P m national rally l i v e !!!

pm-rally-today-3.jpg

Outpatient Care....

CHAS Scheme extended to younger patients /below 40 years old!!!! wow!!! a big bonus!!!

Increase subsidies for Specialist Outpatient charges!!!! wow!!!! another bonus...

Medisave: Can we use Medisave for outpatient treatment ? Wow!!! another bonus!!!! Extend especially for the older folks.....

In Patient Treatment: Big hospital bills how??? Please cover yourself with some medical insurance. Relaunch Medishield...Medishield Life ...cover for LIFE....it will be universal, every Singaporean....No more opting out. Better protection for large hospital bills. Better cover for hospital bills. Premiums will have to go UP!!! It will go beyond 90 years old...

Public consultation will determine the mode of implementation....

Special Group: Those senior citizens with few safety nets. Many have retired. Special care for this generation. They are treated with special attention. Our pioneer generation will be helped to pay for their premiums for UNIVERSAL Medishield Life!!!

Medical cost will go up and up.Medisave savings will have to GO UP!!!

The best way to keep our medical cost low is to keep ourselves healthy!!! The Wellness Programme is doing well. Dancing and cheering as a form of exercise....

Education...every school is a good school. parents will try to get their kids into a "better" school....

top schools. high pressure...standards very high.

every school provides a good education to every student.....

pm-rally-auditorium-view.jpg

SINGAPORE: The Malay community is a good example of what a strong “gotong royong” spirit -- a Malay expression to describe a community that mobilises itself to help each other -- can achieve, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in his Malay speech for Sunday’s National Day Rally.

Singling out how Malay-Muslim organisations are actively addressing the community’s socio-economic needs -- such as through the Family Excellence Circles programme that supports low-income families and their children to move up in life -- PM Lee said he would like this “gotong royong” spirit to grow over time.

PM Lee made these points as he highlighted the need for some basic shifts in the country’s approach to nation-building at this turning point. One of these shifts is that communities must become more active in mobilising themselves to help one another, while the government strengthens social safety nets and fosters fairer opportunities and rewards for all Singaporeans.

He also encouraged the Malay community to do more through existing platforms, such as the Community Leaders’ Forum, to make a difference to the community’s well-being.

PM Lee also said that Malay Singaporeans have made significant progress over the years. Household incomes are rising and education levels are improving within the community while Malays are excelling in many fields, he said.

Examples of successful Malays include Dr Rufaihah Abdul Jalil, a Senior Research Fellow at the Yong Loo Lin Medical School in the National University of Singapore, and percussionist Muhammad Riduan Zalani, a Singapore Youth Award winner who has brought the rhythm of kompang and other Malay percussions to countries like France, Australia and the United States.

Although there are many more Malay Professionals, Managers and Executives (PMEs) now, many of them are only just establishing themselves while there are still many less educated Malay workers who worry about competition from foreign workers, he added.

PM Lee said he was confident that Singapore can succeed against this growing competition if Singaporeans take advantage of training opportunities to upgrade themselves.

This must be the fighting spirit that we must instil in the community, he added.

PM Lee also announced that 18,000 more prayer spaces will be added by 2016 when three new mosques open in Woodlands, Jurong West and Punggol.

The government’s contributions to students’ Edusave accounts will also be extended to all students of school-going age, whether they attend madrasahs, study abroad or are home schooled, said PM Lee.

-TODAY/jc

SINGAPORE: More support will be given to small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in Singapore to help them meet the challenges of economic restructuring, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong at the National Day Rally on Sunday.

Delivering the Mandarin portion of his speech, Mr Lee did not give details but said that Minister of State for Trade and Industry Teo Ser Luck would be meeting different business representatives to find out how to better support them.

He acknowledged the difficulties faced by SMEs, especially when it came to manpower. While SMEs have tried hard to raise productivity, improve service standards and reduce labour costs, they have limited resources and cannot meet all these challenges on their own, he said.

Mr Lee noted SMEs’ reliance on foreign manpower, but reiterated the need to control foreign worker numbers, which are still rising. There will be “serious consequences” if these numbers are left unchecked, he warned.

The foreign worker issue is “complex”, and the government cannot meet all the demands but it will help SMEs “find a way to make it”, he pledged.

Earlier this year, the government rolled out a three-year S$5.3 billion Transition Support Package to help SMEs reduce business costs and raise productivity. Mr Lee said that while there are many schemes to help SMEs, businesses may not know what schemes are available.

Mr Lee also assured that the government would do more to help the low-income group and strengthen social safety nets, and urged individuals and the community to step up and complement the government’s efforts.

There is a need to help those with less to “strengthen social cohesion”, so that the nation does not become divided between the rich and the poor, he said, adding that the wages of the low-income group must be raised.

-TODAY/jc

pm-rally-today-3.jpg

SINGAPORE: The government will do more to support individuals and the community, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in his National Day Rally Speech on Sunday.

He said the government will continue to provide core public services like housing, education and heathcare.

At the same time, it will make three important shifts: 1) do more to give every citizen a fair share in the nation's success, 2) strengthen social safety nets, and 3) do more to keep paths upwards open to all.

"Singapore has succeeded because everyone has shared in the fruits of our progress," Mr Lee said. Incomes have risen across the board, values of homes have appreciated and Singaporeans have achieved growth with equity.

However, he said maintaining equity has become harder, with income distribution widening. The government must intervene more to keep the society fair and just, and it has been doing so in recent years, Mr Lee added.

Housing has been and will continue to be an important way to share the fruits of Singapore's progress with all Singaporeans, and level up poorer households, he said.

The government has moved to help more Singaporeans own their homes. In the last two years, the Housing and Development Board has built a record number of new flats, clearing first-timer backlog. It has de-linked new flat prices from the resale market, thus stabilising Build-to-Order (BTO) prices.

The Special CPF Housing Grant was also introduced to help poorer households buy 2-room and 3-room flats. Singles are also now allowed to buy BTO flats.

However, Singaporeans still worry about rising property prices. The prime minister said he will make sure every Singaporean family who is working can afford their home.

HDB will keep BTO prices stable, while increasing support for lower- and middle-income households. For families who can only afford to buy 2-room flats, the government will give them Step-Up Housing Grants to help them upgrade to 3-room flats later on.

The government will also strengthen social safety nets like healthcare to give Singaporeans more assurance over life's uncertainties.

It will revamp MediShield to become MediShield Life. MediShield Life will become universal, will not stop at 90 as it is now, and will include those with pre-existing illnesses. Contribution rates will increase over time.

The government will also make outpatient care more affordable -- by enhancing Community Health Assist Scheme and increasing subsidies for lower- and middle-income patients.

- CNA/al

pm-lee-rally-1.jpg

Every Singaporean share the nation's progress. Build a strong Singapore together. Majulah Singapura!!!

Be prepared to pay for it...the rising cost of medical care.

We must pass to our children a better Singapore. We will sail to new heights!

we must have FAITH
have the faith to stay together
the sky is our limit !!!

me and my colleagues will do our best for singapore...!!!

together let us build a better singapore for all of us

majulah singapura!!!

we must have FAITH
have the faith to stay together
the sky is our limit !!!

me and my colleagues will do our best for singapore...!!!

together let us build a better singapore for all of us

majulah singapura!!!

Who are your colleagues?

Just now when the camera pan to the audience, you can see the those sitting at the aisle seats all wearing lanyards, the rest never wear. Lots of CID in attendance.

Middle class gonna get hit again. Higher cost of living, got to pay for more taxes....

singapore-hospital.jpg

SINGAPORE: The government will improve healthcare financing to give all Singaporeans more peace of mind.

Medical insurance scheme MediShield will be revamped to become MediShield Life -- to offer universal coverage and better protection for large hospitalisation bills.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, in his National Day Rally Speech on Sunday, also introduced a new Pioneer Generation Package to make sure that Singapore's pioneer generation does not need to worry about healthcare costs in their old age.

Falling seriously ill and being saddled with large hospital bills are major worries for many Singaporeans, especially those who are not insured under MediShield. Those aged above 90 are also not covered by MediShield.

To allay these concerns and give better protection against large bills, MediShield will be revamped to become MediShield Life.

Prime Minister Lee said: "The MediShield Life will not stop at 90. So don't worry, it will cover old people. Secondly, MediShield Life will be universal. It will cover everybody, every Singaporean -- old ones , young ones, those newly born.

"Even those who are now outside the MediShield network, we will bring them back in. You may be elderly, you may have dropped out, you may have pre-existing illnesses, we will bring you back in -- it may cost you a bit more but it can be done. There will be no more opting out for MediShield."

This means patients can expect to pay less cash out-of-pocket. But with better benefits and coverage, the premiums for MediShield Life will be higher too. The government will, however, subsidise MediShield Life premiums for those who cannot afford them.

As MediShield Life is a major change, the Health Ministry will conduct a public consultation exercise to seek views before deciding on the details of the scheme.

Another group that needs special care is from the pioneer generation, who are now mostly retired and are in their late sixties, or older.

They will get help to pay for their MediShield Life premiums, under a new Pioneer Generation Package.

Mr Lee said: "We are going to spend more on healthcare, year by year. The goverment subsidies are going up and will go up some more. But some part of it has to be paid by ourselves and each of us must save enough to pay for our share.

"Therefore, I think you can guess what my next line will be -- medisave rates have to go up. It has to be. We will increase these contribution rates over time, as and when our economic conditions permit.

"How? How much? We will have to discuss carefully, but the direction is quite clear. We need to save more and that will stand us in good stead because one day we will all grow old, if we are lucky."

Besides enhancing the current healthcare framework, Mr Lee said that the best way to keep healthcare costs down is to stay healthy. This is especially so for the elderly, for whom exercise is not just about keeping fit but also to make friends.

- CNA/al

it's a great speech - BETTER than I have expected
very inspiring
very truthful and convincing
very hopeful and very futuristic
full of faith, conviction and passion
more development - bigger airport, bigger port...garden by the airport!
better transport hub
more projects - the old paya lebar airport will be moved to a better and more advanced airport to be built ..
more employment opportunities for the young
more affordable housing
less stress eduation system with more flexibility and with more opportunities...PSLE will be better and less stressful
more care and attention to the disadvantaged group
better care for the elderly and the marginalized group

overall very good speech
very very inspiring. I LIKE.

why every year must force the whole nation to hear his boring storytelling? why must all the channels be broadcasting his drooling bo liao speech?

the only impression I got was gahmen's gonna increase medisave after a fake generous offer. wtf!

why every year must force the whole nation to hear his boring storytelling? why must all the channels be broadcasting his drooling bo liao speech?

the only impression I got was gahmen's gonna increase medisave after a fake generous offer. wtf!

medisave is good for you
and also spare your children
the more you save the better

Wahlau, you also have become delivery uncle. Your timing is precise ...kudos to you, posting the speech as it rolls.