• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Police: We ran away but to regroup not because of cowardice.

GoldenPeriod

BY
AMANDA LEE
PUBLISHED: FEBRUARY 27, 4:06 AM

SINGAPORE — Two police officers who took the stand yesterday rejected suggestions that they and their fellow officers displayed cowardice and fled from the epicentre of the Little India riot. That some of the officers got into an ambulance was a tactical retreat to regroup and plan for their next course of action, one of them said.

Nevertheless, the other officer conceded that he ran away, after he was pressed by Committee of Inquiry (COI) Chairman G Pannir Selvam. State Counsel Joshua Lim pointed out to Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP) Edwin Yong Wen Wei that there were allegations that the police “were cowardly or displayed signs of cowardice getting into the ambulance”. “Were you cowardly getting into the ambulance?” Mr Lim asked.

ASP Yong said he did not think that it was an act of cowardice.

Before ASP Yong took the stand, Mr Selvam had pressed Special Constable Sergeant (Sc/Sgt) Abdul Aziz Abdul Khalid on whether he ran away from the scene. Mr Selvam said: “... a lot of people are saying — and one gets the impression when you look at the video footage on YouTube — that the police were frightened and ran away from the scene. Did you run away from the scene?”

Sc/Sgt Abdul Aziz replied: “I wouldn’t actually call it running away because we went away for a while to regroup and to think of a plan of how we can solve this issue.” He added: “So we went away for a while, we regrouped and then we came back.”

Under further questioning, Sc/Sgt Abdul Aziz said at first that he “walked away very quickly” before he eventually agreed with Mr Selvam that he did run away.

Mr Selvam then asked him if the officers around him also ran away. To which Sc/Sgt Abdul Aziz replied: “I wasn’t too sure about the other officers.”

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/police-officers-deny-they-displayed-cowardice

This is hilarious.:D

[video=youtube;HMy9RGMfQl0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HMy9RGMfQl0[/video]

Talk is cheap, video is proof.

Look, they have already admitted.

Updated: 02/26/2014 21:26 | By Channel NewsAsia

Policemen in Little India riot COI say "not trained for full-scale riot"

86F02AC360EFCD5870A232464731C8.jpg

SINGAPORE: Three police officers who were among the first responders at the scene of the Little India riot told the Committee Of Inquiry (COI) on Wednesday that they were not trained for a full-scale riot.

The three officers -- Special Constable Sergeant Abdul Aziz, Assistant Superintendent of Police Edwin Yong and Special Constable Corporal Arshard Abdul Murad -- said they had only been prepared for "peace time" crowd control.

The three officers police officers were testifying on Day Six of the COI hearing into the December 8 riot.

Special Constable Sergeant Abdul Aziz said that warning shots were not fired because doing so could have riled up the already aggressive crowd.

The T-batons, revolvers and shields carried by police officers on patrol are meant for defensive use, and this is why they were not used to tackle the rioters, he explained.

Special Constable Corporal Arshard said a foreign worker had challenged him to "take out my T-baton to hit the people in the crowd", but he did not do so.

ASP Yong added that communications could have been better as the crowd may not have understood what the officers were trying to say when they were asked to move back.

Responding to allegations from the public of cowardice after video footage showed officers running away from the main location of the riot, ASP Yong said it had been a "tactical retreat" to regroup.

Meanwhile, an auxiliary police officer, Certis Cisco constable Srisivasangkar Subramaniam who had testified on Tuesday, returned to court on Wednesday to clarify a statement.

The statement had read that he had personally "arrested" four rioters during the Little India riot.

Srisivasangkar clarified that he had "caught" rather than "arrested" the four who had been pelting beer bottles.

He said the word "arrest" could have been used due to his poor command of languages while recording his statement. - CNA/de

LOL... attend court also still wearing security pass.

asp-edwin-yong-wen-wei.jpg

Afraid people don't recognize you, poodle? :oIo:

LOL... attend court also still wearing security pass.

asp-edwin-yong-wen-wei.jpg

Afraid people don't recognize you, poodle? :oIo:

lianbeng replies: they are not trained to handle such incidents lah! :D the last time it happened was in the 60s lah!

Agree.

Many years back I had a quarrel with a teenaged angmo at Coronation Plaza. He just threw an empty can of Coca-Cola at the entrance to the plaza. I yelled at him to throw it in the dustbin. He didn't and we quarrelled. Out of nowhere, his big brother who is at least 6 and a half feet tall and weigh more than 200 pounds came and challenged me to a fight.

I angrily shouted : knnbccb !:mad: ....Ok, you wait here and don't run off ! I am going to put carpark coupon first and then come back ! .......:mad:

Must use more atas words like Strategic withdrawal. Tactical retreat, etc etc mah

Sinkie do things not because of cowardice? Hard to believe.

Must use more atas words like Strategic withdrawal. Tactical retreat, etc etc mah

WITHOUT PREJUDICE.
hmm...
Not flooding. Ponding.
Not breakdown. Not service disruption. Just trains running at slower speed.
Today i leRnt new phrase::: TACTICAL RETREAT TO REGROUP.

didnt some inidans went to bang on the ambulance to warn them to get out as rioters were threatening to burn it? so if so tactical how come still flee on foot leaving the ambulance behind.

“I wouldn’t actually call it running away because we went away for a while to regroup and to think of a plan of how we can solve this issue.”

This reminded me of a story : Gather, spread, gather spread, well done gentlemen, take your time somemore.

n another democracy, the press would hve cruxified them by now

I thought it was coitus interruption?? no?? nobody ask, if one kind soul of an ah neh, do not open the ambulance door....it will be fried SPF!!