• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dr Allan Ooi’s farewell letter and last word before his death: Questions for SAF

Once anyone signs on, his NS liability is multiplied by 2 ... so cannot leave before that 4 or 5 years except going AWOL

This 2 for 1 rule doesn't apply for airforce pilot regulars

yeah i know.. sign-on = regular..

cannot be classified as full-time ns anymore..

5 years full-time NS???:confused:

regular say regular lah.. where got 5 years full-time ns?

That is exactly the principle. All SAF and Police scholars are required to join the service as a regular and drawing regular salaries. Also get promoted while underdoing undergrad studies.

yeah i know.. sign-on = regular..

cannot be classified as full-time ns anymore..

the extension of minimum fulltime ns liability is in the language lah. once the contract is signed, fulltime liability is extended especially when a bond is involved. cannot leave or break until liability has been reached. i remember the language extremely well, just like this mr. ooi who must have read it and got a shock out of it. it's unbelievable to you, but it's true to those who are involved.

Were you not drawing a regular's pay?

of course i was. there's no free lunch. i got paid, they extended the liability. and the senior g1 with the papers was very clear about the extension too before i signed. the date i remembered most during those years was the day when the fulltime liability ended, and it wasn't at the end of 2.5 years. i had a copy of that (ns fulfilment) date on the contract posted in my home desk drawer, so i could count the days... years... i mean. it's vivid to this day. anyway, i enjoyed the stink... i mean stinct. :biggrin:

u like that say means that also got ppl serving 8/10/12 years full-time ns..

some enciks also serve 20+years full-time ns liao..

Cthulhu

Found this on Harwarezone:
Originally Posted by SAF doc
Hi there,

I am a colleague of Dr Ooi and it is truly saddening. What he wrote there was similar to what he confided in me as well. He was unhappy and desperate to leave.

Whatever he wrote in the letter about having his bond extended against his will etc is true. It has happened to many saf docs… there are many of us stuck in this system now. Locked in at age 18, promised the moon and given excrement instead. Some are not unhappy, some are. The problem is, no one is allowed to resign. Dr Ooi’s family has more than enough $ to pay his bond but the SAF is afraid that if one is allowed to leave, all their docs will leave and they will have no-one left to work for them.

Some of us have tried to leave, but even after they sending resignation letters and talking to the highest levels of superiors, the answer has always been “no, we don’t want to discuss the bond” or simply “no, you cannot break”. No further discussion. Short of employing expensive lawyers to fight the gahmen… we’re stuck for 18-21 years after signing the bond.

It is truly saddening and SAF should be ashamed of bullying and deceiving young, bright doctors into a permanent sad future.

u like that say means that also got ppl serving 8/10/12 years full-time ns..

some enciks also serve 20+years full-time ns liao..

only applies to scholars who are bonded right out of pre-u or junior college lah. there must be a bond involved for their continued uni schooling. enciks do not fall into this category lah, you goondu.:biggrin:

of course i was. there's no free lunch. i got paid, they extended the liability. and the senior g1 with the papers was very clear about the extension too before i signed. the date i remembered most during those years was the day when the fulltime liability ended, and it wasn't at the end of 2.5 years. i had a copy of that (ns fulfilment) date on the contract posted in my home desk drawer, so i could count the days... years... i mean. it's vivid to this day. anyway, i enjoyed the stink... i mean stinct. :biggrin:

There you go.

I recall a chap that returned from Cambridge before the end of the 1st term in the 1st year as he changed his mind. Cleared his NS and went back. Thought he was an arrogant twit, you had to admire him for realising it early.

By the way, why bonds are not displayed is because, the salary is very close to the term "personal to holder". There was one instance, when a scholar resigned immediately when he realised that another colleague who got the same scholarship in the same year but at a different teritiary institution was on a different payscale even they of the same grade.

only applies to scholars who are bonded right out of pre-u or junior college lah. there must be a bond involved for their continued uni schooling. enciks do not fall into this category lah, you goondu.:biggrin:

pls dun call me goondu..

i am not so stuipd like u to sign-on:cool:

There you go.

I recall a chap that returned from Cambridge before the end of the 1st term in the 1st year as he changed his mind. Cleared his NS and went back. Thought he was an arrogant twit, you had to admire him for realising it early.

By the way, why bonds are not displayed is because, the salary is very close to the term "personal to holder". There was one instance, when a scholar resigned immediately when he realised that another colleague who got the same scholarship in the same year but at a different teritiary institution was on a different payscale even they of the same grade.

yea, it's an extremely sensitive subject when it comes to pay. it's true that not all get the same starting payscale even though they may be of the same year of graduation. tertiary institution and graduating performance play a part, but much of it is dependent on ecp - estimated current potential. it's a convoluted acronym. some start off with good ecp's while some do not. it seems like they (the top) already know who can be bg and who will hentah kaki as colonels.

Spot on bro, the CEP is a killer. Its the best bullshit indicator. Nothing to do with performance or actual work done.

Nice-Gook

at least i enjoyed every minute of it, and in fact, if not for some ang moh chee bye, i would have signed on for life. :biggrin:

<style></style>Just one pertinent question.Do you guys at the age of 18 know the full implications of the contract you sign.What I mean is do you guys get a copy of the draft before.Do you have access to 3rd party advise or opinions on the clauses before you sign your death warrant.

I had often come across when dealing with this government and on a table on that minute you are merely handed a stack of papers which is called a contract with x for you to sign.Without hesitation or the ability to fathom the clauses you are expected to sign.How was you contractual terms to a bond was handled?

rainnix

Hi there,

I am a colleague of Dr Ooi and it is truly saddening. What he wrote there was similar to what he confided in me as well. He was unhappy and desperate to leave.

Whatever he wrote in the letter about having his bond extended against his will etc is true. It has happened to many saf docs… there are many of us stuck in this system now. Locked in at age 18, promised the moon and given excrement instead. Some are not unhappy, some are. The problem is, no one is allowed to resign. Dr Ooi’s family has more than enough $ to pay his bond but the SAF is afraid that if one is allowed to leave, all their docs will leave and they will have no-one left to work for them.

Some of us have tried to leave, but even after they sending resignation letters and talking to the highest levels of superiors, the answer has always been “no, we don’t want to discuss the bond” or simply “no, you cannot break”. No further discussion. Short of employing expensive lawyers to fight the gahmen… we’re stuck for 18-21 years after signing the bond.

It is truly saddening and SAF should be ashamed of bullying and deceiving young, bright doctors into a permanent sad future.

Woah!!! This is serious, it is truly depressing for one to use suicide to escape a bond. Maybe we should get a copy of the bond before we continue to discuss the problem. Not mentioning that the family can pay for his bond breaking etc...

DerekDear

The LSA(Med) is a 12 yr bond unfortunately.

6 yrs of medical specialty training (3 yrs BST & 3 yrs AST) mixed in with 6 years of service with the SAF...and any further specialty training (overseas traineeship etc) you undertake will extend your service length...unfortunately most 18 yr olds don't understand what they're getting into when they signed up for it...I know of a MO that's bonded for 18 yrs...

But the thing is, all NUS-trained doctors are bonded to MOH for 5 yrs as well (3 yrs for guys, with the remaining 2 yrs service in NS as MOs)...so really, is there any difference?

Allan went for an overseas training for 6months in London - that would have extended his bond by 3 years. Also, in the RSAF one can choose specialities such as ophthalmology, which I heard can make money.

Also, SAF doctors get 40% more pay after they specialize compared to officers of the same rank (last time, don't know about now).

Of course, money is not an issue for this guy - face it, in the SAF you have to organize LIFE runs, write report here, report there; provide medical cover when CAF is doing IPPT... the rest of the day, hold men's balls and ask them to cough to check got hernia or not.... or give MC to people with cough and colds... or pilot who kheng and want to go home screw lao zoe.

To me, its an easy job for quite a good pay - after all, if you want excitement, join Commando/Ranger lor... there got real action, since SAF does send SOF people to Iraq and Afghanistan but never publicize in the 154th for fear of a public outcry... so media blackout.... just like this case.

:cool:

Hi there,

I thought SAF is the future?, a 'golden future' with a titanium rice bowl? look at all the BG's that had made it to 'premier league'?

1. BG Lee's - 1 PM, one Chariman of....
2. BG Yeo - Foreign minister
3. Rr Admiral Teo - Minister
4. Rr Admiral, 'who do no porn'... and more in various GLC's etc..

who says they have no future....:biggrin: