would u attend funeral wake of a hardly met old classmate?

the upheaval of my li'l brother leetahsar has no ending.....

my hardly met old class mate is so so shrewd.

one of the classmate's mum in law passed away. she called to tell me so last nite. she gave me the details where the wake was held and when it would be over. then she bombed the diabolical request: could u send a wreathe there?

hun? was that girl joking??

i can't, i told her. i m retired and quite broke. since u suggested it, might as well u go do it. then collect the receipt, when we meet next time (hopefully, i won't be there) then we settle the bill among each others.

aiyo, she replied. but we hardly meet!

abathen!!?? u so clever to ask me to do it huh?

click.

i hang up.

go lor..............give $10 enough liao lor..............

then makan and drink all you can lor...............don't eat dinner before you go..........

if the same scenario happens unto you, how would u react?o

go, don't go but send a condolence note or just ignore?

go means gotta give peh kim money, mingle with the unfamiliar crowd, feel so awkard and time wasting. since hardly met after those teenage school days, might not even recognize that classmate after all these years!

go lor..............give $10 enough liao lor..............

then makan and drink all you can lor...............don't eat dinner before you go..........

where got makan? maybe eat some peanuts, drink a packet YEO's and mingle with mostly strangers which incidentally also include your never met classmate since school days. he would be no different from another stranger. LOL

RIP to the dead

but to me, its like getting wedding invitation to wedding of people you were in school with but you NEVER socialize with them at all... some people just need to have the numbers for a so called grand wedding..

RIP to the dead

but to me, its like getting wedding invitation to wedding of people you were in school with but you NEVER socialize with them at all... some people just need to have the numbers for a so called grand wedding..

same same.

wedding, birthdays, funeral, newborn.....if there's angpow, peh kim lui, presents and etc to be exploited, suddenly never heard of friends remember ur existence.

after your attendance and gifts/money, u bet that u shall be again left in cold storage.

The living are the ones that matter not the dead. If u do not know the person or just acquaintance than you can dont go. If u want to show respect than just go no need give flowers but can give some 'white gold' to help the family with funeral expenses. Give flowers etc for what? and so hard to go..than go for what??

where got makan? maybe eat some peanuts, drink a packet YEO's and mingle with mostly strangers which incidentally also include your never met classmate since school days. he would be no different from another stranger. LOL

normally got like buffet one mah......got dessert also.....curry chicken......

must go lah........u never know what lobang u might get there mah

RIP to the dead

hmm, get more ang-pows mah.

disgusting... i know some one who did that..... invite someone he went to school with but never socalise with,,, some more this "guest" some sort of local celebrity, so groom and wife love to name drop... that sort of peeps

i got a very rich pal who turns his kids' birthdays every year into a money making angpows spree.

he even states in the invitation cards : please do not send gifts. angpows are much preferred as there is no place to keep your valued gifts.

where does he stay? a 5 bedrooms landed property.

People in sales might find it valuable to network;)

True. Those going there will be those gullible easy to con types who need friends in life and who will do anything to get to know more friends. Perfect hunting ground for the insurance agent, property agent, used car dealer, and snake oil merchants of all shades.

Don't go. Ignore him.

That chap doesn't even treat others with respect. He thinks he's being clever by turning his children into money spinning machines, but he will lose real friends with these antics.

Only the very superficial minded and those loners desperate for friendship will go.

could it be that many are being bogged down by works that they ve very little time to socialise or catch up with old pals?

so many many years didn't even meet and suddenly u get invitations, obviously there isn't an obligation to attend or even respond to it.

then u think again.....maybe becos of the limited socialisation, maybe that pal doesn't ve any new pals except the old classmates who he ignores for eons.

when i came to that conclusion, i decided to order a wreathe delivered to the wake with just a very brief message: with deepest sympathy and condolences from ALL YOUR OLD SEC CLASSMATES.

yep, i left out my name.