• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LIVE snippets 6 September..

kopiOuncle

1441538050351815.jpg

WP's Ron Tan, candidate for Nee Soon GRC, talks about the dilution of the Singapore core, which he attributes to the "single-minded" pursuit of economic development in the last few decades.

lackluster speech.....

1441538371530625.jpg

sound so tired so low key and so uninteresting...

all tired now...

1441538545239371.jpg

boring boring boring................

The SDP rally kicks off with Teo Soh Lung, a former political detainee, as the first speaker. She contested in Yuhua for the SDP in 2011.

1441538371530625.jpg

This election is historic. The first general election that is fully contested.

Operation Cold Store. A security exercise that destroyed our country. 7 months before the election....

1441538967921906.jpg

Ms Teo uses Hokkien phrase "to slaughter the chicken to scare the monkey" to describe political detentions. "The PAP thinks it can use this method to silence you. Are you silenced?" she asks.

Meanwhile, the field at Jurong East Stadium is filling up and the bleachers are almost full. ST PHOTO: OLIVIA HO

11896066_10153112219768310_8250069951228369563_n.jpg

beauty queen from sdp

a glowing tribute from ms chee

Happening now: At SDP rally at Jurong East Stadium

On SDP's candidate for Yuhua, Jaslyn Go, Ms Chee says she has a real heart for people and despite her diminutive figure, she is not afraid to speak up for what is wrong. She says despite how competent or caring its candidates are, the elections are not about them but about Singaporeans.

19:36

"I'm not here to bash the ruling party, but to tell you the constructive work of the SDP has done to better the lives of Singaporeans," Ms Chee tells the crowd, before recounting on how they had helped several low income families in Marsling.

Touching on their proposals, she says:"SDP's policies are not manifestos crafted for elections - they are well-thought out policies for real Singaporeans."

1441539113387564.jpg

Nee Soon GRC candidate Kenneth Foo says "Money no enough", in English, Mandarin and Hokkien.

He goes on to talk about the poor in Singapore and the income gap. He quotes statistics that 10 per cent cannot meet basic living costs, but many do not apply for social welfare, he says.

"Is this what the PAP calls a first-world country?"

WP proposes implementing a minimum wage, encouraging homemakers return to the workforce, helping experienced seniors keep their jobs, among other policies, he says.

He also suggests cancelling one for one matching dollar for the Child Development Account, as this does not benefit poor families.

dr wong sk ....

1441540183561781.jpg

The next speaker is Dr Wong Souk Yee, who is a first-time SDP candidate, contesting in Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC. She is an adjunct lecturer at the Centre for English Language Communication at the National University of Singapore (NUS). She is a resident of Marsiling and lives with six cats and a dog, she tells the crowd.

She says with PAP party whip, MPs must vote for a bill even if they are against it. "How many times has the whip been lifted?"

With the existence of the whip and 7 opposition seats, can the parliament fulfill this role on checking on the government, she asks. "Laws are passed without meaningful debate or challenge... we need more opposition voices." ST PHOTO: OLIVIA HO

we need more opposition voices in parliament...we need more opposition mps

we need many many more voices in parliament

friends in yu hua

please vote for jaslyn go

a dedicated mother...pls give your votes to jaslyn

1441540208374087.jpg

Happening now: WP rally at Simei Road

WP's Dennis Tan says the PAP has spent much of the election harping on town council management, "smearing" the opposition.

"It is time for the PAP to abandon this unsavoury part of their political DNA once and for all," he says.

WP's Dennis Tan says we always laugh at ourselves for being "kiasu and kiasi", but who is the most "kiasu and kiasi" of us all?

PAP feels they need to completely in charge, they want everyone to have the "same groupthink", he says: "They want total domination."

Fengshan residents are not happy with the gerrymandering, and asked him why they have become an SMC, he says.

"PAP has not given an answer to fengshan residents but I suspect they know why it was carved out."

1441540865520520.jpg

now: WP rally at Simei Road

WP's Mohamed Fairoz Shariff says he will talk about an issue he is passionate about - helping adult learners.

His wife was just conferred a nursing degree from the University of Sydney, he says, and like other adult learners, she had to struggle work and studies. In the meantime, she also gave birth to their third child.

The WP has some proposals to help them, including mandatory work-life balance arrangements. Workers can therefore request to be dismissed earlier when they need to go to classes, he says.

speakes are tired worn out and burnt out

PAP is super smart - take a break and then hit hard next three days

all out attack next three days....

1441540809789837.jpg

Activist Gilbert Goh, who is running in Ang Mo Kio GRC, is up next. He begins in Mandarin, speaking again about foreigners working in Singapore and new citizens. He says that there is a big problem in Singapore, that the better your qualifications, the harder it is to find a job.

A lot of university graduates in their 30s and 40s are driving taxis, he says. Why is our country so rich, yet still unable to give these people jobs?

vote wisely..you are voting for your children
you are also voting for your children's children

vote for the reformed party

1441540865674073.jpg

Next up is SDP's Bryan Lim. He first recounts in Hokkien how a taxi uncle told him that the PAP like to sell roti prata - they keep flip-flopping on their words. Mr Lim hits out on the PAP and how they have increased the CPF withdrawal age from 55 to 65.

He tells another anecdote of how someone he spoke to telling him that Singapore's Parliament needs more opposition voices to debate issues. That it should be like rojak, "lu cha lu pang" - the more it's stirred, the more aromatic it is. ST PHOTO: OLIVIA HO

Gilbert Goh calls PM Lee Hsien Loong a "trader" - and is very careful to spell the word out, saying that he doesn't mean "traitor".

He says that he has five reasons for doing so, including how jobs and university places in Singapore have been "traded" to foreigners and foreign students. He brings up fake degrees again, saying that when his mother was admitted to hospital, he asked the doctor if his medical degree was from a local university or a foreign one.

1441541370636341.jpg

1441541900537979.jpg

Happening now: SPP rally at Stadium Drive

Volunteer Choo Zheng Xi greets the crowd: "Welcome to battleground Mountbatten."

He targets for criticism the People's Association's lapses in accounting, noting these were found in a test audit and asks: "Is this the tip of the iceberg?"

support Jeannette!!!

11828594_10200812681597182_6712935106362609160_n.jpg

a fighting tiger mum
Jeannette Chong-Aruldoss!!

safe_image.php

all the oppo candidates are heroes!!!

give them a big applause!!!

1441542787591522.jpg

now: At SDP rally at Jurong East Stadium

Ms Chong Wai Fung is up next. She says wants to touch on the issue of inclusiveness. On single mothers, she hits out against the government and how there is little support for such mothers. She calls for compassion for single mothers and says they should have equal benefits so their kids can start life on equal footing. "We are not encouraging single motherhood... but every child's welfare is important." ST PHOTO: OLIVIA HO

1441542928979230.jpg

Benjamin Pwee, candidate for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, starts with a shill, exhorting the crowd to buy a photo book so they can get an autograph from Mr Chiam See Tong who will appear later in the evening.

He goes into Mandarin and asks the crowd which language they want to hear: Hokkien, Teochew or Cantonese. He settles for Cantonese.

1441543866180018.jpg

James Martin Aruldoss, Jeannette's husband, earns cheers when he starts speaking in Teochew.

He says: "Mr Lim Biow Chuan works for the government, so he is afraid of government. Jeannette doesn't work for the government. She is not afraid of the government."

Mr Aruldoss now speaks in Malay, repeating his message about Jeanette's legal career and abilities.

Have an open mind....a good supporting husband...

Looking at our PAP minister earning the big bucks...disconnected ..big money. Minister are brilliant people.Only they can manage the world stage. I was told.

Residents welcome us warmly and cheer us on. We know not all who cheer us on will not support us at the ballot box. What is going on? Give your fullest support to Jeannette.Sleepless nights working for the people. She has a team young dedicated professionals to help her. No one can pull a wool over her eyes. She is sharp!!! She stands for fairness and compassion. She speaks with real conviction.

Why choose her. She is the right person who will speaks fearlessly for you. She will speak for you. She will hold the government accountable. You will not be short-changed. He can nothing less from Jeannette. Vote Jeannette. Send her into parliament!!!

Wow!!! a great speech by a loving and supportive husband!!!

11828594_10200812681597182_6712935106362609160_n.jpg

role of mp goes beyond the town council. highest calling. pap government is said all is well. the machinery is humming. there is a widening gap in our society. gap between aspirations of singaporeans and the reality of the high cost of living.the most disturbing concern is the PA. organ heavily funded by tax people money. one billion dollars this year!!! the financial lapses..AG....what did the pap minister say? they are mice!!!

very hard hitting speech by Jeannette !!!

1441545080815832.jpg

Mrs Chong-Aruldoss pays tribute to Mr Chiam's long years of service, for 23 years, before MPs received a generous allowance. She holds up his efficient management of the Potong Pasir Town Council as dispelling the PAP's assertion that opposition parties cannot run town councils.

"The role of an MP goes beyond successful town management."

I will speak for you

You can count on me to speak for you. I want to make mountbatten a home for the heart...

Mrs Chong-Aruldoss on the lapses in the PA's account books: "Who is going to call on the government to assure us that this is not endemic, that taxpayer money is responsibly and wisely spent? The PAP MPs are mice when talking about the PA lapses, but they crow like roosters at the lapses of the Aljunied Town Council."

Fiery speaker!!!

Lamei speaking @ SDP Rally, Yuhua.

Hope she can win over those old folks.