• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Finnish Education - Why is sinkapore not learning from them?

just like politics :rolleyes:

Until the recent gain by opposition politicians, becoming a PAP candidate was like winning Toto. Sure win one. Now, there is abit of insecurity but some will still take the PAP invite. PAP provide everything and if you fail, they will give you a NTUC or PAP job while you prepare for the next election. Where in the private sector got such good kungtoa?

I don't think the parents-grandparents-maids tripartite are getting the job done..................... :(

spare the rod and you spoil the child... today's youths and kids... tsk tsk tsk... jin jialut...

There is no money in teaching, it's a calling.

agree, pity the teachers these days. schools should stop treating children like customers. it's not a business. it's a duty to teach the kids how to think critically and with empathy, punish the wayward and set the mentality right.

It is a business. The teachers provide a service and the ministry pays them. If the service is not up to par, they are being terminated.
Teachers are there to teach, not to discipline. The latter is the role of the parents.

It is a business. The teachers provide a service and the ministry pays them. If the service is not up to par, they are being terminated.
Teachers are there to teach, not to discipline. The latter is the role of the parents.

am starting to where the cracks began... treating the teachers as service providers... little wonder folks quit their jobs as teachers :p:p:p

Parents have outsourced parenting to the teachers and the teachers realized that they are not compensated or given the authority to perform that role. Quit lah.

Everything is backwards; everything is upside down. Doctors destroy health, lawyers destroy justice, universities destroy knowledge, governments destroy freedom, the major media destroy information, and religions destroy spirituality.

if finnish education is so great.

why apple iphone kick nokia ass.

Alamak, do you know what you are comparing? If US education is so good, why are there so many failures in business there? If Sinkapore ministers are so great, why do they just produce average results at best?

I suggest before you ask such stupid question ...please read up first ...lots of articles out there to inform you on this.

Thick Face Black Heart

That's because school teachers are subject to KPIs, appraisals, and other quantitative benchmarks which place an overly heavy emphasis on public feedback. If your promotion depends on making the kid and the parents happy rather than doing the right thing, why do the right thing? That's why school teacher behave more and more like tuition teachers rather than real teachers. Its a shame. Some even moonlight when school's over.

The civil service has basically made the teaching profession in a business, with shareholders as parents and school rankings taking the place of tough love. Of course teachers will behave more like business people rather than educators. That's why our educational system is fucked and needs be unfucked.