• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Congrats to Lawrence Wong on being the next PM... Goodbye Heng

That means nothing, and these 马后炮 20/20 hindsight statements are inconsequential.

spotter542

You really think so? Sad reality is non of the chink ministers are PM caliber.

None of the non-Chink ministars are PM material also
We got a blur fuck still stuck at Stinktel
We got an overspending YOG bitch
We got poh mata POFMA
We got a tio OSA case
Anyone care to fill in ?

You really think so? Sad reality is non of the chink ministers are PM caliber.

Their ownself praise ownself system of self-renewal has been exposed, time and again, to be
one big hoax. Why else does pinkie need to announce that Shan the Sham, Bargain the Hen
and Tharman who keeps insisting that he is NOT Da-man to be PM will be hanging around to
help the 4G.

Charlie99

Unfortunately, it looks like the PM and the PAP are unlikely to make Tharman S. Their Sec Gen, and the PM.
I submit that Tharman S. is healthy enough to be PM for about ten years, if the PAP wins a majority in future GE.
If that continues to be their position, I submit that Lawrence Wong speaks better, sounds better, and is able to think and respond on the spot and spontaneously, than HSK and CCS. Unsure about his Mandarin, and therefore, OYK may be a dark horse.

Wunderfool

Lawrence Wong gave a good analysis of the GE 20 results and the reasons for PAP failing to get a resounding mandate as in 2015. However, he failed to admit that the GE20 was ill-timed. In these uncertain times where many are affected by the coronavirus pandemic, the PAP has not dealt adequately with the economic pain of the older voters and fear of uncertain future with the young voters. They have given the impression that they have done enough for the people in this pandemic and therefore decided to push ahead with the election even at the risk of infection. The result speaks for itself for their imprudent decision.

knowwhatyouwantinlife

Doesn't matter bro

He will be PM before next election. Mission accomplished
They are still unwilling to acknowledge the flaws in the CPF system...especially asking for those between 55 to 65 to die die continue working and of course not giving reasons why medisave cannot be part of the RA..its as if giving free primary and tertiary care can break the budget...and lastly for those born after 1958 I think you can't opt out of cpf life

Lawrence Wong gave a good analysis of the GE 20 results and the reasons for PAP failing to get a resounding mandate as in 2015. However, he failed to admit that the GE20 was ill-timed. In these uncertain times where many are affected by the coronavirus pandemic, the PAP has not dealt adequately with the economic pain of the older voters and fear of uncertain future with the young voters. They have given the impression that they have done enough for the people in this pandemic and therefore decided to push ahead with the election even at the risk of infection. The result speaks for itself for their imprudent decision.

I think this was a party position. Lawrence's presentation is a signal that HSK and CCS are on the way out.
They don't want to be seen to provide shocks when the kitchen cabinet is announced.

whoami

They are still unwilling to acknowledge the flaws in the CPF system...especially asking for those between 55 to 65 to die die continue working and of course not giving reasons why medisave cannot be part of the RA..its as if giving free primary and tertiary care can break the budget...and lastly for those born after 1958 I think you can't opt out of cpf life

They need to lose more seats. Then they will swallow the hard truth. But then again, 61% sinkies gave PAP a majority mandate.

birdie69

It seems like he still not realised that the CECA agreement, immigration policy, CPF issues, high cost of HDB flats and cost of living are the main factors caused the decline in PAP votes, other than being scolded xia stay behind our back.

Wunderfool

I think this was a party position. Lawrence's presentation is a signal that HSK and CCS are on the way out.
They don't want to be seen to provide shocks when the kitchen cabinet is announced.
I have to say that CCS and HSK lack the experience of running a election campaign. They think that they know it all based on past statistics. CCS was so confident that the PAP would win by a big margin given past successes after major crises. We heard him boast about it to his party activists. He has certainly underestimated the odds and his opponents. He did not check the ground thoroughly or fully understand the sentiments of the voters. This is what happens when you have a "paper general" in charge.

Clearly, the PAP has shown their complacency and arrogance. They failed to comprehend the context of the health crisis, the changing electorate demographics, the Opposition party's campaign approach ( the PAP was 'attacked' on the East and West sides while their core strategy was to strengthen the Central and North. Moving HSK to defend the East Coast GRC and another Minister Desmond Lee to West Coast GRC were attempts to re-strategize at the last minute ), the digital nature of this election campaign and the survival issues that the old and young are facing in this crisis.

Although PAP still won by a strong mandate, they have failed to garner the mandate to their expectations. It was all due to bad campaign strategy.