• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Giordano Founder Urges Gobernment to Control Quality of Immigrants!

Asterix

Here is a short summary in English of the editorial that appeared in today's Apple Daily:

In 1979, President Carter brought up the topic of Chinese government's restrictions on its people emigrating abroad during a meeting with Deng Xiaopeng. Deng replied: "If you want me to send 10 million Chinese to America, I will gladly comply". Carter's retort was: "Thank you, in return I will give you 10,000 journalists". Deng immediately rejected the offer.

The threat that an independent press, in the metaphor of 10,000 journalists, poses to a dictatorial Leegime is far greater than any threat that 10 million Chinese immigrants might pose to America.

As Thomas Jefferson said: "Were it left to me to decide whether we should have a government without newspapers, or newspapers without government, I should not hesitate a moment to prefer the latter".

The piece then moves from free press and by implication free society to the need for quality control when admitting new immigrants from Mainland China into Hong Kong (and Sinkieland by extension since we are similarly situated):

沒有獨立媒體存在的社會,專權政治在沒有監督之下運作,使絕對權力導致絕對腐化。老百姓在專制統治下,不是奴隸就是奴才,而在專制權力顧不到的地方為了生存就不得不成為見縫就鑽的刁民。一個自由社會對於來自專權社會的刁民,有移民規限是理所當然的。

In a society where political power is not subject to scrutiny by a free press, absolute power will lead to absolute corruption. Under such a system, the people will either become slaves or eunuchs and in order to survive, many will turn into opportunistic scoundrels. Therefore, we need to have strict quality controls when admitting immigrants from such countries.

不過30多年前的中國人,公德雖缺,私德還是有的,故那時代來香港的大陸移民,大都能融入香港的價值系統中,欣賞並珍惜在香港享受到的自由和法治。然而,經過這二、三十年權貴資本主義的發展,金錢、權力及二者結合成為大陸社會的唯一價值標準。公德固然蕩然,私德也不存在了。一切能想像的與不能想像的荒唐事情都會發生。

Mainland immigrants of 3 decades ago could integrate into Hong Kong (and Sinkieland) society because they were morally sound at a personal level though their public manners were uncouth. However after 30 years of unbridled capitalism without corresponding development of democratic institutions, money and power have become the only value criteria for mainland Chinese. In addition to being uncouth, they are also morally degenerate. Hence, all sorts of unimaginable things happen in mainland China - stop and think what's in your milk powder.

近年香港接收的大陸移民,有很大機會是一些既無公德又無私德的人。他們當中很多人只求近利而不重視香港傳統核心價值,於是我們看到親共政團的鐵票越來越多,我們看到有種票有種人,我們看到愛字頭團體突然冒現,我們看到梁振英騙民粹的謊言也有市民受落。香港社會的品質越來越不堪,難道跟這些「新香港人」無關嗎?

Amongst mainland immigrants to Hong Kong (and Sinkieland), there is a high risk that a significant proportion are morally degenerate in addition to lacking in civic consciousness. They only seek short term profits and ignore Hong Kong's (and Sinkieland's) core values.

Hence, the article concludes that Hong Kong needs quality control when it comes to accepting immigrants from mainland China. Sinkieland's OUT OF THIS WORLD salaried Ministars have exercised such quality control or are they sleeping on their jobs? You be the judge.

The original article in traditional Chinese will appear in the next post. Apple Daily, by the way, is founded by Jimmy Lai who gave you Giordano. After he called Li Peng an idiot for the Tiananmen massacre, he sold off Giordano to focus on newspapers and other media related business. Our dear Harry on the end, praised Deng to high heaven for having the "courage" to order troops to shoot at unarmed civilians.

Asterix

1979年元旦中美建交,時任國務院副總理、實際已大權在握的鄧小平對美國進行了正式訪問。1月30日上午,鄧小平和卡特總統會談,重點討論雙邊關係。卡特提出了中國管制人民出境的人權問題,鄧小平對卡特說:「如果你要我輸送1,000萬中國人到美國來,那我是十分樂意的。」卡特立即啞口無言。美國以移民立國,按理不應拒絕世界各地的移民,但美國經過二百多年,已形成了自己的文化和價值觀,因此現在對外來移民就有相當嚴謹的限制。

立法會議員范國威和毛孟靜發起籌款刊登反赤化兼要梁振英下台的廣告,惹來中共媒體口誅筆伐,也成為民主派內部爭論的焦點。原發起人之一工黨張超雄,因不滿廣告有歧視新移民之嫌,因此退出署名。《大公報》昨天發表評論,為香港需要新移民撐腰,說「香港發展需要新香港人,這是因為香港百多年前開埠,從一個小漁村發展成繁華都市,大量的人口及人才的出現是外來移民,正是不同時期不斷進入香港的這些『新香港人』,成為推動香港都市發展的力量。」文章說香港700萬人口中的四成以上是外來人口,即使過半數香港人在香港出生及成長,大多也是自1945年後由中國內地的新移民後代。按這個邏輯,美國總統當然不應該拒絕1,000萬中國人移民美國啦。

不過,當時鑑於對外國記者新聞採訪的限制,接下來卡特總統的回應沒有被報道。後來卡特在日記中寫道,當時他對鄧說:「既然他要給我提供1,000萬中國人,那我將給他提供1萬名新聞記者。他放聲大笑,並立即表示謝絕。」

卡特這句話,可以說是擊中了中國的要害,使鄧小平立即謝絕。因為對專權政治的中國來說,1萬名記者所造成對政權的威脅,絕對比中國向美國輸出1,000萬人的危害更大。自由社會需要媒體的監督,而專權政治卻最怕新聞自由不斷揭發政權的醜惡。美國開國元勳、第三任總統傑佛遜(Thomas Jefferson)說過:「如果政府和報紙兩者之間只能有一個存在的話,我會毫不猶豫地選擇後者。」在中國,根本不須猶豫,因為沒有獨立媒體存在,也不容存在。

沒有獨立媒體存在的社會,專權政治在沒有監督之下運作,使絕對權力導致絕對腐化。老百姓在專制統治下,不是奴隸就是奴才,而在專制權力顧不到的地方為了生存就不得不成為見縫就鑽的刁民。一個自由社會對於來自專權社會的刁民,有移民規限是理所當然的。卡特對輸出1,000萬中國人自然敬謝不敏。不過30多年前的中國人,公德雖缺,私德還是有的,故那時代來香港的大陸移民,大都能融入香港的價值系統中,欣賞並珍惜在香港享受到的自由和法治。然而,經過這二、三十年權貴資本主義的發展,金錢、權力及二者結合成為大陸社會的唯一價值標準。公德固然蕩然,私德也不存在了。一切能想像的與不能想像的荒唐事情都會發生。最近薄熙來大審,報紙刊登了許多匪夷所思的報道,筆者一位曾經極關心中國新聞的朋友對這些報道全都否定,認為全不可信。一位6歲男童被挖了雙眼,官方說是他的伯娘幹的,其後又報道這伯娘投井自殺身死。網上許多人懷疑這是又一樁「被自殺」事件。而官府摘器官也早不是新聞。

近年香港接收的大陸移民,有很大機會是一些既無公德又無私德的人。他們當中很多人只求近利而不重視香港傳統核心價值,於是我們看到親共政團的鐵票越來越多,我們看到有種票有種人,我們看到愛字頭團體突然冒現,我們看到梁振英騙民粹的謊言也有市民受落。香港社會的品質越來越不堪,難道跟這些「新香港人」無關嗎?

昨天在港內地畢業生聯合會主席耿春亞出席電台節目時,對於有港人不滿內地人的舉止行為,他認為踎在地上是文化,香港人應有能力尊重文化,外傭周日也在中環席地而坐,故港人應對其他文化予以尊重。這位在香港創業的殷商,是特區政府青年事務委員會委員。如果我們要尊重踎在地上的「文化」,是否也要尊重隨地吐痰、大小便的文化?也許我們更應尊重挑動群眾鬥群眾的愛字頭文化。

我們不歡迎包括耿春亞在內的所謂「新香港人」。但既來了,我們也沒有辦法。但至少香港要維持兩制,就要力爭日後大陸來港者的審批權。沒有審批權,施君龍這樣的罪犯都可以移民來港。香港將徹底成為中國大陸的城市了。

http://hk.apple.nextmedia.com/news/art/20130907/18413070

blissquek

Here is a short summary in English of the editorial that appeared in today's Apple Daily:

In 1979, President Carter brought up the topic of Chinese government's restrictions on its people emigrating abroad during a meeting with Deng Xiaopeng. Deng replied: "If you want me to send 10 million Chinese to America, I will gladly comply". Carter's retort was: "Thank you, in return I will give you 10,000 journalists". Deng immediately rejected the offer.

The threat that an independent press, in the metaphor of 10,000 journalists, poses to a dictatorial Leegime is far greater than any threat that 10 million Chinese immigrants might pose to America.

As Thomas Jefferson said: "Were it left to me to decide whether we should have a government without newspapers, or newspapers without government, I should not hesitate a moment to prefer the latter".

The piece then moves from free press and by implication free society to the need for quality control when admitting new immigrants from Mainland China into Hong Kong (and Sinkieland by extension since we are similarly situated):

沒有獨立媒體存在的社會,專權政治在沒有監督之下運作,使絕對權力導致絕對腐化。老百姓在專制統治下,不是奴隸就是奴才,而在專制權力顧不到的地方為了生存就不得不成為見縫就鑽的刁民。一個自由社會對於來自專權社會的刁民,有移民規限是理所當然的。

In a society where political power is not subject to scrutiny by a free press, absolute power will lead to absolute corruption. Under such a system, the people will either become slaves or eunuchs and in order to survive, many will turn into opportunistic scoundrels. Therefore, we need to have strict quality controls when admitting immigrants from such countries.

不過30多年前的中國人,公德雖缺,私德還是有的,故那時代來香港的大陸移民,大都能融入香港的價值系統中,欣賞並珍惜在香港享受到的自由和法治。然而,經過這二、三十年權貴資本主義的發展,金錢、權力及二者結合成為大陸社會的唯一價值標準。公德固然蕩然,私德也不存在了。一切能想像的與不能想像的荒唐事情都會發生。

Mainland immigrants of 3 decades ago could integrate into Hong Kong (and Sinkieland) society because they were morally sound at a personal level though their public manners were uncouth. However after 30 years of unbridled capitalism without corresponding development of democratic institutions, money and power have become the only value criteria for mainland Chinese. In addition to being uncouth, they are also morally degenerate. Hence, all sorts of unimaginable things happen in mainland China - stop and think what's in your milk powder.

Amongst mainland immigrants to Hong Kong (and Sinkieland), there is a high risk that a significant proportion are morally degenerate in addition to lacking in civic consciousness. They only seek short term profits and ignore Hong Kong's (and Sinkieland's) core values.

Hence, the article concludes that Hong Kong needs quality control when it comes to accepting immigrants from mainland China. Sinkieland's OUT OF THIS WORLD salaried Ministars have exercised such quality control or are they sleeping on their jobs? You be the judge.

The original article in traditional Chinese will appear in the next post. Apple Daily, by the way, is founded by Jimmy Lai who gave you Giordano. After he called Li Peng an idiot for the Tiananmen massacre, he sold off Giordano to focus on newspapers and other media related business. Our dear Harry on the end, praised Deng to high heaven for having the "courage" to order troops to shoot at unarmed civilians.

Thanks..some good points raised...have archived it...

someone have to remind him, PRC china own his arse now. 35 years later his kids will be send to re-education camp, if he dun shut up.

Oh? I had always thought the Giordano brand was originally an Italian label which was bought over and cheapened by the HK group? I remember it was still respectable during the the frog logo days...?

giordano+frog+logo.jpg

Asterix

Oh? I had always thought the Giordano brand was originally an Italian label which was bought over and cheapened by the HK group? I remember it was still respectable during the the frog logo days...?

giordano+frog+logo.jpg

Even Sinkieland's Eat Drink Man Woman blog site is a copycat of Jimmy Lai's magazine 飲食男女! Mmm ... Let me think, what shall I do with my year end bonus!

This from Wikipedia:

Lai Chee-Ying, better known by his western name Jimmy Lai, is an entrepreneur. He founded Giordano, an Asia clothing retailer, and Next Media, a Hong Kong-listed media company and a Chinese-language media group.

Born 1948 in an impoverished family in Canton, Kwangtung, China with family roots in nearby Shunde, Lai was educated to fifth grade level.

Smuggled to Hong Kong aboard a small boat at the age of 12, Lai worked as a child-laborer in a garment factory for a wage of $8 per month.

Rising to the level of factory manager, Lai speculated his year-end bonus on Hong Kong stocks to raise enough cash to buy out the owners of a bankrupt garment factory, Comitex, in 1975 and began producing sweaters. Customers included J.C. Penney, Montgomery Ward, and other U.S. retailers.

By rewarding sellers with financial incentives in Hong Kong, he built the chain into an Asia-wide retailer. Giordano was said to have more than 11,000 employees in 1,700 shops across 30 territories worldwide.

Owing to the Tiananmen Square protests of 1989, Lai became an advocate of democracy and critic of the People's Republic of China government. He distributed Giordano T-shirts with portraits of student leaders and began publishing Next Magazine, which combined tabloid sensationalism with hard-hitting political and business reporting. He went on to found other magazines, including Sudden Weekly(忽然一週), Eat & Travel Weekly(飲食男女), Trading Express/Auto Express (交易通/搵車快線) and the youth-oriented Easy Finder (壹本便利).

In 1995, as the Hong Kong handover approached, Lai founded Apple Daily, a newspaper start-up that he financed with $100 million of his own money owing to investor fear of association with a critic of the Mainland China government. The newspaper's circulation rose to 400,000 copies by 1997, which was the territory's second largest among 60 other newspapers.

In 2006, Sudden Weekly and Next Magazine ranked first and second in circulation for Hong Kong’s magazine market while Apple Daily is the No. 2 newspaper in Hong Kong.

Lai encourages a company culture of transparency and creativity without hierarchy. Employees are encouraged to tackle challenges through trial and error while assuming responsibility for their actions and sharing in profits from successful ventures.

In a 1994 newspaper column, he told Premier of the PRC Li Peng to "drop dead," and called the Communist Party of China, "a monopoly that charges a premium for lousy service". As a result, most of his publications remain banned in mainland China. China's government retaliated against Lai by starting a shut-down of Giordano shops, prompting him to sell out of the company he founded in order to save it.

Ahead of the record-breaking pro-democracy protests in Hong Kong of July 2003 that brought half a million people onto the streets, the cover of Next Magazine featured a photo-montage of the territory's embattled chief executive, Tung Chee-Hwa taking a pie in the face. The magazine urged readers to take to the streets while Apple Daily distributed stickers calling for Tung to resign.

In addition to promoting democracy, Lai's publication often ruffle feathers of fellow Hong Kong tycoons by exposing their personal foibles and relations with local government. Lai has frequently faced hostility from the many Beijing-backed tycoons, including attempts to force supplier boycotts of his companies and a lengthy battle to list on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange that he sidestepped through a backdoor listing. Lai managed to list the company in 1999 by acquiring Paramount Publishing Group in October of that year.

Neither Bank of China nor any state-owned enterprise from mainland places ads in Next Media publications, while major Hong Kong property developers and a range of other top-line companies advertise only in competing publications. The offices of his publications have been vandalised and his house was firebombed in 1993. It was at this time he converted to the Catholic faith, which has a long history in China.

Lai pioneered a reader-centric philosophy with paparazzi journalism in Hong Kong based on publications such as USA Today and The Sun. His best-selling Next Magazine and Apple Daily newspaper, feature a mix of racy tabloid material and news items oriented to the mass market with plenty of colour and graphics that attracts a wide range of readers, some of whom are also critics of Lai and his ideology.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_Lai

Asterix

I ever heard from my Taiwanese friends they said many Taiwanese regard HongKong-born Hongkongers as having worse character than PRCs in general.

They said many Taiwanese strongly dislike the Hongkong-born Cantonese and they have a term called wu liang to describe the Hongkongers, meaning many Taiwanese feel the Hongkongers have no conscience.

Ever heard this, that and blah, blah, blah
Better for you to use brain and distinguish
Truth from fiction, logic from hyperbole
Oops, forgot dat famous Taiwan author
Li Ao called Sinkies stupid and it seems
Many are now aware it plainly is dumb
To put all your eggs in one basket with
That Lightning and its Scums in White

Asterix

FUCK YOU!

YOU ARE A BASTARD BRAINLESS RETARDED SCUM DOG!

Why you so agitated?! The Taiwanese scold the Cantonese in Hongkong, why are you so agitated?

you must be a chao racist cantonese or a new immigrant from Hongkong

Aiyah, don't show your PAP IB paws so early
Seems clear to all you are the agitated one
Never been out of dat God forsaken Peesai
Except on tourist trip sponsored by PA
Typical fucking useless Sinkie, you jump to conclusion
Based on what you heard Ah Kow said in Kopi shop
What else has retarded PAPy dog like you heard
Dat your mother is a woman and she was struck
By Lightning and dat's how you came out retarded

:oIo::kma:

Asterix

In my earlier postings, Linpeh already posted before that I did not vote for PAP in the previous 4 GEs of 2011, 2006, 2001, 1997, so what PAP IB you retarded dog is talking about?

Only uneducated Chow Ah Beng
Will Linpeh this and Linpeh that
FUCK YOUR MOTHER BACKSIDE UNDERSTAND!
Typical PAP IB tactic is to make unsolicited claims
Of having voted for Opposition in whatever erection
FUCK YOUR MOTHER BACKSIDE UNDERSTAND!
Show us proof don't just talk cock sing song

Why so agitated, what do you have against Jimmy Lai
Or Hongkies for dat matter, did they rape your mother?

Bwahahaha, useless fucktard ChewCheng or his fellow Ah Beng
Need to cover his tracks being using another nick, so poor thing
But needless use of sexual imagery to cover up his poor self esteem
And inability to make coherent arguments gives his game away
What the fuck is so damn shameful about being a paid PAP IB
Dat dis rice wasting fuckers have to die die deny to no avail

FUCK OFF, clean your mouth with industrial strength detergent before you :kma:

Bwahahaha
Bwahahaha

Asterix

Clear for all to see fucktard Luckluc used needless vulgarities
Starting with post twelve when all I did was to point out
It's utter folly to believe whatever you hear in Kopi shops
Of course I know fucktard Luckluc's PAP IB, was just baiting

ChewCheng or his fellow useless brigade member
Spend so much time using crass sexual imagery
To try and dislodge me from this forum to no avail
His PAP IB Bonus is no more and I am so happy

Bwahahaha ...
FUCK YOUR MOTHER BACKSIDE UNDERSTAND USELESS PAP IB LUCKLUC and ChewCHENG!

Asterix

someone have to remind him, PRC china own his arse now. 35 years later his kids will be send to re-education camp, if he dun shut up.

Someone has to remind that Singveld
That not everyone in this big big world
Is a typical Sinkie, can't see too far
Always suckers for so-called freebies

Wealthy families all over this big world
Rupert Murdoch, Sam Leong, Jimmy Lai
Know the importance of diversification
In placing their assets as well as passport

Singveld, Sinkieland may own your arse
For you have only one passport and can't
Find work beyond the confines of dey RC
But please don't be so sua ku as to think
That everyone is like you so poor thing
Dey Scums in White truly own your arse

Asterix

Don't waste your time lah
Useless rice wasting Luckluc
Me don't even bother to read
Just waiting for post twenty
So mine will appear new page
I can flood this thread with videos
Of Jimmy Lai, protests, whatever
While ignoring each and every one
Of that brigade's useless posts

Here is Jimmy Lai being interviewed by RTHK (Radio and Television Hong Kong). RTHK is government funded. Wow, that is an example of a truly independent broadcaster like BBC. Even if your views are not consistent with the government's, you still get air time. First World standards indeed.

MediaCorp? Arh .... it is not called MediaCock or MediaCorpse for nothing:

[video=youtube;4BnU-IUy8uk]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4BnU-IUy8uk[/video]