• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Goh Meng Seng only 27%

nato33

With his outdated & old skool combative approach, Capt Goh actually helped TPL increase her share of votes. For a seasoned player, announcing this will be his last GE was already a wrong move. Why would any McPherson voter want to even remotely consider voting in a candidate will not be there in next GE. The electorate of McPherson need someone who is sincere and provide continuity. Not an old cock who only knows how to challenge the incumbent to a debate. What good will that do for the residents? Will it feed them, help them, support them if Capt Goh demonstrates his "superior" debating skills .

He thought he very clever by choosing a so called weaker opponent. But ended up with shit on his face when he scored the lowest margin for a SMC (not counting the Independent Clown).

Capt (Retired) Goh, your time is up and your COE has expired, please proceed to the nearest scrap yard and enjoy your civilian life. Wish you good health and a peaceful life ahead .

With his outdated & old skool combative approach, Capt Goh actually helped TPL increase her share of votes. For a seasoned player, announcing this will be his last GE was already a wrong move. Why would any McPherson voter want to even remotely consider voting in a candidate will not be there in next GE. The electorate of McPherson need someone who is sincere and provide continuity. Not an old cock who only knows how to challenge the incumbent to a debate. What good will that do for the residents? Will it feed them, help them, support them if Capt Goh demonstrates his "superior" debating skills .

He thought he very clever by choosing a so called weaker opponent. But ended up with shit on his face when he scored the lowest margin for a SMC (not counting the Independent Clown).

Capt (Retired) Goh, your time is up and your COE has expired, please proceed to the nearest scrap yard and enjoy your civilian life. Wish you good health and a peaceful life ahead .
Trying to sell his old water melon and claim that it will expire soon and then praise his competitor that her young water melon is also fresh. If you are consumer, which will you choose? When he opened that CB mouth of his two weeks ago, I know he gone case liao.

GE2020: Goh Meng Seng teams up with teen daughter for PPP e-rally
ASIAONE
Bryan Lim
Wednesday, Jul 08, 2020
Screeengrab from Facebook

Goh Meng Seng might have organised the rally to get his message out to the masses, but it seemed like his eloquent and intelligent daughter stole the spotlight instead.

The secretary-general of People's Power Party (PPP) took to Facebook Live with the 17-year-old on July 7. Right off the bat, someone asked what were Goh's goals for MacPherson SMC, which he is contesting — and he passed the question to his daughter in jest.

"I think you should be the one answering that," Shirin quipped, but stated her observation that the constituency has a lot of people "at an older age" and there are those who "might not have the best economic ability to support themselves".

As for Goh, his answer focused on infrastructure, adding that MacPherson needs more community hospitals as there's a huge population of elderly folks. He took the opportunity to advocate for "proper covered walkways" while his daughter pointed out that mobility for the elderly, especially those in wheelchairs, are a problem as the roads are "designed quite weirdly".

When it came to his plans for the nation, Goh confessed: "I'm always very concerned about the HDB problem. The asset enhancement problem that caused the inadequate CPF for retirement. It happens that these two problems are very critical in MacPherson."

The e-rally turned out to be more of a Q&A session, and it proved to be a shrewd move on Goh's part to include his daughter on the livestream as she helped to add on to her father's answers and even fielded some questions herself.

When a netizen accused Goh of "poisoning" his daughter's young mind, she replied smoothly: "I will say that I can't agree because everyone is right to have an opinion as long as it's not harming other people. And I think it's good to have an open mind to everyone's opinion because that will make you have a more comprehensive view on anything that's happening around you."

Goh also clarified that both father and daughter have "a lot of disagreements" on their views on different topics.

"I don't impose my views on my kids. She thinks for herself what is right and what is wrong, what is moral and what is immoral," he replied.

Shirin also took a question on environmental issues by referencing an incentive programme in Hong Kong — she lived there before moving to Singapore at the age of 14.

"I think incentive is one thing, but the other thing is also that in Singapore, you can't really find an easy way to recycle things except for putting them in recycling bins. But because everything doesn't seem that organised, people don't really know how they're actually helping the environment," she explained.

A heartfelt moment came when Goh was explaining his stance on the salary for Members of Parliament (MPs) and his daughter vouched for Goh's humble personality.

"In terms of salary and just money in general, he's never materialistic. Like he has really simple meals as long as they're yummy and he has shirts for like 10 years and they have holes in it. So, money is never really a big concern for him. So I definitely think he's going to use this salary, or allowance, to effectively help the community," she said.

It was also apparent that Shirin won the hearts of netizens on the livestream as some asked if she has a boyfriend (no, she doesn't) while others praised her for her smarts and potential.

And when asked if the father-daughter duo bond over politics, the younger Goh said: "Yeah, a little bit. We definitely disagree with each other sometimes, but that's because of our cultural background, that's because of our age. The way that we approach stuff is different."

"He always teaches me how to view things in a more comprehensive way and actually think from the opponent's point of view even though sometimes you can find it ridiculous. But still, it's important to consider their opinion so that confirm bias won't happen," she added.

GMS was already a loser but he didn't realize this. He didn't know how low he sank when he used his young daughter to fish for votes in his online political rally. And most of his potential constituents were old farts who don't use facebook or social media much. They are still living in the same world in the 1970s except that they are much older and more senile.

GMS fucked himself when he chose to stand for elections in MacPherson without doing much homework about the profile of his voters. I was just surprised that he didn't lose his deposit like the Lim Tean Voice members in the Punggol-Pasir GRC contest.

Loofydralb

Did he lose his deposit?

So now good riddance. Hey GMS, you free to look for UFOs and aliens. Tell us when you catch one.

HAHAHA

GMS, your late father might have inspired your career path but please realise you are not good at the political career. I don't know what your expectation is for your daughter but please let her choose her own path too.

You could have run as an independent candidate but you chose to set up a party just before announcing it's gonna be your last contest. So I suspect sinkies haven't heard the last of you.

Whatever..

just don't make your daughter pay for your own unfulfilled ambitions. Politics takes more than a couple of alternative ideas and obstinate temper

pvtpublic

her performance was beyond my expectation... i had predicted 65-67%... well done TPL :geek:

the party threw a lot of money at her ward. but also kudos to her for serving her residents.

now that funding is needed for the east coast plan, let's see how she does in 2025.

pvtpublic

Let's be fair. TPL has been doing more work for her constituency. GMS, other than being in this forum in the past, he only shows up once in every 5 years.

what funding does GMS have compared to TPL? she had the entire party machinery behind her. so let's be fair to GMS.

He knew the stakes before putting down his money.
If he did not, he deserves to lose. But over the years,
he has actually been proven a grasshopper, ala Malaysian
style and leaving a party when they don't give in to his
demands. Good riddance.

KuanTi01

GMS was already a loser but he didn't realize this. He didn't know how low he sank when he used his young daughter to fish for votes in his online political rally. And most of his potential constituents were old farts who don't use facebook or social media much. They are still living in the same world in the 1970s except that they are much older and more senile.

GMS fucked himself when he chose to stand for elections in MacPherson without doing much homework about the profile of his voters. I was just surprised that he didn't lose his deposit like the Lim Tean Voice members in the Punggol-Pasir GRC contest.
Sad but true. His overly combative style is old school and outdated. Times have changed and people look for substance besides form. Making fiery speeches alone is not enough to sway the voters. Old folks need pampering and free handouts which only Tin Pei Ling can deliver. Besides he is not really eloquent and convincing. :wink: