• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Pwned] Sinkie racing prodigy has to give up F1 dream becos of NS enlistment

Slimy snake. Read again...

The main aim is to represent Singapore and be the nation’s first Formula One driver

Being the nation's first F1 driver is not representing the country?

Oh yeah I forgot... We are soo small... sooo expensive... soo crowded.... we can only speed around in souped up Honda civics and Toyolta vios in Orchard road... Happy?

Agoraphobic

Er, Alonso is Spainiard, Vettel is German, they represent the countries they're from? I don't remember the Canadian press highlighting Jacques Villeneuve racing for Canada when he was world champion. Will Singapore be submitting the entry forms for this boy to "represent" Singapore? Fren, if he races in F1, he represents the team the cars are entered under (eg. McLaren, Red Bull Racing, Lotus), yes, he is Singaporean, and if he finishes first, they'll play the National Anthem, but he does not represent Singapore. The state does not sponsor the financing of the car/team, provide him any training. Singaporeans might feel proud that he is a Singaporean, and that he represents the nation, but technically - no. Example, when Fabian Looi won the 500cc class series production motorcycle race in 1977 Batu Tiga Malaysian Grand Prix, was he racing for Singapore? Damn, the blood local newspaper didn't even report it! Times have changed, Singapore might offer him a free COE.

You can speed around in your souped up Civics and Vios, but that is illegal, a danger to the public, and it makes you a moron.

but

Oh yeah I forgot... We are soo small... sooo expensive... soo crowded.... we can only speed around in souped up Honda civics and Toyolta vios in Orchard road... Happy?

F1 teams are not National teams. Drivers are not representing their nation. F1 teams are purely commercial entities with staff and funding from all over the world.

The A1 series was about pitting nation against nation. It is now defunct. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A1_Grand_Prix

Blah blah blah...

Just answer one simple question: Someone can only represent the country when he/she is sponsored by the state?

Depends how loosely you want to define the term "representing the country".

In the recent grammy awards, a Kiwi girl won the "Song of the Year" grammy. Of course the whole of NZ boasted that she was "representing" New Zealand at the ceremony. However, in reality, she was simply a winner who happened to be a Kiwi.

F1 is similar. People make too much of a big deal about Nationhood. In this day and age, it means very little.

Take Red Bull racing... Thai energy drink now Austrian owned, German driver, based in the UK, uses French engines. The team represents no particular nation. It is a commercial unit.

Agoraphobic

To be precise, yes. SEA games, Olympics, etc one enters representing a country and is funded by the country, or an association registered in that country (eg. judo, taekwondo). I believe certain sports like golf, motor racing are either individual or corporate sponsorhship. There are a number of ex-Singapore secret society member operating in Chinatowns over the world running heroin in arms smuggling, you want them to be representatives of Singapore?

Blah blah blah...

Just answer one simple question: Someone can only represent the country when he/she is sponsored by the state?

To be precise, yes. SEA games, Olympics, etc one enters representing a country and is funded by the country, or an association registered in that country (eg. judo, taekwondo). I believe certain sports like golf, motor racing are either individual or corporate sponsorhship. There are a number of ex-Singapore secret society member operating in Chinatowns over the world running heroin in arms smuggling, you want them to be representatives of Singapore?

must be state sponsor then can claimed to be representing the country? i seen F1 drivers doing victory lap with his country flag sticking out of the cockpit, liddat no count in bring glory to the nation?

btw, spore samsengs running No.4 heroin is also consider to be flying the flag because any newspaper report on them will list them as singapore citizens.

must be state sponsor then can claimed to be representing the country? i seen F1 drivers doing victory lap with his country flag sticking out of the cockpit, liddat no count in bring glory to the nation?

btw, spore samsengs running No.4 heroin is also consider to be flying the flag because any newspaper report on them will list them as singapore citizens.

There is a difference between "representing the country" and "bringing glory to the nation".

Depends how loosely you want to define the term "representing the country".

Yes. My definition is not restricted to sports events. Any born and bred singaporean who excels on the world stage brings pride to the people. Including Annabelle Chong.

..People make too much of a big deal about Nationhood. In this day and age, it means very little.

Disagree. For a small, young nation like singapore, the national identity is more important than ever. Especially now with foreigners (and fake foreigners) flooding the land. :rolleyes:

Agoraphobic

Not necessary. You can mount a PRC whore and claim conquest for Peesai, no one will stop you, just that not every Singaporean will see that as a national victory, just the very patriotic ones. However if the state of Singapore pays the "fucking" fee for you, I am sure the whole nation will cheer for you. :biggrin:

paiseh lor... i dont quite agree. i doubt all sporeans cheer for the govt sponsor Mt Everest team. At least i didnt.

oratedar

People like leongsam is like that one la. No point arguing with him.

When 1 Singapore guy did bad thing, he will say Singaporeans are like that one. When 1 Singaporean achieve something, he will say he is just an individual that happens to be a Singaporean. Nothing to shout about.

First time you see him do this meh.

To be precise, yes. SEA games, Olympics, etc one enters representing a country and is funded by the country, or an association registered in that country (eg. judo, taekwondo)

I see... So you must have been so proud when Li jiawei won the silver medal at Beijing 08.

Nuff said :rolleyes:

People like leongsam is like that one la. No point arguing with him.

When 1 Singapore guy did bad thing, he will say Singaporeans are like that one. When 1 Singaporean achieve something, he will say he is just an individual that happens to be a Singaporean. Nothing to shout about.

First time you see him do this meh.

If the ratio was 1 to 1, I'd be extremely complimentary of sinkies in general.

The problem is that for every singaporean who achieves something, there are 100,000 who are useless pieces of shit.

oratedar

If the ratio was 1 to 1, I'd be extremely complimentary of sinkies in general.

The problem is that for every singaporean who achieves something, there are 100,000 who are useless pieces of shit.

Similarly for angmor countries. Same applies. A few good man. Plenty of shit.