• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Are The Patrol Police Being Blamed For Running???

HK14K

Many can easily claimed that the first few officers that arrived at the scene first should even protect the police car but what if you are the one on the scene on that day itself??? Would you be so garang as to protect the police property when you life is being endanger???

Even a pilot have to forgo a fighter jet if his life is being endanger...

Today we can easily say that no shots are fired... What if on that day shots are being fired n someone is being killed or injured n that few pathetic officers are still being outnumbered n what are the consequences??? Let's not forget that the riot started becoz one man from their country n race are being killed that result in this riot... If the police officer have fire shots n situation got out of hand, i think many will again come to this forum n say "Only 400 needs to use firearms already, if 4000 or 40,000 rioter have to sent tanks n artillery already" all sorts of words...

It's easy to criticize... Put yourself in their shoes on that night n you would be fleeing the scene as well...

Even HK police will do the same if they encounter such incident.... There was once a gang fight in a pub that involve about 80 person. 2 patrol officers arrived at the scene first but dun even dare to move in as they knew they were out-numbered n have to call for reinforcement until the PTU n OCTB arrives before they moved in....

Police are being paid to do a job n not paid to be a HERO!!!

gingerlyn

in any country of the world, those police and army who run away from the duty are called

In military terminology, desertion is the abandonment of a "duty" or post without permission and is done with the intention of not returning. "Absence Without Leave" (US: AWOL; Commonwealth: AWL) can refer to either desertion or a temporary absence.

they shall be charged in court martial

Sideswipe

the first police officers failed to withdraw with their vehicles so they were at fault and deserved to be criticized. i suppose the 400 numbers is obtained during the peak of the incident so the police were dealing with much less rioters at the start of it when they arrived...

HK14K

in any country of the world, those police and army who run away from the duty are called

In military terminology, desertion is the abandonment of a "duty" or post without permission and is done with the intention of not returning. "Absence Without Leave" (US: AWOL; Commonwealth: AWL) can refer to either desertion or a temporary absence.

they shall be charged in court martial

First of all, you have to understand what it means by running away....

When the police retreat n call for reinforcement, that's no AWOL or running away. It's just a temporary retreatment to wait for suitable reinforcement.

When the US Marines were fighting in Iraq, when they're being engaged n outnumbered, they will also retreat n call for reinforcement.

Running away is throwing your weapons down, disappearing in action without reporting....

If you were the one that arrives first on Sunday night, i doubt you'll be saying nonsense like this. Maybe you'll be hiding at any coffeeshop located nearby to save your own ass already

HK14K

the first police officers failed to withdraw with their vehicles so they were at fault and deserved to be criticized. i suppose the 400 numbers is obtained during the peak of the incident so the police were dealing with much less rioters at the start of it when they arrived...

Wow... Good one!!!

You mean if you're the policemen on that night, when the attackers rose in numbers n moved towards you, you still have the time to take the car keys, go back to the car n start the engine n drive away when the whole place is already so crowded???

What if the officers move into the cars n tried to drive away but got blocked by rioters n got injured or killed??? Are you the one that is going to be responsible???

Talk is cheap... Actions Please!!! Think twice before you even criticized

Even if poodles need to run for their lives also no need to run away in such a shameful manner....hands up in the air in surrender mode.
Need to take cover to hide also dun do until so shameful hide inside an ambulance....and only bolted out when ambulance is overturned....they behaved like sneaky gutter rats....

Force 136

160138_1.jpg

The executions of 306 British and Commonwealth soldiers took place in WW1. Such executions, for crimes such as desertion and cowardice, remain a source of controversy with some believing that many of those executed should be pardoned as they were suffering from what is now called shell shock. The executions, primarily of non-commissioned ranks, included 25 Canadians, 22 Irishmen and 5 New Zealanders.

Asterix

Even if poodles need to run for their lives also no need to run away in such a shameful manner....hands up in the air in surrender mode.
Need to take cover to hide also dun do until so shameful hide inside an ambulance....and only bolted out when ambulance is overturned....they behaved like sneaky gutter rats....

That's why I dedicate this re-worked song to our kalang kabok boys in blue:

How about a flash mob in front of a prominent police station in Sinkieland to perform this song as a parody:

I got chills.
They're multiplyin'.
And you're losin' control.
'Cause the power
Polis so lacking
it's so frightenin'!

You better shape up,
'cause I need a force
so my house’s not set on fire.
You better shape up;
you better understand
to protect my car you must.

‘Cos I paid that GST and COE.

You're NOT what we want.
(you are NOT what we want), o,o, oo, cowards.
NOT what we want.
(you are NOT what we want), o,o,oo, poodles.
NOT what we want
(you are NOT what we want), o,o, ooooo
The force I need.
Won’t drop and run.

If you're filled
with greed and fear
you're not right to protect,
my property car and family.
Fuck you poodles.

[video=youtube;Tctqqmo9bMY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tctqqmo9bMY[/video]

HK14K

At an open area along the road, where do you expect them to hide???

Run across the road n run up to those HDB staircase n hide or run into a coffeeshop toilet to hide.... Whatever they do, ppl like u will still criticized!!! Even if they stay back n tried to control the situation n got kill, you'll again come here n say they are stupid n not well-trained enough to ask for reinforcement...

Talk is Cheap!!! Do it yourself then you start singing like nobody business... I can imagine a Coward like you will not be running with hands up but holding your pants n shivering until maybe you wet your own pants if you were the officer that night...

Seee3

Run for your life ...the goal is to survive, not look good about it. The poodles were betrayed by their commanders who denied the poodles permission to use firearms, even for warning shots.
I saw a video of SCDF firetruck in the panic getaway backing right into a police car!
I saw that part of the firetruck backing into the police car many times because I was puzzled as to whether was there anyone in the car. My occlusion was there was nobody inside as subsequently the mob tried to overturn that car. The decision by the firetruck driver to push the car away was commendable as he was doing something extra-ordinary. If he had got the clearance from his commander (usually the vehicle commander) then this guy should be commended. A firetruck costs more than a million dollar. He shouldn't leave it there to be further damaged, compared to the cost of a car. Delivery of a firetruck takes time and such trucks are critical assists for future incidents.

Withdrawal can only be executed with Oder from higher authority. So I presumed scdf commander hade given green light to their personnel to withdraw. Without such approval, ground officers should have been trained in vehicular disengagement drills or foot patrol disengagement procedure. Disengagement is not withdrawal. It is pulling back to hold ground at a safer location. These procedures appeared to be missing.

escher

SPF top brass ordered that no firearms to be used. What do you expect them to do? Reinforcement was taking forever to arrive.

Is that so?

That they say meant thats what happened?

Tell me if you know when it is a lie?
When it is as they said?

How many times will you be lied to before you so not believe a word of what the fuck they said?

Asterix

This is what an orderly withdrawal looks like
Do you see anybody running with hands up
No formation at all each man for himself
That's the SPF way but not for London bobbies
Why must hide or run cannot walk away calmly

[video=youtube;coRJjqsY-JM]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=coRJjqsY-JM[/video]

Dark Knight

This thread should be "Hero & Coward" following the sequel to your past thread .... "Human & Ghost", "Peacock & Crow".

Sideswipe

Wow... Good one!!!

You mean if you're the policemen on that night, when the attackers rose in numbers n moved towards you, you still have the time to take the car keys, go back to the car n start the engine n drive away when the whole place is already so crowded???

What if the officers move into the cars n tried to drive away but got blocked by rioters n got injured or killed??? Are you the one that is going to be responsible???

Talk is cheap... Actions Please!!! Think twice before you even criticized

we don't know what actually happened. whatever the circumstances. the first polices made a withdrawal, leaving their vehicles behind for the not seriously armed rioters. this is very bad.

the videos of the burning police vehicles are all very negative for the image of the police force.

The correct way to handle should be :
1) fire warning shots
2) observe the response
3) If rioters freeze, proceed to arrest and handcuff them.A lot sure run away, try to catch as many.
4) If rioters continue to attack, run and take cover first, then tiao chui

Debonerman

It was a common sense decision - the right decision NOT to use any firearms under such a daunting situation. The reinforcement was slow because the whole place was congested, blocked and almost inaccessible. Strategically, the scene of the rioting was "locked and hemmed in".The biggest victory is a dignified,safe and gracious "withdrawal"...

Fuck your PAP mother cheebye lah!...You are starting to piss me off! These are your beloved policemen fighting to their last drop of blood to defend Lee Kuan Yew's family corporation.

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/BwXFmw9ANC0?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

gingerlyn

If you think and agree that the running police and scdf are morally correct, then u shall laugh at Captain Adnan who sacrificed for Singapore.

Simple, please touch your heart and let me know if you want your Little India police men or if you want Captain Adnan to protect Singapore?

Captain Adnan Bin Saidi
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adnan_bin_Saidi

Poomer

It's easy to criticize... Put yourself in their shoes on that night n you would be fleeing the scene as well...

Even HK police will do the same if they encounter such incident.... There was once a gang fight in a pub that involve about 80 person. 2 patrol officers arrived at the scene first but dun even dare to move in as they knew they were out-numbered n have to call for reinforcement until the PTU n OCTB arrives before they moved in....

Police are being paid to do a job n not paid to be a HERO!!!

1) 2 Patrol Officers vs 80 gangsters with parangs is different from 10 Policemen vs 400 drunk and unarmed Ah Neh on their off day, only a small minority were throwing missiles, and considering the inebriated state, you can hardly expect to throw accurately. Please use reasonable examples, can 2 policemen form a line and charge rioters, NO, can 10 policemen form a line and charge rioters, YES.

2) We cannot ascertain for sure whether anybody put in their shoes as policemen, with a duty to protect law and order will run. What we can confirm is the police ran. Who cannot run? My grandmother also can run lei. So what makes my grandmother any different from armed and trained professional policemen, since she can do the same thing they did.

3) Nobody ask them to be hero, but if your job requires you to be a hero at that point of time, the question is do your shirk from your duty? By running and surrendering the scene for more than an hour, there was a lapse of police control in the whole area for that entire duration. There was absolute no responsibility for any ongoing on the scene, rescue and police vehicles were burnt, if any innocent bystanders were nearby, they were at the mob's mercy. To put it simply, zheng hu lang bo zhou kang, they run away then just stand from afar and eye power.

They had one simple job, which they failed miserably in doing, and we have dumb Singaporeans chipping in with countless excuses for their inability to do their job.

Imagine this scenario ah, 10 of our SAF's infantry defending an area in Singapore, they met with 400 Malaysian unarmed soldiers pelting them with stones. Upon seeing the large numbers, they retreated to a safe distance with nary a shot and called for backup, abandoning their 3 tonners and tanks. The Malaysian soldiers gleefully burned their tanks and 3 tonners, in fact there were a few infantry and tank driver hiding in one of the tanks, but the Malaysian soldiers were nice enough to ask them to leave. 1 hour later, they commandos finally arrived and chased the Malaysian soldiers away. They government declared this a great victory which showed maximum restraint. Do you applaud them as heroes just for being there (and doing nothing) or do you label them cowards?

Wake up!