• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Science finally proved that money n poor state maks people STUPID

democracy my butt

Poverty reduces the brain's cognitive abilities
The notion that being poor is mentally taxing has implications for how society addresses poverty
By Tanya Lewis, LiveScience
Fri, Aug 30 2013 at 1:08 PM

Andy Dean Photography/Shutterstock

The mere circumstance of being poor can reduce a person's cognitive abilities by consuming precious mental resources, a study finds.
Researchers gave intelligence tests to two very different groups, demographically speaking — shoppers at a New Jersey mall and farmers in rural India — and found that mental performance decreased markedly when financial pressures were weighing on them. The findings suggest money woes leave the poor less brainpower for other tasks.
"We're not saying the poor are dumber," said study researcher Sendhil Mullainathan, an economist at Harvard University. "It's as if being poor is like pulling an all-nighter, every night," Mullainathan told LiveScience. [10 Ways to Keep Your Mind Sharp]
Money on the mind
Mullainathan compared doing mental tasks while being poor with surfing the Web while a movie is downloading in the background. "It's going to be much slower," he said.
Some studies have shown people who are poor are less productive workers, less attentive parents and worse money managers. Explanations for poverty often focus on people's lack of effort or a rigged social system, but Mullainathan and his colleagues wondered whether mental resources played a role.
In the New Jersey mall study, the researchers gave an intelligence test similar to an IQ test to about 400 shoppers with a median annual household income of $70,000 and lowest income of $20,000; the incomes were normalized to the number of individuals in a household and then the researchers divided that group in half to represent the "rich" and the "poor."
In one experiment, participants earned real money for correct answers.*
Before the tests, the researchers primed some of the participants to think about their financial woes by asking them questions such as how they would deal with an inexpensive car repair compared with a costly one.
When the repair cost was low, the rich and poor performed equally on the IQ tests that followed. But when the repair cost was high, triggering financial worries, the poor shoppers scored as badly on the tests as if they had stayed up all night, researchers reported online on Aug. 29 in the journal Science.
Next, the researchers studied the effect of poverty on cognition in a very different setting, in rural Tamil Nadu, India. Sugarcane farmers in India are only paid once a year, after their harvest, so the researchers gave about 460 farmers a numerical intelligence test twice, once before the harvest (when they were "poor") and once afterward (when they were "rich").
The farmers performed almost as much worse on the test before the harvest compared with after the harvest as losing a full night's sleep, the results showed. Across both the mall study and the farmer study, the state of being poor caused an equivalent drop of 9 to 13 IQ points.
Poverty to blame?
The researchers ruled out other factors that could explain the improvement in the farmers' cognitive performance, suggesting the difference had to do with the amount of money the participants possessed. *For instance, the improvement was not due to having more time available, better nutrition or better work ethic, they found.
Nor was mental performance linked to stress — at least not by biological measures. Farmers were more stressed, as measured by heart rate and blood pressure, before the harvest, but this did not account for their lower performance on the tests. In fact, stress has been shown to heighten cognitive ability in some studies.
"I thought it was a very interesting study," said Kimberly Noble, an assistant professor of pediatrics at Columbia University, New York, who was not involved with the research, adding, "I liked how they combined both a laboratory setting and much more realistic setting."
Prudence Carter, a sociologist at Stanford University, questioned whether age or sex differences between the rich and poor shoppers in the mall study may have affected their performance on the intelligence tests. But she found the results convincing. "What's important is they show that both the poor and the rich [perform] the same when there's no pressure on them," Carter told LiveScience. "It's only when the poor were subjected to more strenuous economic conditions that they performed less well than the rich," she said, adding that the notion could explain why poorer children often do worse in school.
The notion that being poor is mentally taxing has implications for how society addresses poverty. For example, a child care program for low-income families could not only free up time for parents to pursue other responsibilities, but could actually provide a cognitive benefit.
The mental effects of poverty apply to scarcity more broadly, whether it's money, time or food, Mullainathan said. "When you experience scarcity, your mind focuses on that one thing."
*/

http://www.mnn.com/health/fitness-well-being/stories/poverty-reduces-the-brains-cognitive-abilities

HhN

That explains why 60 percent of the people voted for the PAP in the last election!

Priesthood Jesus was born in a well to do family, well nutritionized and given all opportunity to excel. God's sons are born to rich people.

Buddha san was born in a royal family too.

On the other hand if Jesus born into a poor peasant family he is not God's son. God's son well taken care off and God bless rich people, make sense?

Priesthood Jesus was born in a well to do family, well nutritionized and given all opportunity to excel. God's sons are born to rich people.

On the other hand if Jesus born into a poor peasant family he is not God's son. God's son well taken care off and God bless rich people.

the Buddha was born as a prince and the highest caste in India.

this assumption is certainly flawed
they are many highly intelligent people who are poverty strikened and from pauper families
stupidity can be heritary while money can be made and accumulated
some rich people produced retarded children
some poor people produced geniuses
but generally poverty is a vicious trap
if you are really poor, you don't have the opportunities to develop and cultivate
if you are born rather retarded and stupid, but if you are given full opportunities to develop yourself, you still can make it
but poverty= retardation is not necessary true...many other factors come into play

they are many highly intelligent people who are poverty strikened and from pauper families
if you are really poor, you don't have the opportunities to develop and cultivate
if you are born rather retarded and stupid, but if you are given full opportunities to develop yourself, you still can make it
but poverty= retardation is not necessary true...many other factors come into play

this make sense..

the stress of being poor distract their thinking ability rather than being stupid.

now i know why i find most sinkies are dumbfucks, they are just people who have problems with money, but wait , i thought sinkies are rich?

so maybe for sinkies.. it is their ball-lessness that make them stupid.

maybe a study should be conducted on the link between cowardice and stupidity.

if your life evolves round money and trying to make ends meet
you have no opportunity to develop yourself
you remain retarded and stupid - narrow minded, parochial and utterly ignorant...

My believe in poor peasant son is born genius 天意 is God' son only if

1. Somehow he/ she was picked up by a well do to person/ organisation/ government who nutured him, and bring him up in good environment, nutritionzed him and give him opportunities to excel.

2. Or among the siblings the genius is more privilege than his siblings and given opportunity to excel and (1) comes along 人算不如天算.

rubbish research.... I was poor but now I am super rich.... so am I stupid or intelligent? WTF! :oIo:

good morning brother!
congrats and well done
me too very poor...
but I think now okay lah...:)

good morning brother!
congrats and well done
me too very poor...
but I think now okay lah...:)

Morning Limkopi! I see you have been naughty :eek:
Anyway, I have to go now... early fight with the machines before it gets crowded later! :D

My believe in poor peasant son is born genius 天意 is God' son only if

1. Somehow he/ she was picked up by a well do to person/ organisation/ government who nutured him, and bring him up in good environment, nutritionzed him and give him opportunities to excel.

2. Or among the siblings the genius is more privilege than his siblings and given opportunity to excel and (1) comes along 人算不如天算.

you may be right
but more often than not
the genius is the underdog
often even the black sheep in the family
often a rebel and a recalcitrant
but his intelligence is in him
and he will emerge the victorious one
the enlightened one....

Morning Limkopi! I see you have been naughty :eek:
Anyway, I have to go now... early fight with the machines before it gets crowded later! :D

okay all the best
good luck and may you strike jackpot!!!
huat ah!!!!

Good morning Uncle. Correct spelling is "hereditary".

Please do not be loose with spelling, otherwise you might lose credibility.

thank you sir..
too much kopishit lately..
kamsiah once again..i shall remember: hereditary...yes sir!

The so-called Law of Attraction isn't some mysterious supernatural law, it's simply a common-sense observation, that when you're rich and healthier (ie. nature of work as powerful boss, better nutrition, more sleep, less stress, worry, medical bills, etc), you think/work/act more richly and hence create more personal/social/business opportunities to generate even more wealth. Conversely when you're poor and fear porverty (ie. nature of work as powerless employee, poorer nutrition, less sleep, more stress, worry, medical bills, etc), you think/work/act more poorly and hence limit or miss more personal/social/business opportunities to generate more wealth and instead head towards indebtedness. Thus, the rich get richer, and the poor get poorer. That's what the so-called Law of Attraction is really about.

This theory holds some truth. I've been down and out and on the run for 5 year now I quite sure I know why. Being poor sucks.

now i know why i find most sinkies are dumbfucks, they are just people who have problems with money, but wait , i thought sinkies are rich?

so maybe for sinkies.. it is their ball-lessness that make them stupid.

maybe a study should be conducted on the link between cowardice and stupidity.

Poor Tonychat no money to buy meat and experience hallucination due to hunger !