• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sunshine Empire MLM Boss Kena Charged

SneeringTree

Does any MLM supporter still want to defend him???

========================
Feb 3, 2009
4 charged over MLM scam
By Elena Chong

Phang (left), who has the most charges, is said to have conspired with his wife, Ms Jenny Chan, an accounts clerk, and others to falsify accounts involving amounts of $20,000 to $245,000 on six occasions between December 2006 and August 2007. -- ST PHOTO: SHAHRIYA YAHAYA

FOUR people were hauled to court on Tuesday on charges of being involved in a fraudulent investment scheme in connection with the controversial multi-level marketing firm Sunshine Empire.

Phang Wah, 49, better known as James Phang, his wife, Neo Kuon Huay, 46, Jackie Hoo Choon Cheat, 29, and Yong Wai Hong, 27, face between six and 20 charges each.

The prosecution alleges that Hoo, a director of Sunshine, abetted Phang and others to siphon $947,905 from the firm between December 2006 and August 2007.

Both men are said to being party to Sunshine's business when they knew it was fraudulently selling prime packages which included potential returns.

Phang, described as a manager, and Hoo are accused of failing to keep accounting and other records for financial year 2007.

Phang, who has the most charges, is said to have conspired with his wife, Ms Jenny Chan, an accounts clerk, and others to falsify accounts involving amounts of $20,000 to $245,000 on six occasions between December 2006 and August 2007.

Another charge states that he was a director of Empire Communication Technology when he authorised someone to falsely lodge a return to the Registrar of Companies on May 24, 2006.

Phang is also accused of having obscene and uncensored films at his Westwood Avenue home on Nov 13, 2007.

Yong was charged with six counts of authorising one Ng Chee Tiong to falsely lodge returns to the Registrar of Companies that shares in the Empire Investment Group, of which he was director, were allotted for cash.

Mr Subhas Anandan is representing all four, who are claiming trial.

Bail arguments will be heard later on Tuesday.

The cases have been fixed for a pre-trial conference on March 5.

A probe into Sunshine's affairs started in November 2007, two months after the company was placed on the investor alert list by the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

Sunshine was set up by Phang, who says on the company's website that he has almost 30 years' experience in retail, sales and multinational enterprise building.

Sunshine is reported to have attracted 20,000 clients here since it was set up in July 2006.

• phang-shahriyayahaya.jpg
    phang-shahriyayahaya.jpg
    69.5 KB · Views: 580

Conan the Barbarian

Actually, all those scammed do not deserve any sympathy.
All the same, these people should be brought to justice.
I can forsee a few of them jumping bail, especially the bosses.

SneeringTree

Oh my, his deluded followers are fools to the very end- still call him "lao da"? What a joke they think they are in HK triad movie ah? This piece of shit is going to do some serious jail term! No wonder PAP keeps winning elections after screwing Sinkies.

from: http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_334011.html
Their passports were impounded and bail was set at $600,000 for each of them. Last evening, they were released on bail and were driven away in a convoy of Mercedes-Benzes and BMWs.

They were represented by lawyers Noor Mohamed Marican and Subhas Anandan.

Phang, who has four children aged 15 to 23, was addressed as 'Lao Da' ('chief' in Mandarin) as he got into his car.

birdman

Another One-eye dragon create havoc here.

James Phang, who once claimed to be better than Warren Buffett, stands accused of running a Ponzi-like scheme involving millions of dollars raised from the public. -- ST PHOTO
ST_IMAGES_LTSUN.jpg

Cthulhu

Actually, all those scammed do not deserve any sympathy.
All the same, these people should be brought to justice.
I can forsee a few of them jumping bail, especially the bosses.

I think most of the victims are naive teenagers who think they are very clever when they are actually very gullible. Hope they learn a lesson from this. If making money is so easy, everyone would be a zillionaire.

newyorker88

I have been waiting for this day. KNN, still remember the days of NOP. So many of my NS regular collegues come to me and ask me to join them. Went down to their HQ in Paya Lebar? Can't remember the exact location, where they try to sell you all sorts of things from Crystals to health products. I nearly joined them, as NS pay gets you nowhere. However, I did some thinking and did not join in.

IN the end most of my collegue lost money.

Thanks for the follow up on this news and this fellow.

R4g3

I have been waiting for this day. KNN, still remember the days of NOP. So many of my NS regular collegues come to me and ask me to join them. Went down to their HQ in Paya Lebar? Can't remember the exact location, where they try to sell you all sorts of things from Crystals to health products. I nearly joined them, as NS pay gets you nowhere. However, I did some thinking and did not join in.

IN the end most of my collegue lost money.

Thanks for the follow up on this news and this fellow.

Same, i remember the year was 1997, when a girl whom i have only met once a year ago suddenly call me up and say she and some friends wanted to start with something and ask me whether i am interested.

I agree to meet up and talk about it and i was shocked to see her wearing very low cut for the meeting. We end up in the HQ with another "manager" and sales person trying to convince me to join. They couldn't directly answer my question about how is the company able to pay such high commission and a few other questions.

After spending 2 hour they decided to give up and instead of asking me to join, they try to make me buy their products, like those over priced $1800 magnetic mattress. Of course they failed.

For the next few years i keep hearing people around me how good it is, including from my staff, friends and even clients. I give them my advice and some still insist and went ahead. They took 1-2 years to realised it was a mistake. And some of them even they realise this mistake, do not want to contact me anymore, because they have been arguing with me how wrong was I.

SneeringTree

Same, i remember the year was 1997, when a girl whom i have only met once a year ago suddenly call me up and say she and some friends wanted to start with something and ask me whether i am interested.

I agree to meet up and talk about it and i was shocked to see her wearing very low cut for the meeting. We end up in the HQ with another "manager" and sales person trying to convince me to join. They couldn't directly answer my question about how is the company able to pay such high commission and a few other questions.

After spending 2 hour they decided to give up and instead of asking me to join, they try to make me buy their products, like those over priced $1800 magnetic mattress. Of course they failed.

For the next few years i keep hearing people around me how good it is, including from my staff, friends and even clients. I give them my advice and still some went ahead, and they took 1-2 years to realise it is a mistake. And some of them even they realise this mistake, do not want to contact me anymore, because they have been arguing with me how wrong was I.

clearly written that describes the life cycle of deluded MLM losers.

Conan the Barbarian

Since these people probably stashed away many millions of the 189 million they
took, they will definately jump bail thats set at $600K.

Its not that difficult to leave Singapore, especially when you have that kind of
money. So many of them have done it already.

Mighty Megatron

why do suckers keep falling for this type of scam

Greed. Was asked to join one such scheme 2 years ago and I figured out would have made money (early birds always make money) but decided against it as this was a scam and alot of people down the line would suffer. No blood on my hands. :smile:

The_Latest_H

We have our Bernie Madoff in Singapore really. What a prick; he deserves to get charged. As for the bail though, I don't think he should have been given that.