• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Orlua Ak Bak! Sinkie Cinema Snack Bars All Not Halal Certified! Good Muslims Upset That They Gong Chee Bye and Ate Haram Snacks!

NP_20180917_SIHALA17_4283704.jpg

Muslim cinemagoers are upset after learning that none of the four main cinema chains here has halal-certified food counters.

The halalSG Twitter account, managed by the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore (Muis), posted on Sept 5 that no food counter in local cinemas is halal-certified.

A Twitter user named Gypsily had asked if the food at Golden Village cinemas was halal.

Replying to queries from The New Paper last week, Muis confirmed that it had not received halal applications from cinemas here.

The four chains operate more than 30 food counters in their cinemas.

Muslim cinemagoers who spoke to TNP said they were previously unaware that food in the cinemas was not halal-certified.

Student Fatimah Mujibah, 19, said: "All cinemas should apply for the halal certification.

"Halal options should be available for Muslims because outside food is not allowed in the cinemas."

She added that most Muslims would assume that food sold in cinemas is halal.

"If the snack bars are not halal, then we should be allowed to take our own food in," said Miss Fatimah.

"Then again, if everyone does this, the cinema could end up being dirty."

Madam Kamariah Othman, 46, a teacher, said: "I do not see any relevant excuse for cinema snack counters to not get halal certification.

"After all, cinemas attract audiences of different races and religions."

A spokesman for Cathay Cineplexes told TNP that not all snacks sold at its Cinesnax counters are halal-certified.

The chain, which has cinemas at eight locations across the island, operated halal-certified food counters at four locations in 2014, but the certification was not renewed in 2015.

Asked why this was so, the spokesman said she could not comment on the matter because of a recent change in management, with the new team taking over fully only in May.

She added: "We will continue to review our customers' needs and feedback as part of our commitment to improve our services."

Cinema chains Golden Village, Shaw Theatres and Filmgarde did not reply to queries by press time.

Rex Cinema, which shows mostly movies from India, said it could not comment as it was undergoing a change in management.

It costs about $750 a year for halal certification at a snack bar.

Mr Samuel Tan, course manager of the diploma in retail management at Temasek Polytechnic, said it is possible cinemas might find it too troublesome to get halal certification.

He said: "The effort and processes to convert the operations to one that is halal-certified can be tedious and costly as it involves drastic changes to material sourcing, kitchen facilities and manpower planning."

Two restaurant chains, Fish & Co and Delifrance, lost their halal certifications this year, TNP reported last month.

TNP understands that Fish & Co has since resubmitted its application.

The Muis spokesman maintained that halal certification is voluntary for all businesses.

She said: "If an establishment is Muis halal-certified, members of the public should be able to see a valid Muis halal certificate on display within the certified premises.

"Consumers may also look up the list of Muis-halal-certified eating establishments via the MuslimSG app."

https://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/food-sold-cinemas-not-halal-muis

bobby

NP_20180917_SIHALA17_4283704.jpg

Muslim moviegoers call for halal-certified food options as cinemas here attract people of different races and religions

Muslim cinemagoers are upset after learning that none of the four main cinema chains here has halal-certified food counters.

The halalSG Twitter account, managed by the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore (Muis), posted on Sept 5 that no food counter in local cinemas is halal-certified.

A Twitter user named Gypsily had asked if the food at Golden Village cinemas was halal.

Replying to queries from The New Paper last week, Muis confirmed that it had not received halal applications from cinemas here.

The four chains operate more than 30 food counters in their cinemas.

Muslim cinemagoers who spoke to TNP said they were previously unaware that food in the cinemas was not halal-certified.

Student Fatimah Mujibah, 19, said: "All cinemas should apply for the halal certification.

"Halal options should be available for Muslims because outside food is not allowed in the cinemas."

She added that most Muslims would assume that food sold in cinemas is halal.

"If the snack bars are not halal, then we should be allowed to take our own food in," said Miss Fatimah.

"Then again, if everyone does this, the cinema could end up being dirty."

Madam Kamariah Othman, 46, a teacher, said: "I do not see any relevant excuse for cinema snack counters to not get halal certification.

"After all, cinemas attract audiences of different races and religions."

A spokesman for Cathay Cineplexes told TNP that not all snacks sold at its Cinesnax counters are halal-certified.

The chain, which has cinemas at eight locations across the island, operated halal-certified food counters at four locations in 2014, but the certification was not renewed in 2015.

Asked why this was so, the spokesman said she could not comment on the matter because of a recent change in management, with the new team taking over fully only in May.

She added: "We will continue to review our customers' needs and feedback as part of our commitment to improve our services."

Cinema chains Golden Village, Shaw Theatres and Filmgarde did not reply to queries by press time.

Rex Cinema, which shows mostly movies from India, said it could not comment as it was undergoing a change in management.

It costs about $750 a year for halal certification at a snack bar.

Mr Samuel Tan, course manager of the diploma in retail management at Temasek Polytechnic, said it is possible cinemas might find it too troublesome to get halal certification.

He said: "The effort and processes to convert the operations to one that is halal-certified can be tedious and costly as it involves drastic changes to material sourcing, kitchen facilities and manpower planning."

Two restaurant chains, Fish & Co and Delifrance, lost their halal certifications this year, TNP reported last month.

TNP understands that Fish & Co has since resubmitted its application.

The Muis spokesman maintained that halal certification is voluntary for all businesses.

She said: "If an establishment is Muis halal-certified, members of the public should be able to see a valid Muis halal certificate on display within the certified premises.
"Consumers may also look up the list of Muis-halal-certified eating establishments via the MuslimSG app."

KuanTi01

Everything in Singapore also must be halal-certified just because President is halal-certified ? :biggrin: To make it easier for businesses and to encourage more halal-certified outlets, the costs for halal certification should be borne entirely by the PAP government.

no_faith

Imo, the cinema mangement sure tio fine. If the food vendors not allah certified horsay liao
All fine, more monies govt reserve funds:biggrin:

borom

The solution is so simple-you see it even in hawker centres, restaurants, even SAF cookhouse-have halal cinemas!
All things there will be halal, even staff, movies, and of course food and drinks. The location should preferably be in a shopping centre nearest to mosque so its more convenient for them and their families.
They should start one near the Paya Lebar/Geylang Serai/ Joo Chiat /Eunos area where the catchment is bigger esp City Plaza. where the Indon maids also gather

Kopi0Kosong

I fully support the demand for halal food to be made available. I also request that PAP Community Foundation does the same at all its kindergartens and child care centres. Why is PAP not ensuring that muslim children are appropriately catered for? I beseech MUIS to publish a listing of all halal-certified outlets/organisations. No lard or pork is unacceptable. This is only the beginning. PAP has brought this upon itself.

We, the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one united people.
To foster harmony among all races, I fully support the needs and demands of each and every race.
The race is on. PAP, are you ready and set to GO?

bobby

I fully support the demand for halal food to be made available. I also request that PAP Community Foundation does the same at all its kindergartens and child care centres. Why is PAP not ensuring that muslim children are appropriately catered for? I beseech MUIS to publish a listing of all halal-certified outlets/organisations. No lard or pork is unacceptable. This is only the beginning. PAP has brought this upon itself.

We, the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one united people.
To foster harmony among all races, I fully support the needs and demands of each and every race.
The race is on. PAP, are you ready and set to GO?

Also all lessons in all schools should be taught in the "national language" too......

If most of the F&B went halal, MUIS will be richer than the Catholic church and City Harvest just by collecting halal fees. I suspect that's the main reason why in the past 10 years, MUIS has been quietly supportive of fanatical preachers who urge muslims to take halal certs more seriously. It ultimately means more money for MUIS and a huge ego boost to collect a modified form of jizya from the kafirs in the form of halal license fees.

Kopi0Kosong

Also all lessons in all schools should be taught in the "national language" too......

No, no..Like that will start a racial war. It's biased towards a particular race. It affects the other races.
There are Madrasah schools in Singapore.

Kopi0Kosong

Muslims are not a race. There are chink and keling muslims around. So the halal cert cannot be said to be biased towards any race.

Did I state anywhere that 'Muslim is a race'? In trying to push through such thoughts, what are you trying to achieve?
My reference to race was 'National Language'.
My mention of Madrasah schools is information pertaining to 'religious schools'.