US neeeds to reexamine NASA's stance with PRC

Agoraphobic

PRC has been "embargoed" by US in space research all these years. It is time the US opens up relations with PRC in this area and operate together with the future in mind. A mission to Mars is too huge a task to go it alone, and a joint collaboration between the two biggies will lead a path forward for our species that will benefit all peoples on earth. If they can cooperate in other areas of economic activity, there is little reason to remain suspicious of each other to reach the final frontier for mankind.

http://news.xinhuanet.com/english/sci/2014-06/05/c_133384132.htm

U.S. needs to reexamine NASA's China exclusion policy: report

English.news.cn 2014-06-05 07:24:28

WASHINGTON, June 4 (Xinhua) -- The U.S. government needs to reexamine its space policy that blocks its space agency NASA from working on bilateral projects with China, a 286-page report mandated by U.S. Congress said Wednesday.
"This policy, while driven by congressional sentiment, denies the U.S. partnership with a nation that will probably be capable of making truly significant contributions to international collaborative missions," said the report from the U.S. National Research Council (NRC).
"It may be time to reexamine whether this policy serves the long-term interests of the United States," according to the report titled "Pathways to Exploration: Rationales and Approaches for a U. S. Program of Human Space Exploration."
U.S. space agency NASA is prohibited from bilateral cooperation with China, due to a federal law first introduced in 2011 by Frank Wolf, chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee that funds NASA.
Under the law, neither NASA nor the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy may "develop, design, plan, promulgate, implement or execute a bilateral policy, program, order or contract of any kind to participate, collaborate or coordinate bilaterally in any way with China or any Chinese-owned company," including "the hosting of official Chinese visitors at facilities belonging to or utilized by NASA."
"It is ... evident that given the rapid development of China's capabilities in space, it is in the best interests of the United States to be open to its inclusion in future international partnerships," said the report. "Current federal law preventing NASA from participating in bilateral activities with the Chinese serves only to hinder U.S. ability to bring China into its sphere of international partnerships and reduces substantially the potential international capability that might be pooled to reach Mars."
Meanwhile, the report concluded that a human Mars mission in the 2030s won't happen unless NASA's budget has a 5 percent increase per year.
"Any human exploration program will only succeed if it is appropriately funded and receives a sustained commitment on the part of those who govern our nation," said Mitchell Daniels, Purdue University president, former Governor of Indiana, and co- chair of the NRC committee that wrote the report.
"That commitment cannot change direction election after election. Our elected leaders are the critical enablers of the nation's investment in human spaceflight, and only they can assure that the leadership, personnel, governance, and resources are in place in our human exploration program," Daniels said.
NASA said in a statement it welcomes the NRC report.
"There is a consensus that our horizon goal should be a human mission to Mars," the U.S space agency said, adding "the stepping stone and pathways thrust of the NRC report complements NASA's on- going approach."

The last thing the US should do is cooperate with the Chinks on something as dangerous space travel. The chinks will use fake stuff and the spacecraft will crash for sure.

tiongs will very likely fake the moon landing and the moon too! :eek:

We have come to see and even humour at mainland Chinese for their fake products. I believe it happens with some of their private enterprises who are profit only oriented. But space travel is carried out by the state government and national pride and achievement is the aim, they would not cut costs at all. They will be super kiasu. As with all other ventures, there will be risks and possible unforeseen mishaps may take place, but for space travel, I believe they do not want any accidents to occur and will do all they can to cover any possible cockup. Chinese were cut off from participation in ISS, and are going for it themselves, alone. They will save a lot more time to get moving should the US partner with them in certain areas. And the States will definitely have a lot more funding on allowing the Chinese to take part in their programs. One thing for sure, the talk about human birth in space will proceed if PRC can send a mei mei aboard a spacecraft.

The last thing the US should do is cooperate with the Chinks on something as dangerous space travel. The chinks will use fake stuff and the spacecraft will crash for sure.

There has been speculation that NASA's moon landings were faked too! I am certain that PRC wants to shed that "counterfeit goods" image. There is fierce competition among their own companies, and the winners from these struggles will emerge ready to offer the world some decent quality products. It just takes a little time for them to get over this teething stage.

tiongs will very likely fake the moon landing and the moon too! :eek:

There has been speculation that NASA's moon landings were faked too! I am certain that PRC wants to shed that "counterfeit goods" image. There is fierce competition among their own companies, and the winners from these struggles will emerge ready to offer the world some decent quality products. It just takes a little time for them to get over this teething stage.

If the moon landings never took place, how did the retroreflectors end up where they are now?

they'll need to send another rabbit to rescue the 1st rabbit which had its ears frozen. until that happens, they'll continue to send rabbits to oblivion. :p

I do not doubt the Apollo lunar landings, the claims of fakes were made by others, some of whom have posted their "evidence" on youtube even.

If the moon landings never took place, how did the retroreflectors end up where they are now?

The rabbit was only a first attempt. It wasn't an easy task. Outer space is one heck of a rough place to be. Star Trek makes it look like child's play. Space travel is dangerous, lonely, and nobody is there to help you or even hear you scream. Arthur Clarke's 201 Space Odyssey is more realistic than Star Trek or Star Wars.

they'll need to send another rabbit to rescue the 1st rabbit which had its ears frozen. until that happens, they'll continue to send rabbits to oblivion. :p

I'm sure the US Congress will never approve such a collaboration with the Chinks, and it is also for the good of Uncle Sam in the long term.

Until the day when the Russians will allow Chinktronauts to visit their International Space Station, then we will come back to talk on this issue again.

Uncle Sam has no more money for space exploration. And China does not need anyone to partner with it, or else someone will claim China steals its space technology.

No one appreciates how a civilisation in 25 years can lift hundreds of millions of its people out of poverty and have year on year 7 to 9 percent growth in its economy and besides that, will be the largest economy in the world.

China was down for 2 centuries due to the decay of the stupid Manchus and infighting. It is transformed now.

Whether you like it or not, the dragon has awakened.

China's respectable economic growth during the last decade was mainly due to the worldwide demand for its production, without which, its own domestic consumption would be able to achieve. So, it's actually nothing to shout about.

If only ¾ of the world will boycott its products, I doubt most of their factories can survive beyond 1 year.

For reasons of national security, congress will not want China into their space program. But there is growing privatisation in the space program and many ISS and near earth orbit missions will be taken over by private companies like SpaceX, Boeing and Sierra Nevada. There is nothing much to prevent these private companies to "sell" technologies. China is already proceeding with her own space station and lunar missions. But for something further, like Mars, these big powers will have to overlook their self interests and work together towards a shared goal, for humanity. Russia now has almost no competitors for trips to the ISS, but come 2020 when the ISS is retired, they will have to look for something else to do. Perhaps Mars.

I'm sure the US Congress will never approve such a collaboration with the Chinks, and it is also for the good of Uncle Sam in the long term.

Until the day when the Russians will allow Chinktronauts to visit their International Space Station, then we will come back to talk on this issue again.

China's respectable economic growth during the last decade was mainly due to the worldwide demand for its production, without which, its own domestic consumption would not have achieved. So, it's actually nothing to shout about.

If only 3/4 of the world will boycott its products, I doubt most of their factories can survive beyond 1 year.

You're talking through your ass.

Besides lifting its own economy and its people, China also boosted the economy of Mexico, Brazil, Vietnam, Australia, etc.

Without China, these economies would be in recession. Nothing to shout about? You must be fed on shit to think that way.

<div style='text-align:center'>

<script type='text/javascript' src='http://pshared.5min.com/Scripts/PlayerSeed.js?sid=281&width=560&height=345&playList=517116860'></script>

<br/>

</div>

Uncle Sam's space program never made money, and that's why they terminated their Apollo program. And the space shuttle was prohibitively expensive and having leapt so far forward, there was no more pride to win, they already are ahead. So it is time to make money and hence the move to privatise space.

China's mission was to regain, restore and garner nationalistic pride. That has been achieved. Money has been made by their economic reforms. The next step is to be a part of world leadership and further human goals. Space is the next destination and this is where cooperation/partnership with the United States will help further our species' achievements and benefits.

Uncle Sam has no more money for space exploration. And China does not need anyone to partner with it, or else someone will claim China steals its space technology.

No one appreciates how a civilisation in 25 years can lift hundreds of millions of its people out of poverty and have year on year 7 to 9 percent growth in its economy and besides that, will be the largest economy in the world.

China was down for 2 centuries due to the decay of the stupid Manchus and infighting. It is transformed now.

Whether you like it or not, the dragon has awakened.

China is a big country. And starting from low ground, she had a lot of ground to cover, which she did. She rose by being open to the rest of the world. Opposite from her isolation and aloofness the previous thousand years. She still has gargantuan internal mess to rectify, but I believe she is doing her best in that area. How she eventually comes out of it, we're still waiting to see. China, and the world is a better place with her a successful country and not withdrawn into isolation and suspicious of one another. How the Central Communist Party will loosen her grip and spread the power is new for them, and for the rest of the world. The world is a different place than it was at the time of the world wars. Information spreads instantly now.

China's respectable economic growth during the last decade was mainly due to the worldwide demand for its production, without which, its own domestic consumption would be able to achieve. So, it's actually nothing to shout about.

If only ¾ of the world will boycott its products, I doubt most of their factories can survive beyond 1 year.

The National People's Congress (usually abbreviated NPC) is the national legislature of the People's Republic of China.
With 2,987 members in 2013, it is the largest parliamentary body in the world

U142P5029T2D567932F26DT20130305091821.jpg

If NASA and the USA wants to maintain their dominance in space and science and technology it needs to change the way it does things. When the Apollo missions were planned, it was meant to show the USSR that USA is lumpar 1,,,now the yanks cant even go back to the moon,,with the amount of $$ the Ah Tiongs have, the USA will be left behind. Due to budget cuts etc, they are not even making the effort to back to the moon and go to mars,,,remember in the 60s and 70s,,sci fi shows keep saying the moon and mars will be colonised,,and yet humans are still stuck in low earth orbit,,,

You're talking through your ass.

Besides lifting its own economy and its people, China also boosted the economy of Mexico, Brazil, Vietnam, Australia, etc.

Without China, these economies would be in recession. Nothing to shout about? You must be fed on shit to think that way.
Why is it then that whenever there is an anticipated recession in the US, China's economy will also fall in line? I wonder who is in fact talking through the ass? You think your useless ancestors in Ah Tiong land are so great? I told you already that their own domestic consumption alone can never fully absorb their production. Their bastard government had always cheated by greatly undervaluing their RMB and heavily cross-subsidizing their own industries (eg: through tax incentives, cheap state loans, etc). So, they will always have a greatly unfair advantage over similar manufacturing countries in Asia. Don't argue with me if you have less than 10 years of experience working directly with the Chinks.

You can go ahead and worship your bloody Chinks if you so desire. Nobody is stopping you. In the meantime, I'll just let the PAP to continue to torture you with more good years ahead, whilst I'll be watching from the sideline. Sinkies like you truly deserved to be screwed by the PAP and I'll say you deserve every bit of it from them. If you are that capable, then manage yourself out to avoid being screwed by the PAP instead of only know how to kpkb in this forum about the PAP's misdeeds every day. Behaving like this won't get you far. You are worse than a moron if you have no means to take fruitful action to improve your own well being in your country. Fortunately, I'm already miles ahead of you in this aspect and also not in the same grade as you. The owner of this forum is another leading good example for you to learn from.

Why is it then that whenever there is an anticipated recession in the US, China's economy will also fall in line? I wonder who is in fact talking through the ass? You think your useless ancestors in Ah Tiong land are so great? I told you already that their own domestic consumption alone can never fully absorb their production. Their bastard government had always cheated by greatly undervaluing their RMB and heavily cross-subsidizing their own industries (eg: through tax incentives, cheap state loans, etc). So, they will always have a greatly unfair advantage over similar manufacturing countries in Asia. Don't argue with me if you have less than 10 years of experience working directly with the Chinks.

You can go ahead and worship your bloody Chinks if you so desire. Nobody is stopping you. In the meantime, I'll just let the PAP to continue to torture you with more good years ahead, whilst I'll be watching from the sideline. Sinkies like you truly deserved to be screwed by the PAP and I'll say you deserve every bit of it from them. If you are that capable, then manage yourself out to avoid being screwed by the PAP instead of only know how to kpkb in this forum about the PAP's misdeeds every day. Behaving like this won't get you far. You are worse than a moron if you have no means to take fruitful action to improve your own well being in your country. Fortunately, I'm already miles ahead of you in this aspect and also not in the same grade as you. The owner of this forum is another leading good example for you to learn from.

You're really a piece of work, starting your ridiculous retort with an obvious lie. Since when did China 'fall in line' at the whim of an anticipated recession in USA? Have you missed taking your meds , asshole? And the rest of your post is totally irrelevant to the topic.