• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

vanishing hawker stalls to try before its too late

the recent closure of the old prawn / loh mee stall in Jln Bt Ho Swee means another good food stall is gone...
lets compile a list here...of disappearing hawker stalls -either because the owner is getting on his years and there is seemingly no one to take over...i would like to patronise at least get to try before its gone for good

Or it could be due to relocation / renovation / fucking high rents that they have no choice but to close for good.

Do add on....waiting with mouth watering....

palden

the recent closure of the old prawn / loh mee stall in Jln Bt Ho Swee means another good food stall is gone...
lets compile a list here...of disappearing hawker stalls -either because the owner is getting on his years and there is seemingly no one to take over...i would like to patronise at least get to try before its gone for good

Or it could be due to relocation / renovation / fucking high rents that they have no choice but to close for good.

Lor 29 Geylang Hokkien Prawn Mee.

Remember South Buona Vista duck rice? Supposedly had moved to Sam Leong Road?

The one at Sam Leong Road sucks. Avoid it. KNN these fuckers who make use of their relative's reputation to boost their own business. :oIo:

http://news.asiaone.com/news/soshiok/south-buona-vista-road-duck-rice-returns

Talking about riding on other's reputation....
None so foul as the sungei road laksa copycat opposite ah boy motor....
The real McCoy is located at block 27 coffeeshop nearby.
Remember the fake one is opposite ah boy and sells otak too.

Another that ride on relative's fame are the new swee kee, original swee kee etc for chicken rice.

Fishypie

They have Not cLOsed; but mereLy reLocated to the Cofeeshop at the junction of Cantonment/Yan Kit Road..:wink:
Perhaps their price have doubLe from $1.50 to $3.00 now; but their standard is stiLL the same..:smile:

ykhuser

Talking about riding on other's reputation....
None so foul as the sungei road laksa copycat opposite ah boy motor....
The real McCoy is located at block 27 coffeeshop nearby.
Remember the fake one is opposite ah boy and sells otak too.

Another that ride on relative's fame are the new swee kee, original swee kee etc for chicken rice.

there is 2 laska stall at sungei road
try once ( the one facing motor shop ) (coffeeshop also sell gwee kuey )
eat only 3 mouthful and dump it off for good.

the other stall is at coffeeshop very near to sheng shiong supermarket.
cant get it wrong.

lianbeng

i remember a very tasty tar mee at katong shopping centre last time.

Actually tar mee is rather easy to prepare so maybe many stalls can produce the taste.

pls tell us where exactly in Johore..

You do not know where Johore is?? tsk!, tsk!....take bus number 170 somewhere near Sungei Rd ( you know where this is right?) & go to Johore ( Johor) maybe the person is talking about Johore Rd..which once was near to Sungei Rd...

Equalisation

You do not know where Johore is?? tsk!, tsk!....take bus number 170 somewhere near Sungei Rd ( you know where this is right?) & go to Johore ( Johor) maybe the person is talking about Johore Rd..which once was near to Sungei Rd...

Hahaha.

Back in those days, I remember there was a mee goring stall at Johor Road that was quite good.:biggrin:

Even the aquas also makan.:o

lianbeng

lianbeng always goes to Bukit Timah 7 mile Hawker Centre for the kueh chap only selling in the morning but very long queue! :biggrin: