• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SAF soldiers' IPPT likely to change; push-ups added and run set at 3.2km

Dark Knight

More soldiers will drop dead especially for NSmen.
Increase running distance by 800m but got increase the timing for passing or not?

soldiers3103e.jpg

That's why they installed those defibrillators in camps. You think they don't want returns on that investment? :wink:

Definitely the timing for passing will be increased. The question is by how much.

Surely the SAF doesn't expect NSmen to run 3.2km in 10 minutes. Singapore will be a nation of medal-winning athletes. :biggrin:

PhilipsM

All SAF servicemen should be made to pass the SEAL PST (Physical Standards test):

4 mile timed run in PT shirt, slacks and boots: 32 minutes or less
1 mile ocean swim: 12 min 30 seconds or less
Push ups: At least 42 in 2 minutes
Pull ups: At least 6 in one stretch
Sit ups: At least 50 in 2 minutes

The swim requirement is faster than any 100m freestyle record ever....sure?!

Char_Azn

Fuck. Limpeh can barely pass IPPT liao. They implement this confirm RT. Lucky only got 3 years left

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Expect more Sinkie NS slaves to die of heart attack during IPPT or RT. :wink:

They could have just reduced the passing requirements, but pride and that nonsense about 'operational readiness' got in the way and the Mindef employees in charge of training came up with something creative in order to score some career points for themselves.

I run regularly and have no problems (up till 2008 I was a perennial RT personnel, having went to both Khatib and Maju for RT), but if those fat uncles couldn't manage to survive 2.4km, what the hell made Mindef think they will survive an additional 800m? :rolleyes:

You are right. The young ones should be ok, but those that still have to do IPPT at 45-50, jialat liao.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
How did they come up with the magic number of 3.2mk?

From my memory, the distance of 2.4km was selected from the basis of artillery fire. If this is true, then maybe the dead zone has increased.

However, I may be wrong.