunteers there to say sell CD/DVD blanks, people come in, can also bring their own media, and then follow the video instructions to burn the ISO from the NAS. Then follow step by step.

Some experienced users wearing badges in the hall to assist troubled users, and then FAQ are also stored in the NAS in html form.

So it is like a 3 to 4 stage mass production line running continuously:

Stage 1 = burn ISO CD/DVD or copy USB bootable installation thumb drives.
Stage 2 = plan the installation with guided considerations
Stage 3 = installation process
Stage 4 = update & test

Then there is a troubleshooting area, a tea & coffee rest area.
Few volunteers at each stage to assist people.

That's it.

A Linux installation free market!

That is my vision.:);):rolleyes:

Organizations with facilities and experienced users can contact me to sponsor.

I am hoping Schools; Colleges; Universities; VITBS; Polys; even IT shows etc sponsor this sort of installation facilitating. I will be willing to help and organize. I also ask Linux user communities to actively volunteer in these things.