• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Son of Senior Counsel sentenced to jail for dodging NS...

CoffeeAhSoh

This thread needs a scroobal response. E.g. Migrate before what age, don't apply for Singapore passport, Mindef waiver etc you know the boring administrative stuffs. :rolleyes: As far as peasants can see, justice is served even to the privileged. Majullah PAP! :cool:

You didnt get the point . Its not his fault. Why jail him. What purpose does the jail time serves ?
He is doing his ns now.

CoffeeAhSoh

Actually this guy returned to serve his NS. Just that he decided to finish his studies first.

Korea has a program that allows the men to decide when they want to serve their NS. I think it wouldn't be too disruptive to adopt that approach as well.

If you implement 1 million dollar fines and jail times of 20 years, all it would do is send the CLEAR message that Singapore does not want these males to go back to serve their NS. Stay away from Singapore. I think that would be good actually.

Right now the message is so hazy. Obviously, this Tan fellow calculated that it is still worthwhile to return to Singapore to serve NS.

Just take away the jail time. A hefty fine s$ and extended ns time of 1 year will suffice.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Just take away the jail time. A hefty fine s$ and extended ns time of 1 year will suffice.

How hefty? Like $1 million?

I am all for super hefty fine. Make it $10 million.

The thing is govt is trying to balance between showing the kiasu kiasee Singaporeans some form of revenge sentence to make sinkies happy and appeased versus making punishment so severe, that nobody in their right mind would come back to serve NS.

While we are it at, how about make it death sentence. Come back serve NS and then sentenced to death. Very clear and shows that Singapore takes this NS thing very very very very very seriously.

CoffeeAhSoh

Actually this guy returned to serve his NS. Just that he decided to finish his studies first.

Korea has a program that allows the men to decide when they want to serve their NS. I think it wouldn't be too disruptive to adopt that approach as well.

If you implement 1 million dollar fines and jail times of 20 years, all it would do is send the CLEAR message that Singapore does not want these males to go back to serve their NS. Stay away from Singapore. I think that would be good actually.

Right now the message is so hazy. Obviously, this Tan fellow calculated that it is still worthwhile to return to Singapore to serve NS.

This fellow has proved, amonsgt other things, that without chinese as a second language he can
Still earned his Bsc and Msc and work in a mnc.

CoffeeAhSoh

How hefty? Like $1 million?

I am all for super hefty fine. Make it $10 million.

The thing is govt is trying to balance between showing the kiasu kiasee Singaporeans some form of revenge sentence to make sinkies happy and appeased versus making punishment so severe, that nobody in their right mind would come back to serve NS.

While we are it at, how about make it death sentence. Come back serve NS and then sentenced to death. Very clear and shows that Singapore takes this NS thing very very very very very seriously.

Assuming he came back 10 years ago with his weight it will still be office vocation for him. Mindef needs to relook on a case by case basis.

You didnt get the point . Its not his fault. Why jail him. What purpose does the jail time serves ?
He is doing his ns now.

No. Simple thing is he require to serve NS at 18 or 19 but did not. Now he then he serve when 26 or 27 does not detract from the offence of not serving when supposed to.

Second he not returning for NS when not yet a Canadian citizen sound fishy to you? scroobal would ask why foreign citizen should serve NS you should ask if he was foreign citizen before required to serve NS, and if somehow dual citizen then Singapore citizenship was renounced and when.

No such thing as I do whatever whenever I like. The family obviously quite well informed on such matters not like peasants can claim I dunno sorry mea culpa.

CoffeeAhSoh

No. Simple thing is he require to serve NS at 18 or 19 but did not. Now he then he serve when 26 or 27 does not detract from the offence of not serving when supposed to.

Second he not returning for NS when not yet a Canadian citizen sound fishy to you? scroobal would ask why foreign citizen should serve NS you should ask if he was foreign citizen before required to serve NS, and if somehow dual citizen then Singapore citizenship was renounced and when.

No such thing as I do whatever whenever I like. The family obviously quite well informed on such matters not like peasants can claim I dunno sorry mea culpa.

Jail time is the easy solution. It doesnt serve anything. He will still apply for his canadian citizenship after his ns and most certainly will get it. No sweat. Btw 4 months jail time. I think half of it can serve at home .

that's a lot of canadian bacon. this guy must be very depressed as a kid without a father figure by his side when growing up. see bacon must eat.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Jail time is the easy solution. It doesnt serve anything. He will still apply for his canadian citizenship after his ns and most certainly will get it. No sweat. Btw 4 months jail time. I think half of it can serve at home .

He is already a Canadian citizen.

retrenched

canadian/north american diet must be v good...tt is why amos must come back or else may bloat to this guy's size :smile:

french fries with toppings yum yum.

He was only 12 when he left singapore. Dont think there are many such cases. Hefty fine say s$1m in lieu of jail time.

Wat about those kids of PRs who came here as kids get a all the benefits..Went to Singkie schools etc..Than when get called up..Renounce their pr but work in Singkieland as employment pass? They should be barred from the country..

nayr69sg

Staff member
Wat about those kids of PRs who came here as kids get a all the benefits..Went to Singkie schools etc..Than when get called up..Renounce their pr but work in Singkieland as employment pass? They should be barred from the country..

From what I was told by such kids when they were crying in front of me in Tekong, they said that in order for them to "renounce their PR" the WHOLE family (yes mum and dad included) also have to leave Singapore.

They said that they basically serve to let mum and dad stay in Singapore.

So whole family siam Singapore? Then they come back to sinkieland under employment pass? Zhun bo?

Those male children on dependent pass and growing up in Singapore are no longer eligible for PR or employment pass. Thus they cannot work here. There have been cases where they have asked Mindef to allow them to serve NS knowing the consequence.

Charlie99

After serving his sentence, and completing NS, will the Singapore government allow him to keep his dual citizenship?

I thought he is already a Canadian citizen. He applied for renunciation but the sinkee government didn't allow him because he had not serve NS. Right now, he has dual citizenship. Who says sinkapore doesn't recognize dual citizenship? :biggrin: