• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Confirmed! Krispy Kreme coming !!!!

Well-known American doughnut chain Krispy Kreme will open its first Singapore offshoot at Tangs Orchard on Oct 12.

The flagship store, which can produce 1,200 doughnuts an hour, will be located in the basement of the department store. Prices start at $2.60 for a doughnut.

Best known for fluffy doughnuts coated in a signature sugar glaze, the popular chain also has offshoots in countries such as Australia, Thailand and Japan. It was founded in 1937.

Here, in the lead up to its October opening, the store will be giving away 100,000 free doughnuts from mid September.

krispy1822e.jpg

I tried this obscenely rich doughnuts and my teeth nearly dropped off...

For those with sweet tooth, please be very careful hor...

For those who are diabetic, better avoid these devilishly sweet doughnuts....

It's like biting into sugar!!!! So most of us here, laucheows, better don't try ok....all your teeth will drop off!!!!

Good Luck to those who are going to dive into this sweet pool.....

processed sugar laden food...

i dun even call that food..so unhealthy even though it does not contain meat.

i will avoid it.

anyone knows how much is the franchise fee?

I was told in the millions???

in KL, it was a roaring business....

I am sure health conscious Singaporeans will give it a start and then it will startle and then it will just vanish
Just like Jamie's Italian...the long queue is getting shorter and shorter as Singaporeans get tired of the food .....

Singaporeans have the habit of trying out anything NEW...and then got jaded and then Gave Up!!!....

Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, Inc. /ˈkrɪspi kriːm/ is a doughnut company founded on July 13, 1937. Krispy Kreme founder Vernon Rudolph bought a secret yeast-raised recipe from a New Orleans chef, rented a building in what is now historic Old Salem in Winston-Salem, NC, and began selling to local grocery stores.[2]

Products are sold in Krispy Kreme stores, grocery stores, convenience stores, gas stations, Wal-Mart, and Target stores in the United States. Internationally, doughnuts are sold in Loblaws supermarkets, Petro-Canada gas stations[citation needed], and as freestanding stores in Canada, along with BP Service Stations and BP Travel Centres and Seven Eleven stores in Australia.[3] In the United Kingdom, Tesco supermarkets, Tesco Extra, and most service stations carry Krispy Kreme products.[4] The company's growth was steady prior to its initial public offering but profits have decreased in recent quarters.

On April 5, 2000, the corporation went public on the NASDAQ at $21 using the ticker symbol KREM.[6] On May 17, 2001, Krispy Kreme switched to the New York Stock Exchange, with the ticker symbol KKD, which is its current symbol. The stock reached what would be its all-time high of $50 on the New York Stock Exchange in August 2003, a gain of 235 percent from its IPO price. For the fiscal year ended in February 2004, the company reported sales of $665.6 million and operating profits of $94.7 million from almost 400 stores (including international locations). The market initially considered the company as having "solid fundamentals, adding stores at a rapid clip and showing steadily increasing sales and earnings." [7] Since then it had lost 75-80% of its value by 2005, amid earnings declines, as well as an SEC investigation over the company's alleged improper accounting practices.[8]

In May 2004, the company missed quarterly estimates for the first time and suffered its first loss as a public company. Chairman and CEO Scott Livengood attributed the poor results to the low-carbohydrate diet craze. This explanation was viewed with skepticism by analysts, as "blaming the Atkins diet for disappointing earnings carried a whiff of desperation",[7] and as rival donut chain Dunkin' Donuts has not suffered from the low-carb trend over the same compared period.[9]

Besides royalty payments from new stores, the parent company also enjoyed significant profits by requiring franchisees to purchase mix and doughnut-making equipment from the parent's Krispy Kreme Manufacturing and Distribution (KKM&D) division. KKM&D earned $152.7 million in 2003, which made up 31 percent of sales, with a reported operating margin of 20 percent or higher, but these mark-ups were largely at the expense of its franchisees. By comparison, rival chain Dunkin' Donuts generally avoids selling equipment or materials to its franchisees which "keeps company and franchisee interests aligned", as well as having a royalty stream based on same-store sales.[7]

Krispy Kreme has been accused of channel stuffing by franchisees, whose stores reportedly "received twice their regular shipments in the final weeks of a quarter so that headquarters could make its numbers".[7] The company was also dogged by questionable transactions and self-dealing accusations over the buybacks of franchisees, including those operated by company insiders.[9] A report released in August 2005 singled out then-CEO Scott Livengood and then-COO John W. Tate to blame for the accounting scandals although it did not find that the executives committed intentional fraud.[10]

In 2003, a pilot project in Mountain View, California, to sell doughnuts through car windows and sunroofs at a busy intersection (with wireless payment) failed.

shctaw

Singaporeans taste have changes drastically in recent year. Less oil, less salt, less sweetness, more vegetable etc.

Hope they come out with a "less sweet" version. Otherwise the survival of this store will be the period of their tenancy with Tangs Orchard.

Singaporeans taste have changes drastically in recent year. Less oil, less salt, less sweetness, more vegetable etc.

Hope they come out with a "less sweet" version. Otherwise the survival of this store will be the period of their tenancy with Tangs Orchard.

I absolutely agree..

I think it will NOT go well with Singaporeans

Maybe for a start ..just give a try...but I think many of us have already tried in KL...and for me and my family..NO KRISPY KREME definitely...it's devilishly sweet!
The KL store is doing roaring business....Malaysians have very sweet tooth....I think things might change soon too....

chuckyworld

I bought it once a few years back, 1 piece is enough, after that you will learn to dislike it too sweet....:biggrin:

it's only in sg that donuts are consumed during the typical hours for lunch, dinner and supper. praise to the pap for opening sinkie gastronomical palates 24 by 7. huat ah! :biggrin:

I bought it once a few years back, 1 piece is enough, after that you will learn to dislike it too sweet....:biggrin:

yes, the sugar melts in your mouth....once is more than enough
those diabetics or pre diabetics or potential diabetics...better avoid lah

anyone knows how much is the franchise fee?

I was told in the millions???

in KL, it was a roaring business....

I am sure health conscious Singaporeans will give it a start and then it will startle and then it will just vanish
Just like Jamie's Italian...the long queue is getting shorter and shorter as Singaporeans get tired of the food .....

Singaporeans have the habit of trying out anything NEW...and then got jaded and then Gave Up!!!....

Berjaya's Vicent Tan owned the rights in M'sia. Wonder if he is also the rights owner for Sinkapore?

will they come out with soursop version? :wink:

me think if every Singaporean take one soursop a week, the doctors and hospitals can all close shop...

the soursop is the secret recipe for all illnesses....that's why they are not advertising its universal usefulness...