• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New developments to share

FHBH12

Well...symbolic...until they start to 'flush' the offenders out...just punish one will scare all the rest...:eek:

Flush toilet rule initially started with a few kenna fined. Then the rest is history. At the rate of HDB supply coming on-stream, HDB needs buyers to maintain the price and revenue.

cow138

Yup.. I saw this happening.. My Malaysian PR colleague can buy with his brother while I was blocked from buying from the sidelines..

Damn. The ruling was a slap in your face for all the sacrifices that we made in terms of NS commitment.

Dunno what to say. In the end went to buy private property. Refused to be a victim. But my citizen rights and privileges seemed to be worthless during those times.

potter

Yup.. I saw this happening.. My Malaysian PR colleague can buy with his brother while I was blocked from buying from the sidelines..

Damn. The ruling was a slap in your face for all the sacrifices that we made in terms of NS commitment.

Dunno what to say. In the end went to buy private property. Refused to be a victim. But my citizen rights and privileges seemed to be worthless during those times.

Many locals/single mom out there renting from them, in our home ground. We r moving backward instead. Thks to those kong kum.

FHBH12

Eco World eyes new projects in Kota Masai
Feb 5, 2014 - PropertyGuru.com.my

The undeveloped parts of Kota Masai township in Johor will transformed into green communities, according to Eco World Development Group Chairman Tan Sri Abdul Rashid Abdul Manaf.

He explained that are still 401 hectares of landbank at the mature township, which it now owns after taking over Focal Aims Holdings Bhd in 2013.

“The land would be redesigned to incorporate properties, which will not be just aesthetically pleasing, but also become vibrant habitats for sustainable green communities,” said Rashid, adding that Kota Masai is a major revenue contributor to the group’s coffers.

Aside from that, they will also re-launch the final 26 residential units at Saujana 0-Lot, a small luxury project in Glenmarie near Shah Alam, Selangor.

Moving forward, the group plans to tap its vast network to identify new development opportunities in Penang, Klang Valley and Johor Bahru, he added.

Farah Wahida, Editor of PropertyGuru, wrote this story. To contact her about this or other stories email [email protected]

http://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-news/2014/2/11780/eco-world-eyes-new-projects-in-kota-masai

FHBH12

Eco World is rather aggressive in expansion: Nusajaya, Tebrau and Kota Masai. Johor is getting more urbanized.

FHBH12

S'pore investors cautious about property investments in M'sia
By Haidi Lun
POSTED: 04 Feb 2014 23:23

Real estate agencies OrangeTee and SLP International Property Consultants observed that Singapore investors have become increasingly cautious about property investments in Malaysia.

SINGAPORE: The recent slump in the Malaysian Ringgit against the Sing dollar did not spark any frenzied property buying across the Causeway among Singapore investors, according to some real estate agencies.

OrangeTee and SLP International Property Consultants observed that investors have become increasingly cautious about property investments in Malaysia.

Iskandar Malaysia, a special economic zone north of Singapore, has been a popular investment destination for home buyers last year as some investors were shut out of the Singapore property market due to new loan curbs and cooling measures.

Market players project that on average, Singapore investors accounted for roughly one-third of the sales transactions at new property launches in Iskandar.

But buying activity has slowed in recent months.

Analysts said investors are now more cautious when it comes to property investment in Malaysia. There is also an increasing awareness of a large supply of new units that will be coming on stream in Iskandar Malaysia.

Property agents estimated that some 50,000 to 60,000 new residential units will be available in Iskandar's Flagship zone A and B in the next three to five years.

There is also greater uncertainty surrounding real estate investment in Malaysia amid new property measures.

These include rules that restrict foreigners to property purchase of homes priced above 1 million ringgit, as well as the higher Real Property Gains Tax. The latter will see foreigners taxed 30 per cent on gains they make on property sold within five years of purchase.

Johnny Chng, head of international projects at OrangeTee, said: "Investors in general would want a clearer picture. They would be scrutinising every project, and they will be very selective when they do their investment."

Investors are also mindful that home prices in some areas have doubled in the past year.

Analysts said current launch prices of homes in Flagship zone A, which includes Danga Bay, could start from 1,200 ringgit per square foot.

While in Flagship zone B, comprising landmarks like Medini Iskandar, prices of newly launched freehold projects could cost over 1,500 ringgit per square foot.

Nicholas Mak, executive director at SLP International Property Consultants, said: "Right now the weakening Malaysian ringgit is more of a short term, well, had just happened recently. It may not be enough to spur a surge in buying.

“But if the Malaysian ringgit continues to remain fairly low against the Sing dollar, probably in the next three to six months, we could see a gradual pick up in buying interest again from Singaporean investors."

Mr Mak added that the cheaper ringgit is unlikely to erode rental yield just yet as rent contracts are typically locked in for at least a 12-month period, and less likely to be affected by short-term currency fluctuations.

Apart from Iskandar, Singapore investors also favour properties in Kuala Lumpur and Penang.

- CNA/gn

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/s-pore-investors-cautious/979298.html

kawan2sgmy

Talking abt singles, this group contributes a lot to nation building, esp those high earners, yet not well looked after, they got high spending power too.
They should be allowed to buy 4 to 5 rm flats, becos they also need the space to look after old parents and a maid. Why restrict to only 2rm flats?

but now can buy as single scheme ma .

kawan2sgmy

In a way, we are the obedient lot, we follow law by law, so much so that if we need to make a U-turn, but there is no U-turn sign, we will not do it although it can be done if we dare to, well I guess Singaporeans are brought up this way, at least in our generation...but cannot be said the same for future generations.

Citizens won't do it. Some PRs may try their luck.

shctaw

Locals got no choice. Foreigners are more daring; as they can still go back to their home country if anything screw up.

In a way, we are the obedient lot, we follow law by law, so much so that if we need to make a U-turn, but there is no U-turn sign, we will not do it although it can be done if we dare to, well I guess Singaporeans are brought up this way, at least in our generation...but cannot be said the same for future generations.

crystal_tiong

Talking abt singles, this group contributes a lot to nation building, esp those high earners, yet not well looked after, they got high spending power too.
They should be allowed to buy 4 to 5 rm flats, becos they also need the space to look after old parents and a maid. Why restrict to only 2rm flats?

coz they dun wan singles to rent out other rooms to earn a living .....
i said before , only tiny island is special , like to tekan own people !

Many locals/single mom out there renting from them, in our home ground. We r moving backward instead. Thks to those kong kum.

Aiyah last time in the 90s I was also renting HDB while seeing Malaysian SPR merrily buying HDB under sibling scheme. All in their early to mid 20s only hor - you know how our stupid govt throw them the PR as soon as they graduate - and these people will buy as soon as they get PR to save on rental. Wow all these people can easily early retire by now, either huat by selling or get passive income of S$3500 from renting out their cheap cheap HDB (then) that must be fully paid by now and buy Iskandar property to early retire back home...

FHBH12

Aiyah last time in the 90s I was also renting HDB while seeing Malaysian SPR merrily buying HDB under sibling scheme. All in their early to mid 20s only hor - you know how our stupid govt throw them the PR as soon as they graduate - and these people will buy as soon as they get PR to save on rental. Wow all these people can easily early retire by now, either huat by selling or get passive income of S$3500 from renting out their cheap cheap HDB (then) that must be fully paid by now and buy Iskandar property to early retire back home...

It requires some lost in seats and votes to wake up idea. I think a significant portion of this batch of PRs who bought retirement properties in Malaysia in recent years belong to this group.