• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Woman saved and invested to amass $1 million in cash by age 29

This story is for those 狗眼看人低的人 in this forum: Woman with no rich parents. Was paying rent for HDB. No need to sell body and soul to have 1 million cash by age 29.

http://www.straitstimes.com/busines...s-dividends-and-more-to-know-your-stocks-well

Financial expert Anna Haotanto was determined to make a success of her investment portfolio after seeing her family face money woes in her university years.

There were concerns about whether they could pay the rent and deal with their heavy loans.

The tough times proved an effective motivator for Ms Haotanto to save and invest - and ultimately amass $1 million in cash by age 29.

"We were living pay cheque to pay cheque. For some months, we were behind on the rent. I was very worried we could not pay it," she recalls.

During her university years, other family members also borrowed at credit card interest rates of about 24 per cent, leading to a debt of $15,000 to $20,000.

Ms Haotanto, 31, helped her family pay those debts when she started work at research firm Business Monitor after university.

She then moved on to be a relationship manager in wealth management for five years at a different company.

Ms Haotanto also walks the talk, saving and investing under the tutelage of mentors that eventually yielded a healthy portfolio of assets.

She was earning a six-digit annual salary before leaving the wealth-management industry and made about $100,000 through buying and selling a private property.

"When I started working, I was just trying to save," she says.

"I wanted to be financially free and secure and I didn't want to live pay cheque to pay cheque. I wanted to give my loved ones the life they want and the life I couldn't have in the past."

She has also bought a flat and a car for her family.

When Ms Haotanto realised that she had saved $1 million - 75 per cent was from savings and 25 per cent from investment returns - she didn't reward herself with a lavish gift as she always thought she would, but opted to buy a universal life insurance plan to ensure she and her family would be provided for if anything happened to her.

That plan will pay out US$1.1 million (S$1.5 million) in the event of terminal illness or death.

Last year, drawn by the desire to help women become more financially independent, Ms Haotanto, who is single, set up her own company and founded the website thenewsavvy.com to educate users on financial matters.

Her motivation arose from doing community service during her junior college years when she saw women who were stuck helplessly in marriages in spite of physical abuse or unfaithful spouses because they did not have savings or earning capability.

"If they had money... it'd be easier for them to walk out of the marriage."

The business has not broken even yet but has plans to expand significantly.

Q Moneywise, what were your growing-up years like?

A Money-wise, we didn't have a lot, but we had enough and were not struggling. The only thing was - we were living pay cheque to pay cheque.

When I was growing up, my mum was a middle-management staff member at a textile company of about 10 people, and my dad was doing a business that didn't do very well.

My parents, my younger brother and I rented a four-room flat in Tampines.

The income was just enough to cover our living expenses like rent and food. We didn't have leftover money to buy things like toys. We didn't have savings. My weekly allowance in secondary school was $50.

damn that has always been my goal,cant believe a woman actually did it before me.

wait fuck this shit,why is this article talking about buying a 1 million dollar insurance policy,i take that back,fuck u fuck this bitch and fuck the insurance company behind this sponsored advertisement content.

damn that has always been my goal,cant believe a woman actually did it before me.

wait fuck this shit,why is this article talking about buying a 1 million dollar insurance policy,i take that back,fuck u fuck this bitch and fuck the insurance company behind this sponsored advertisement content.

Guess the race ?

Hey that's straits times article, not advertisement content. Click on the link and see for yourself. Insurance is only a small part mentioned of the whole story. Anyway nothing wrong to buy 1 million insurance.

"..........In 2005, when I was 21 years old in Singapore Management University, I made my first investment of $1,000 to $2,000 in Golden Agri after doing a project in school on palm oil.

Q Describe your investing strategy.

A I mostly invest in listed stocks in sectors I am familiar with. I invest in blue chips or stocks paying a stable dividend of 3 per cent to 6 per cent.

The sectors I invest in include financial services, technology, real estate and casinos.

I identify trends in these sectors and try to stay ahead of them. Also, I study a company's revenue streams, the management team, the business model and debt level.

Also, I will compute valuation multiples for a company - such as its price-to-book ratio and price-to-equity ratio - and compare these against the multiples of the sector to assess if a stock is cheap.

I intend to hold the majority of them for three to five years.

I also invest in insurance to protect myself and provide for my beneficiaries in the event of unforeseen circumstances. I buy life, health, personal accident and even endowment insurance plans.

The insurance payout will be about $2.5 million upon death, depending on how it happens.

I also hold United States Treasuries to hedge against economic downturns.

Most of my investments and my spare cash are denominated in US dollars as I believe the US dollar has room to grow. I bought most of my US dollars at an average price of $1.255.

I also invest in private companies.

I allocate maybe about 10 per cent to 20 per cent of my money for short-term investments. Sometimes, I trade daily, weekly or monthly if there are opportunities like price drops.

Q What's in your portfolio?

A Fifty per cent is in equities, 15 per cent is in bonds, 20 per cent in cash, and 15 per cent in private companies. The total value of the portfolio is now about $1.5 million.

The investments are spread evenly across companies for diversification purposes. I am invested in stocks like Google, Amazon, Tesla and Facebook.

The amount in bonds is mainly invested in 30-year zero-coupon US Treasuries. When their price goes up by a bit, I sell them and when their price drops, I buy them back.

The returns on my stock and my bond portfolio have worked out to an average of 8 per cent to 10 per cent per year since 2009. The majority of those returns came from equities, particularly when markets recovered from a crisis.

The private companies I invested in are mostly Singapore tech start-ups. I entered about one to two years ago and their revenue has since grown on a collective basis by about 10 per cent.

I spend about $11,000 a year on my personal insurance premiums. Including the premiums I pay for my family, the total is around $26,000 annually.................."

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
75% from savings and 25% from investments. That shows you how high her salary is. 5 years 1 million and at 75% means every year she has to save 150k. She is probably earning closer to 250k or 300k to be able to save 150k. For someone earning 300k with no family, saving 150k is highly possible. And from the few hundred k, to earn additional 250k is not diff if you consider compounding

She was earning a six-digit annual salary before leaving the wealth-management industry and made about $100,000 through buying and selling a private property.

I would like to compare this woman to those who are waiting for higher pay for engineers compare to bankers... pathetic right?

She dun wait for some bullshit to happen, she do it her own way.. This is what i like..

Sinkie losers always wait for things that help them ....successful people help themselves..i just cannot stand sinkie losers.

This kind of wealth managers make me laugh. Buying a car is just about the worse purchase you can make in singapore. You can do all the maths till the cows come home, but its not economically viable. It has to be treated similar to a luxury purchase such as a Rolex watch. When you add up the COE, road tax, purchase price, lease financing interest costs, maintenance and fuel, you have to ride alot of taxis and MRTs to come even remotely close to justifying the cost of a car. Which fucking shit bank pays her a 6 figure salary for this kind of wealth management. And i hope the flat she is talking about is not a HDB flat, because it would be an even bigger mistake then the car.

I would like to compare this woman to those who are waiting for higher pay for engineers compare to bankers... pathetic right?

She dun wait for some bullshit to happen, she do it her own way.. This is what i like..

Sinkie losers always wait for things that help them ....successful people help themselves..i just cannot stand sinkie losers.

what exactly did she do besides being a wealth manager in a bank?other than sucking her clients dicks and having a pair of boobs,iv seen lots of singaporean investor blogs with six and seven digit portfolio and they sure as hell didnt accomplish it by being a high class prostitute for the bank.its obvious most of her million dollar networth come from her work and savings,and not because shes a good investor or successful track record.not to mention no sane investor would ever buy 1 million dollars worth of ilps or universal life or annuities....those things are a blatant ripoff and suck ur agent fees and commissions for years and have shitty returns and huge penalties........obviously a paid advertisement article or sponsored content by some scumbag insurance company.

This kind of feel good article with questionable reporting by Shit Times is di riguer for PAP propaganda these days. In other words, its pure shit. So many unanswered questions.

- Does these savings she has mentioned in the $1 million portfolio include her CPF? Because CPF is a form of savings too, especially when she is talking long term planning
- This accumulation of portfolio is only possible if she is a female with no NS obligations. Take the last 2 years, for example, that she worked as a wealth management staff. SHe claims to be earning 6 figures a year in those last 2 years. Well, a sinkie male has to do NS and so a sinkie male is 2 years behind her in earning power. NS salary is a pittance. If she had to do NS followed by reservist obligations, guaranteed she cannot attain $1 million by age 29.
- Which sinkie will spend $11000 a year on life insurance policies? And $26,000 a year on the family. Holy shit. This is sound financial advice? If she runs into financial or health problems later on, or if she has a family and money is tight. The first temptation is cut out the monthly insurance payments. Meaning the policy will be void for non payment, hence making all her $11000 a year contributions during better times null and void.
- Has this reporter asked to see her bank statement or investment statement with the portfolio laid as she has said? Or is the reporter just going by her word and trustworthiness as an Indon? LOL. When I was interviewed for a award by an organization, I had to show all the paperwork from how much I initially invested, cash flows through the years I received from this investment, and how much I divested it at, and the gross profit derived. A reputable company don't just take someone's word at it.

This kind of feel good article with questionable reporting by Shit Times is di riguer for PAP propaganda these days. In other words, its pure shit. So many unanswered questions.

- Does these savings she has mentioned in the $1 million portfolio include her CPF? Because CPF is a form of savings too, especially when she is talking long term planning
- This accumulation of portfolio is only possible if she is a female with no NS obligations. Take the last 2 years, for example, that she worked as a wealth management staff. SHe claims to be earning 6 figures a year in those last 2 years. Well, a sinkie male has to do NS and so a sinkie male is 2 years behind her in earning power. NS salary is a pittance. If she had to do NS followed by reservist obligations, guaranteed she cannot attain $1 million by age 29.
- Which sinkie will spend $11000 a year on life insurance policies? And $26,000 a year on the family. Holy shit. This is sound financial advice? If she runs into financial or health problems later on, or if she has a family and money is tight. The first temptation is cut out the monthly insurance payments. Meaning the policy will be void for non payment, hence making all her $11000 a year contributions during better times null and void.
- Has this reporter asked to see her bank statement or investment statement with the portfolio laid as she has said? Or is the reporter just going by her word and trustworthiness as an Indon? LOL. When I was interviewed for a award by an organization, I had to show all the paperwork from how much I initially invested, cash flows through the years I received from this investment, and how much I divested it at, and the gross profit derived. A reputable company don't just take someone's word at it.

well she has a million dollar portfolio,im sure she has no problem meeting her $26000 a year obligations.why does she even need so much insurance policy?shit if she invest her million dollar portfolio properly at 29 years old,in 30 years time when shes 59 years old she can easily have $13 million dollars.....thats not even including the money she makes from property investment or from her future 100k per annual jobs.

well she has a million dollar portfolio,im sure she has no problem meeting her $26000 a year obligations.why does she even need so much insurance policy?shit if she invest her million dollar portfolio properly at 29 years old,in 30 years time when shes 59 years old she can easily have $13 million dollars.....thats not even including the money she makes from property investment or from her future 100k per month jobs.

That $26,000 a month insurance policy is for herself and the family. If she dies, it pays. But if she lives to a long live, you are right, her portfolio will be worth much more then $2.5 million pay out. Basically, that insurance money is for her estate, not for her portfolio.

how many of us make a six figure salary?

I certainly didn't & it took me longer to make my 1st million & I had to forego buying a car which is I think is a luxury in Spore.

Even if you have made a million it's not easy to keep it because of falling prices of stocks & property. Even if you hold money or gold their value has fluctuated drastically.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

I certainly didn't & it took me longer to make my 1st million & I had to forego buying a car which is I think is a luxury in Spore.

Even if you have made a million it's not easy to keep it because of falling prices of stocks & property. Even if you hold money or gold their value has fluctuated drastically.

Just out of pure curiosity. Are you married? With kids?

If you are married, it is better to consider emigrating to countries like Canada which supports families with children.

I know someone who went to Canada & eventually had 7 kids :smile:

yahoo55

Both me and my wife make 6 figure salaries, but we still find Sinkieland an expensive place to live and raise kids.

My youngest kid is struggling with school and is failing, my wife is now thinking of resigning from her job to teach the kids. Soon we will be a single-income family and it's gonna get tougher for me. Fortunately we are debt-free and have made some good investments and good savings to fall back on if needed.

Nowadays, $1 million is not a lot. For both me and my wife to retire now in Singapore, we probably need $3 million or more.