• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Property News

Investor888

Amusing isn't it...this is like I went and ate chicken rice at Ah Chong stall at Iskandar. I find it quite tasty...reasonable price and quality...I will go again.

Then at a food forum, there couple of critics whom only read food blogs....kept impose views to me Ah Chong chicken rice cannot make it...and went on to say Iskandar is not a place for chicken rice.

It's strange why they don't listen to patrons of Ah Chong chicken rice...whom is at best position to give opinion....

You just have to realise that basically ALL Spore writers are Pro-establishment. They are not going to put down Singapore in favour of Iskandar. Its a no-brainer who they will write positive articles about. I mean, they always say JB is super ultra dangerous. In my decades there, no one has tried to crash into my vehicle even at 3am in the morning in Nusajaya. However, their putting down of JB has increased raised my awareness and surrounding though.

Tekkun

You just have to realise that basically ALL Spore writers are Pro-establishment. They are not going to put down Singapore in favour of Iskandar. Its a no-brainer who they will write positive articles about. I mean, they always say JB is super ultra dangerous. In my decades there, no one has tried to crash into my vehicle even at 3am in the morning in Nusajaya. However, their putting down of JB has increased raised my awareness and surrounding though.

I would describe it like this:

Singapore is like a modern shopping complex. All clean and laid out, escalators and branded stores. Everything is well organised.
Supermarkets had their meats wrapped and laid out neatly with fixed price tags.

Iskandar is like a wet market. Very disorganised and people yelling every where. Food stalls and tables all laid out on cement floors. What you need is what they sell. You can get coconut water to French wines here. Fish mongers cut the fish to what you want and with blood and guts flowing out.

Those who go to shopping complex always say wet market is dirty and sweaty. They don't like it there. Interestingly enough the freshest and best meats are in wet markets. Those who buy in supermarkets do not have any choice but to pick up what is laid in front of them. They will tell you their shopping is the best. Iskandar is always dirty. No class. :biggrin:

xebay11

I would describe it like this:

Singapore is like a modern shopping complex. All clean and laid out, escalators and branded stores. Everything is well organised.
Supermarkets had their meats wrapped and laid out neatly with fixed price tags.

Iskandar is like a wet market. Very disorganised and people yelling every where. Food stalls and tables all laid out on cement floors. What you need is what they sell. You can get coconut water to French wines here. Fish mongers cut the fish to what you want and with blood and guts flowing out.

Those who go to shopping complex always say wet market is dirty and sweaty. They don't like it there. Interestingly enough the freshest and best meats are in wet markets. Those who buy in supermarkets do not have any choice but to pick up what is laid in front of them. They will tell you their shopping is the best. Iskandar is always dirty. No class. :biggrin:

Sure thing, that's why I want to be a Malaysian now :smile:

Tekkun

Singapore facing housing glut. So how?

SINGAPORE: With developers facing potential charges for unsold private residential units that could amount to S$100 million, the Real Estate Developers’ Association of Singapore (REDAS) renewed its call on Thursday (Feb 18) for the Government to review the property cooling measures.

“The real estate market is reeling from the compounding effects of an oversupply situation, rising vacancy rates, weak demand and increasing interest rates,” REDAS president Augustine Tan said at the association’s Spring Festival Lunch.

“There is therefore an urgent need for action to bring stability and ensure a soft landing to prevent further damage to the fragile economy,” he added, citing weak global growth, turmoil in financial markets and Singapore’s own restructuring journey as risks to the economy.

Mr Tan, who is also the executive director for property sales at Far East Organization, noted that as at the end of last year, there is a supply of more than 60,000 units in the pipeline and a record 26,500 vacant units.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/faced-with-s-100m-bill/2529018.html

Frodo

SINGAPORE: With developers facing potential charges for unsold private residential units that could amount to S$100 million, the Real Estate Developers’ Association of Singapore (REDAS) renewed its call on Thursday (Feb 18) for the Government to review the property cooling measures.

“The real estate market is reeling from the compounding effects of an oversupply situation, rising vacancy rates, weak demand and increasing interest rates,” REDAS president Augustine Tan said at the association’s Spring Festival Lunch.

“There is therefore an urgent need for action to bring stability and ensure a soft landing to prevent further damage to the fragile economy,” he added, citing weak global growth, turmoil in financial markets and Singapore’s own restructuring journey as risks to the economy.

Mr Tan, who is also the executive director for property sales at Far East Organization, noted that as at the end of last year, there is a supply of more than 60,000 units in the pipeline and a record 26,500 vacant units.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/faced-with-s-100m-bill/2529018.html

I can imagine the following response...;p

Glut? What glut? At a stroke of a pen our pap govt can lift all the property curbs and Singaporeans will soak up the glut like gluttons and we will have the opposite problem, lack of supply. Glut in Singapore is not a problem when you consider Iskandar is so much worst off. Having problems selling or renting your SG property? Take heart, and be thankful it is not JB property because JB property need 20 years to make money. SG property maybe in 2 to 3 years you will make money if you hold on to it.

xebay11

So far, as one forummer puts it, the glut in Singapore only has caused his rent not to go up, but other than that, no empty periods.

Frodo

mothership.sg/2014/04/the-99-year-time-bomb-some-singaporeans-are-sitting-on

Came across the above article about our darling HDB flats..

Tekkun

mothership.sg/2014/04/the-99-year-time-bomb-some-singaporeans-are-sitting-on

Came across the above article about our darling HDB flats..

Leasehold in Singapore is all about buying the rights to live in a property. It is not about ownership of the piece of land. Once it is up, it has to be surrendered.
Leasehold in Malaysia is more than just buying the rights. There's not any instance where leasehold land & property is taken back. On the contrary, it is renewed everytime once the lease is up.
Freehold is totally different story. It is yours forever and after. And that freely available in Malaysia.

Frodo

Leasehold in Singapore is all about buying the rights to live in a property. It is not about ownership of the piece of land. Once it is up, it has to be surrendered.
Leasehold in Malaysia is more than just buying the rights. There's not any instance where leasehold land & property is taken back. On the contrary, it is renewed everytime once the lease is up.
Freehold is totally different story. It is yours forever and after. And that freely available in Malaysia.

HDB really is bao jiak...For our govt!

xebay11

Only applies to Malaysian, for foreigners anytime can change, even if freehold in their lifetime, when pass down may become leasehold.

Tekkun

Only applies to Malaysian, for foreigners anytime can change, even if freehold in their lifetime, when pass down may become leasehold.

Freehold properties for foreigners is allowed as per MM2H.
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Freehold/Leasehold Land

Foreigners can acquire both freehold and leasehold land in Malaysia. Most leasehold land is owned by the state and leases are usually for 60 or 99 years. At the end of the lease it is fairly easy to renew the lease for a further 99 years upon payment of a premium which is based on the current market value of the property. It is also possible to arrange for a new lease during the period of the existing lease. This involves canceling the existing lease and applying for a new one.

http://www.mm2home.com/services/properties

Tekkun

But this does not mean the govt must grant SERS and if it chooses not to, what can the citizens do?

After enbloc, owners get to buy new units but at subsidised new prices (I supposed at higher prices)?
Many owners work through their life to pay off their loans. So when do they get to be loan free when this Sers crop up again?
Or I do not know the system.

xebay11

These people are willingly being screwed, get a shiok feeling . Where else those who brought JB condos got screwed painfully hor . See the different ? LOL

I don't know which "these people" you are referring to but I never get into a position to get screwed, whether in Singapore or JB.