• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What New Zealand Can Teach The Rest Of The World About Living Well

<header style="box-sizing: border-box; margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline; font-family: Arial, FreeSans, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 17px;">What New Zealand Can Teach The Rest Of The World About Living Well

The Huffington Post | by Abigail Wise

Posted: <time datetime="2014-04-25T04:00:28-04:00" style="box-sizing: border-box; margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">04/25/2014 4:00 am EDT </time>Updated: <time datetime="2014-04-25T14:59:01-04:00" style="box-sizing: border-box; margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">04/25/2014 2:59 pm EDT</time>

n-MILFORD-SOUND-large570.jpg

</header>

Our Living Well, On Location series explores cities and countries from around the world. How do other people pursue health and happiness? We're going coast to coast, country to country to find out.

Prince William and Duchess Catherine's recent trip to New Zealand involved rugby coaching, meeting young cricket players and a sailing race -- enough to make anyone long for a trip to the Land of the Long White Cloud.

But New Zealand's not only about sports and competition. The small country can also teach us a lot about health, wellness and a happier lifestyle. From their adventurous spirit to their pride in safety, there are plenty of reasons this small nation has wonawards deeming it the best destination for nature, adventure and even the winner of a"favorite country in the world" award.

Kiwis have a sense of adventure.

o-BUNGEE-JUMP-570.jpg

There's never a dull moment in New Zealand. If they're not hiking mountains or living it up in Queenstown, "adventure capital of the world," New Zealand natives are off seeking thrills on the water that surrounds the country's islands. The Kawarau Bridge, on the South Island, is even home to the first ever commercial bungee jump, foundedby Henry van Asch and AJ Hackett. Hackett bungeed off the Eiffel Tower to promote the newly commercialized sport in 1987 before returning to New Zealand to lead other adventurers on their own jumps.

Kiwis' claim to adventuresome compatriots is undeniable, including among their ranks Sir Edmund Hillary, the first person to summit Mt. Everest, Jean Batten, known for her impressive solo flights in the 1930s, and Sir Peter Blake, a champion yachting star who led his team to win America's Cup twice in a row.

The country draws amateur adventurers from all walks of life, including rock climbers, surfers, hikers, cyclists and sky divers. New Zealand relies heavily on its tourism industry, its largest industry after dairy. The country raked in nearly $10 billion from international visitors last year and tourism is responsible for almost 6 percent of total jobs in New Zealand.

And while adrenaline-pumping, fear-defying feats can certainly increase risk of injury, there is at least one benefit to mental health, according to a study published in the Journal of Health Psychology. Researchers who interviewed adventure sport aficionados found that overcoming physical terror lead to feelings of fulfillment and a greater sense of well-being.

They're progressive.

New Zealand currently ranks as the most socially progressive country in the world, according to a report from the Washington-based think tank, Social Progress Imperative. It also came in highest on overall opportunity, a score based on personal rights, freedom, inclusion and access to advanced education.

New Zealand's progressive attitude dates back decades. In 1893, Governor Lord Glasgow signed the Electoral Act, making New Zealand the first country in the world to give all women the right to vote. Women in the U.S., on the other hand, weren't granted voting rights until decades later in 1920. By 1984, 13 percent of Members of Parliament were women, compared to 32 percent today. Plus, New Zealand was the first country to have its top three positions of power held by women at the same time.

And that has a real impact on quality of life: Social equality contributes to a country's overall "subjective well-being" -- an important measure of community health.

They honor indigenous tradition.

o-MAORI-TATTO-570.jpg

Though historically Māori -- the indigenous Polynesian people of New Zealand -- have suffered from discrimination and institutional disenfranchisement, present day Kiwi culture shows how hard the public is working to overcome that dark history. Now, New Zealand incorporates indigenous traditions into many of the most prideful national events.

The traditional Māori greeting, the "hongi" -- which literally means "to share breath" and is done by pressing one nose to another -- holds an important place in the culture and is still used to greet special visitors (like Prince Williams and Duchess Catherine when they landed in Wellington), as a sign of respect and welcoming. And the national rugby team performs the Haka victory dance, a traditional Māori dance, before each match -- a sign, however small, of progress and integration.

Embracing tradition through these rituals are vital to our social nature, according to Southeastern Louisiana University psychologist Matt J. Rossano, who published a study in Psychological Bulletin on how rituals showcase our values. They're important for maintaining our highly social cultures and uniting us through a sense of belonging and protection. "To build ever more cooperative and complex social groups, we use rituals," Rossano told Psychology Today.

New Zealand is safe.

In New Zealand, many cars are left unlocked, hitchhikers scatter the roadside and the country's laidback and tourist-friendly vibe hints at the nation's safety. New Zealand was officially ranked the third safest country in the world last year in the Global Peace Index. It also tied with Denmark for first place as one of the least politically corrupt countries on the planet.

They value a good read.

In New Zealand, education means a lot. The small country has one of the highest literacy rates in the world, coming in at 99 percent. The U.S. has a literacy percentage of 97.

Although small, their publishing industry is strong, according to Publishing Perspectives. It's actually right in line with the U.S. and the UK when looked at per capita, and major publishing housing, including Penguin/Pearson and Random House, have offices in New Zealand. While many of their reads are imported from overseas, they've set up successful business when it comes to educational books, like Learning Media NZ, which made $26 million in revenue last year.

Along with the many intellectual advantages to reading, there are a number of health benefits to the practice, which could help you sleep better, stress less and stay sharp.

They appreciate the great outdoors.

o-TONGARIRO-ALPINE-CROSSING-NEW-ZEALAND-570.jpg

New Zealand is home to a whole variety of geothermal activity and visitors and residents take full advantage of its natural spas. Many of the steaming rivers and naturally heated waterfalls that the Maori once used to bathe and cook in are open to the public.

New Zealand also works hard to fight climate change in an effort to preserve nature, including its 3,100 glaciers. In addition to climate change, precautions are taken when entering the country and traveling to its offshore islands to protect the endangered kiwi birds and dinosaur-aged tuatara, among other native species. Plus, with a plethora of waterfalls, sounds, glaciers, mountains and over 9,000 miles of beach, no one in New Zealand is ever far from a natural wonder.

And time spent in nature can do a world of good: A 2010 U.K. study found that even just five minutes spent in nature can boost mental health. And living near green space improves mood and even makes you nicer. All the more reason to get hiking.

Are you in kiwi land because of all the stated benefits there?

What exactly do people want out of life?

Would a Sinkie have a different set of wants compared to a Kiwi?

Do Sinkies appreciate what they have the way the Kiwis do?

Do Kiwis think Singapore is better off?

So many questions... so few answers.

stop pretending and come down to lorong 6 to eat some bak chang lah

So does this mean you prefer a kiwi lifestyle rather then a Singapore lifestyle?
What exactly do people want out of life?

Would a Sinkie have a different set of wants compared to a Kiwi?

Do Sinkies appreciate what they have the way the Kiwis do?

Do Kiwis think Singapore is better off?

So many questions... so few answers.

So does this mean you prefer a kiwi lifestyle rather then a Singapore lifestyle?

Up to 35~40 years of age? Singapore lifestyle.

After 40, Kiwi lifestyle.

There is no such thing as a "one size fits all" environment. Needs and values change as time goes by. That is why it is important to be mobile.

bro leongsam.. most of us lacked the pre-requisites to emigrate to NZ. Yr constant posts on the fantastic quality of life in NZ made us drool back in sg.. :p

It's over-rated by the media the same way Singapore is.

Ultimately, reality is what exists within oneself. A location is only a physical entity. How you interact with your surroundings is based upon your attitude towards what your senses experience and upon what sort of emotions have led you to your current location.

care to elaborate?

NZ is not the place to be if you're young, ambitious and want to achieve financial independence quickly.

However once you have enough in the bank and you want to indulge in hobbies that are suited the NZ landscape, the Kiwiland is the place for you.

Want to climb every mountain
Must spend most of your life
Outside of the Little Red Dot
Highest point is Bukit Timah
Rainbows are distinctly fewer
Since that Loon came along

[video=youtube;0UCDmsWcNfE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UCDmsWcNfE[/video]

i agree,how intelligent and progressive a population is is linked to how much they read,their love for books and publications......

not these rote learning education systems.

i agree,how intelligent and progressive a population is is linked to how much they read,their love for books and publications......

not these rote learning education systems.

The top schools in Auckland have adopted a rote learning curriculum in order to attract the rich Asians.

Those schools that promote liberal creative learning are shunned by parents who want their kids to be successful professionals.

Up to 35~40 years of age? Singapore lifestyle.

After 40, Kiwi lifestyle.

There is no such thing as a "one size fits all" environment. Needs and values change as time goes by. That is why it is important to be mobile.

what exactly is the singapore lifestyle pray tell?i just came back from melbourne to singapore and im wondering.what do sinkies do?they spend every day of their lives cooped up in their pigeon holes then in the day time they commute to their workplace,the hawkers will be in their hawker store,the kopitiam lady will be in the kopitiam,the bankers will be in the bank,day in day out,for months,years.what is it do singaporeans actually do?what do australians do?iv seen things in australia,things sinkies couldnt possibly imagine in their existence.

The top schools in Auckland have adopted a rote learning curriculum in order to attract the rich Asians.

Those schools that promote liberal creative learning are shunned by parents who want their kids to be successful professionals.

its alright,as long as the ang moh people stay true to their culture of adventure,arts,music and social.it doesnt matter what the silly asians want to do.life is about enjoying the journey and creating art and stories not trying to get ahead in the rat race.in fact i wonder why the heck are the hordes of asians doing in australia anyway?bringing their stupid confucianism values and education ethics and property speculations?so many asian girls want exactly do they contribute to australia besides working and studying just like they do back home?one rat race isnt enough they need to create one whereever they go?

what exactly is the singapore lifestyle pray tell?i just came back from melbourne to singapore and im wondering.

Singapore is fast paced... lot's of travel... lot of opportunities.... lots of ambitious like minded people. There is also ample opportunity to play as hard as you work.

None of that exists in NZ. Things take forever to happen. For example, if you wanted to do something as simple as opening a small factory, the regulatory process would take forever. In Singapore, with the help of the EDB/JTC, a new manufacturing plant could go from zero to fully operational in less than 6 months.

In Singapore, there are many government agencies that are there to help you. In NZ, the government agencies seem to exist just to slow you down on purpose. When you've finished with the government approvals, you then have to deal with the Maori. Nothing happens without their blessing and it order to get it, you need to pay the tribe "consultants" a hefty fee just to start work on your case. It's legalised corruption.... far worse than Singapore.

After all the hard work, all you have to de-stress at the end of the day is an invitation to drink some crap beer in someone's cold and drafty backyard.

its alright,as long as the ang moh people stay true to their culture of adventure,arts,music and social.it doesnt matter what the silly asians want to do.life is about enjoying the journey and creating art and stories not trying to get ahead in the rat race.in fact i wonder why the heck are the hordes of asians doing in australia anyway?bringing their stupid confucianism values and education ethics and property speculations?so many asian girls want exactly do they contribute to australia besides working and studying just like they do back home?one rat race isnt enough they need to create one whereever they go?

Unfortunately, there are so many Asians that they are overrunning the whole system and the Ang Mohs are now on the back foot struggling to preserve their lifestyle of sloth and liquor fueled partying.

Singapore is fast paced... lot's of travel... lot of opportunities.... lots of ambitious like minded people. There is also ample opportunity to play as hard as you work.

None of that exists in NZ. Things take forever to happen. For example, if you wanted to do something as simple as opening a small factory, the regulatory process would take more forever. In Singapore, with the help of the EDB/JTC, a new manufacturing plant could go from zero to fully operational in less than 6 months.

In Singapore, there are many government agencies that are there to help you. In NZ, the government agencies seem to exist just to slow you down on purpose. When you've finished with the government approvals, you then have to deal with the Maori. Nothing happens without their blessing and it order to get it, you need to pay the tribe "consultants" a hefty fee just to start work on your case. It's legalised corruption.... far worse than Singapore.

After all the hard work, all you have to de-stress at the end of the day is an invitation to drink some crap beer in someone's cold and drafty backyard.

why would the everyday man care about how fast it takes to setup a factory or business processes?u saying singapore is a factory and the people automatons?what can u see in singapore pray tell?besides the dull non descript HDB flats whereever u go,the same boring cookie cutter neighbourhoods and town centers,boring shopping malls.even the population here seem so boring and lethargic compared to the wild outgoing everyday adventuring australian ang mohs.....the pathetic parks and beaches that we call nature......iv seen nature in australia that would blow ur mind just 15 mins outside of the city that fills ur soul with beauty,the infrastructure in melbourne city is amazing,hundreds of years of elizabethan buildings and decor and beautiful streets steeped in tradition,everywhere i go theres the bustle of music and arts of artisans sharing their trades and talent......so much intensity the beauty and culture.......and non of the pretentiousness of our so called megamalls and prime shopping districts.....the amazing shops of culture from all over the world,greek,mediterranian,paki,russian,italian,german,china,vietnam,korea and whatnot.

whats good about singapore again?oh right,the amazing speed of setting up factories and abundance of cheap labour for ur capitalist needs.

singapore is just a functional country with no soul,it has a function but nothing else much.

Unfortunately, there are so many Asians that they are overrunning the whole system and the Ang Mohs are now on the back foot struggling to preserve their lifestyle of sloth and liquor fueled partying.

not really theres tons of them but mostly they are unseen and unheard in the background.....at they mostly disappear at night once job or school is over.....u mostly see the ang mohs and the other europeans and blacks on the streets socialising.

i once saw 2 young guys on the street with their boombox(nowadays boombox consist of some high tech subwoofers and a ipod)blasting some good smooth ass funk/new age/kumbaya music.that is what i call chilling and being in touch with life and living their youth.u will never see such shyt in sinkieland.probably too burnt out from the 8 hours of studying and 10 hours of working they did during the day.