• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why no dual citizenship for Singaporeans?

SgGoneWrong

What's the logic when so many countries allow it? Sinkies who feel trapped get more pissed off with pap. Those who retained their sg citizenship and become pr elsewhere may get so pissed off that they continue to vote against pap. Be allowing these Singaporeans to become citizens elsewhere give them more options and maybe more grateful.

Dark Knight

What's the logic when so many countries allow it? Sinkies who feel trapped get more pissed off with pap. Those who retained their sg citizenship and become pr elsewhere may get so pissed off that they continue to vote against pap. Be allowing these Singaporeans to become citizens elsewhere give them more options and maybe more grateful.

Sillypore gahbrament always practice double standard.
I can bet you that all those rich, powerful and influential elite class of people (if you know who I'm referring to) are having multiple citizenship.
They are the ones that can have the best of both world.

kingrant

I have directly heard from Singaporean mothers who said their Singaporean children are holding two passports. Go ahead and do it, and dont wait for legislation. It will never come. The PAP govt likes to sustain the climate of doubt and fear by not making dual citizenship unequivocally accepted. There are ill-informed forumers here who help the govt perpetuate this fear by pointing to laws proscribing dual citizenship, when no such laws exist. "The President ...may withdraw the citizenship.." does exist in the statutes but instead of worrying that this applies to dual citizenship cases, it is targeted more at cases where people commit high treason and such crimes against the state. So the operative word "may" should not cause fear in all other cases. The govt love these ill-informed forumers who stick to the rule book because they help it stem the tide of any exodus without having to do the dirty work and thus earning the wrath of public opinion.

As has been said in all such threads and posts, be sure not to make any false declaration on your application form when renewing pp, if asked whether you are holding another pp or citizenship.

People always claim d.c. is not allowed but I have never come across anybody being prosecuted.

Because if people have dual citizenship, many Singaporeans will KPKB behind their PC?

gingerlyn

Usually people who can secure dual citizenships are intellectuals and professionals and these people know that PAP are inefficient and they will never vote for PAP. That is why PAP will never allow dual citizenships. In China, it was the intellectuals who started 4th June campaign.

The same goes to Malaysia because Malaysians who work abroad usually vote for the opposition parties.

From the link above, PAP will never allow dual citizenships

peppertail

As has been said in all such threads and posts, be sure not to make any false declaration on your application form when renewing pp, if asked whether you are holding another pp or citizenship.

People always claim d.c. is not allowed but I have never come across anybody being prosecuted.

Let's say you declare in your application that you are holding a foreign passport but they still issue you a SG passport. Do they even have ground to prosecute you? Do they even need to prosecute? I can imagine they can simply ask you to return the passport or renounce the foreign citizenship, no?

laksa

There are ill-informed forumers here who help the govt perpetuate this fear by pointing to laws proscribing dual citizenship, when no such laws exist. "The President ...may withdraw the citizenship.." does exist in the statutes but instead of worrying that this applies to dual citizenship cases, it is targeted more at cases where people commit high treason and such crimes against the state. So the operative word "may" should not cause fear in all other cases.

1. Some countries may require a person to give up his original citizenship before granting him citizenship. In this case, the person has to give up Singapore citizenship in order to acquire the new citizenship.

2. There is no documented cases as to what happens when a person renew his Singapore passport and answer 'yes' to the question if he holds citizenship of another country. There is a lot of hearsay in the forums that it is not a problem but is that really the case? Proof? Scanned copies of some sort to show it is not a problem? So far, no one has provided 'proof' so people are not willing to risk that. Chances is Singapore will ask you to renounce either one of the citizenship when you answer 'yes' to the 'citizenship of another country' question.

laksa

Let's say you declare in your application that you are holding a foreign passport but they still issue you a SG passport. Do they even have ground to prosecute you? Do they even need to prosecute? I can imagine they can simply ask you to return the passport or renounce the foreign citizenship, no?

Yes, I think Singapore govt will ask the person to renounce one of the citizenship when he declares he holds a foreign passport.

laksa

Good info. If Malaysians are allowed to hold dual citizenships in Singapore. Most likely they will vote out both UMNO and PAP. do you agree?

Malaysia and Singapore does not allow dual citizenship. Before a Malaysian can acquire Singapore citizenship, he must first renounce his Malaysian citizenship. Similarly, before a Singaporean can acquire Malaysian citizenship, he must first renounce his Singapore citizenship.

TopSage

The govt is very hawkish and spend billions on defense and conscription of its citizens, if you are holding dual citizenship, what happens when war breaks and you are called to fight and risk your life? If say 20% of citizens have dual citizenship in Australia, when war breaks out, 20% run road, rest also want to go.

SgGoneWrong

The govt is very hawkish and spend billions on defense and conscription of its citizens, if you are holding dual citizenship, what happens when war breaks and you are called to fight and risk your life? If say 20% of citizens have dual citizenship in Australia, when war breaks out, 20% run road, rest also want to go.

You and your half truths again. Aust army is made up by paid soldiers. The civilians are free to go if they have the resources to. In war time there will also be patriots or people who want to take up the guns to protect their families in the country. Aust still allow dual citizenship.

Sg will not and need not go to war. Countries like indonesia can just burn a few plantations and have sg at its mercy. Other countries can just instigate their huge number of fts in sg to create trouble and bring sg to its feet too. Or an atomic bomb on this small dot can do the trick too though no country should do that as it may incur the wrath of other countries as their people are living here too. Pinky most probaby will abdicate his seat and run road with cronies if there's news that sg will be attacked, hence no war too and just easy invasion for the enemy.

Charlie99

I believe that there may be at least two matters which the current Singapore government has considered, is considering or will consider prior to introducing legislation to allow dual citizenship:
1. how does dual citizenship affect NS obligations, and how to ensure fairness amongst SG citizens to ensure that all Singapore citizens comply with their NS commitments; and
2. dual citizenship vis-à-vis immigrants and permanent residents who may use SG as a stepping stone to emigrate to other countries, and NS obligations for their children.

I believe that sooner or later, the SG government will allow dual citizenship, but not in the near future.

Accordingly, our children who were not born in SG and has never resided in SG, but are SG citizens by descent, will have to renounce their SG citizenship when they attain age 21.

TopSage

You and your half truths again. Aust army is made up by paid soldiers. The civilians are free to go if they have the resources to. In war time there will also be patriots or people who want to take up the guns to protect their families in the country. Aust still allow dual citizenship.

Sg will not and need not go to war. Countries like indonesia can just burn a few plantations and have sg at its mercy. Other countries can just instigate their huge number of fts in sg to create trouble and bring sg to its feet too. Or an atomic bomb on this small dot can do the trick too though no country should do that as it may incur the wrath of other countries as their people are living here too. Pinky most probaby will abdicate his seat and run road with cronies if there's news that sg will be attacked, hence no war too and just easy invasion for the enemy.

Hey hello, I was just explaining the pap thinking on this issue not that I agree with them.

What is your problem? Why keep accusing me of half truth?

You cant even understand simple english yet keep hurling accusations of half truths. I didn't say anything about australian army which unlike singapore is a professional army not an army of conscripts . If australians leave due to war, the professional army is still there to defend...if singaporeans start leaving in time of war we will lose a large part of our army that compose of citizen conscripts...there is a difference.

SgGoneWrong

Hey hello, I was just explaining the pap thinking on this issue not that I agree with them.

What is your problem? Why keep accusing me of half truth?

You cant even understand simple english yet keep hurling accusations of half truths. I didn't say anything about australian army which unlike singapore is a professional army not an army of conscripts . If australians leave due to war, the professional army is still there to defend...if singaporeans start leaving in time of war we will lose a large part of our army that compose of citizen conscripts...there is a difference.

If you think i'm accusing you of half truths don't engage me then. You can go back to your own thread 'Topsage: Daily Market Talk' to explain to readers who asked you questions on your wrong tikams.

lianbeng

lianbeng replies u: cannot lah! Singapore belongs to PAP mah! :biggrin: