• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Heng Sweet Keat warns that nativist tendencies will make Singapore society crumble and wither

Leepotism

Singapore must act decisively against nativist tendencies: Heng Swee Keat

By Jalelah Abu Baker
20 Jan 2020 11:41AM
(Updated: 20 Jan 2020 12:01PM)

SINGAPORE: Some of the public discourse around foreigners show that Singapore is not immune to the same divisive forces that have swept across the world, Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat said on Monday (Jan 20).

Such "nativistic tendencies" must be acted on decisively, he said.

"If we allow these forces to creep up on us, our hopes and concerns can be exploited to create fear and anger. Our diversity can be turned against us. Our unity can fray, and our society can wither,” warned Mr Heng.

These include making sure that differences do not become entrenched and corrode social cohesion. Singapore should also guard against the danger of political parties using divisive rhetoric to gain support in a fractured landscape and falling prey to the pull of populism, he added.

blackmondy

Strokey Heng talking cock. I prayed hard his second stroke will send him straight to old fart's residence in the Netherworld.

Once a year for a whole month nationalism flag is waved high with all sorts of sinkie songs about how special it is to be a sinkie.

Once every 5 years the opposite message is broadcast that Sinkies and foreigners are all one and the same.

bobby

Nativist tendencies are very clear and simple for Singapore's case....we are already so small and squashed up. Why we need more people to this crowded pink dot?

batman1

Simi Lanjiao si "nativist tendencies " ??? This is PAP high-class bombastic language .WHY cannot talk simple language so that the grassroots and common people can understand simply and easily. KNNCCB !!! ALWAYS Talk high -class atas atas u not scared u get re-stroke !!!

Blimey!, what on earth is he talking about? or what the fuck, gone simi lianjiao?, beri, chim one!? Make it simpler, in few words, 'VOTE FOR PAP", we are your past, present & future. PAP IS THE BEST.

Hypocrite-The

It is his response to the push back against the pap open door policies. Just that he never says things well because he is just a bureaucrat and expects things to just go his way

chuachinsengjason

If pap is not going to protect the interests of the local true blue native Singaporeans against foreign immigrants

then pap should abolish NS and return all CPF money back to all true blue native Singaporean CPF contributors.

Bastard heng swee keat and pap gov have forgotten where their outrageous high public salary come from.

All these pap gov bastards are taking for granted the contributions and support of the native true blue Singaporeans.

hofmann

With over 40% of the people on the island being foreigners, you can hardly call locals, nativists. We have been more than tolerant of foreigner neighbors for many years.

It's hard to stomach if you're retrenched but yet see plenty of foreigners gainfully employed.

We are long over due for some form of unemployment insurance scheme. Every company hiring a non-local must contribute to the scheme. 1% of foreigners salary split between the company and government.

Mr Heng, what is wrong with native sinkies being proud of our heritage and culture? We want to preserve them and we detest PRs and new citizens trying to dilute them. The very people that you and the pap keep welcoming with open arms and shoving down our throats.

Spoken like the globalist technocrat puppet he is. :biggrin:

Globalists always sell out one's country. Remember several years ago, the pappies and the SPH presstitutes were all gushing praise on the TPP. It ended when Trump killed it. :cool:
Ah yes. That distant memory brought a smile to my face. :smile:

Ah Heng's statement will be a hot discussion topic on family dinner tables this coming week
Early reunion dinner finish loh. Now waiting for long week end go travel. Where got time for such frivolous things. Leave it to the PAP they know what is best for you. :thumbsup: